We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware that they have lots of prison cells!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #193 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Be aware that they have lots of prison cells!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel as my first experience was impressive. However, this stay was just horrible, this hotel would not be my option in London.

I was served by a trainee on checkin, she apparently did not recognise my status with the hotel group. I therefore asked if a room upgrade was available, but was told big "No" because it's "subject to availability". Ok, there were many better rooms available on the Carlson website, what was their "subject to availability"???

When I went to the room, I was horrified. Although it was very sunny outside, the room had no sunlight at all. You will not even tell if it's day or night. No light came into rooms on the back side of hotel. A "prison cell" exactly describes the room. Horrible, just horrible. In addition, power sockets at the desk were out of order. I called the reception, no one came over for about one hour. I was bothered to speak to a cleaning lady passing by my room, she brought her colleague.

The swimming pool was full of rude guests. folding beds were all occupied and I managed to get one for myself. I put my stuff on the bed and went off to the sauna. I was then walking towards my folding bed, a stupid couple was hiding my stuff under the mattress and stealing the bed! No hotel staff attended, so I just left the pool.

If you do not matter any view but only location, this hotel could be your option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKtrotter2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear UKtrotter2007,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you left our hotel disappointed.

Without knowing what your Elite membership is, I am unable to comment freely with regards to your upgrade entitlement, however, they are indeed subject to availability of the next category up .
This in turn would dictate the room type you would be offered/entitled to and as per our website, not all rooms have a view as you would need to book a particular room type.

I’m sorry for the maintenance issue and kindly ask for your room number and booking details to ensure the power socket is repaired.

I regret you were inconvenienced by another hotel guest and no team member witnessed this to assist you and have shared your comments with our Spa Manager.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we can be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

15,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,948
    4,330
    1,268
    517
    345
See reviews for
5,308
4,640
420
2,788
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very modern and clean hotel. The room we stayed was ample enough for a family of 4. The room was clean and house keeping cleaned up very nicely after 2 messy young girls. Much appreciated. the staffs was very helpful, they are very willing to help and always had smiles.
Very close to most of major tourist sites. Waterloo train station is 5 mins walk, so a very easy travels to Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace.
The pool was very nice plus.
Definately using Park Plaza Westminster Bridge again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you Lance C for your great review. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel is fantastic, rooms very well designed and clean. Ideal location. Howver the reception staff were very rude, not understanding, cold and did not seem to care. No empathy. For an independent traveller who is not part of a travel group or a business traveller, you should still be treated with courtesy and politeness. I raised a complaint with the management but there level of customer service was very poor, and I was not a business traveller or part of a large group they were not interested in my business. The hotel should remember the olympics do not happen every year. Apart from the reception and hotel policy I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you David B for your review and recommendation, despite your poor experience with our Reception team. I have shared your comments with our Front of House Manager and she sincerely thanks you for your feedback and apologises too.

Every guest and visitor is very important to us and it is not hotel policy to offer a lesser service to an independent traveller, I regret that this was your experience.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring London, just opposite Big Ben. (This is important given the price for transportation in London.) I had a standard double room that was modernly furnished, very large by London standards and sparkling clean. Beds are large and very comfortable. Huge, immaculate bathroom. Large LCD TV with all important sport and news channels, including SKY, which is a big plus. I found the coffee & tea machine and the large minibar very useful. Staff polite and helpful.
One should note though that most of the rooms do not overlook that Thames, but the interior space of the hotel or other parts of the city.
It is a huge hotel (more than 1021 rooms!) and therefore it cannot feel but impersonal, rather cold.
Given all of the above, I found shocking the quality and price of breakfast! Very limited choice and poor quality for a Park Plaza hotel, or for any other good hotel, for that matter.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CostinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you CostinN for your review and feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our comfortable hotel and surroundings.

I’m sorry to note your breakfast experience was poor, we hope to you again so here are some great options for breakfast next time; one is the Executive Lounge package at £39 per couple which includes 2 breakfasts, tea and coffee all day, full afternoon tea and then canapés and drinks from a full bar until 8pm. Keep an eye out on our website for the park Plaza package and you may even get this for £25. Another option is the Illy Espressemente coffee shop on the ground floor, similar in style and price to a Prêt or a Starbucks, as well as breakfast via room service with no tray charge.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend stay at the Park Plaza. We had previously stayed at the Park plaza county hall opposite, but thought we would try the newer version. It definitely lived up to its expectations, we love this location for a hotel, it is perfect for walking to everything in London! We were allocated a high room which gave us great views of the Eye and the houses of parliament, we had a 1 bedroom studio, which I think was worth the extra, (we like spacious rooms) the bathroom was great, and the small kitchen area was very functional. We have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world and I think this was possibly the quietest room we have ever stayed in, unbelievable considering it is built on a roundabout! Breakfast was great, very good variety and choice and no problem with waiting, plenty of tables for a busy Sunday morning. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the management of the hotel who arranged for a birthday cake, which was in our room when we arrived, (it was my partners birthday) Thank you Park Plaza, we will definitely be back soon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, you get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank YOU Martinjss for your great review and five star rating.

We’re delighted you both enjoyed our hotel and surroundings, it was our pleasure to provide the birthday cake for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Property: Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,345 - ₹ 29,525
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialities, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing