We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but it had some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #188 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, so perhaps the staff is still working out the kinks. The location is great; the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben are directly opposite on the other side of the Thames, and there are nearby underground stations. The physical property is great: large room, indoor swimming pool, business center, free wi-fi, but the staff was not entirely on their game. We were in the capital of the country where the English language was born, and yet English seemed to be a second language for most of the staff (and not a language at which they excelled). London was the terminus of a trip up the west coasts of Africa and Europe, but we found it easier to communicate with people in Benin than in this hotel at times. We were told that part of the problem was understaffing in order to save money (and no, I won't reveal what staff member said this, so there can be no repercussions). Little details, like not having robes and slippers in our room, calling for Earl Grey tea from room service and being delivered a large handful of various flavors of tea, but no Earl Grey were irksome. I know it may seem like I am nit-picking, but it's just that I feel that this hotel has the potential to be a great hotel if they make a stronger effort. Take advantage of the buffet breakfast if you stay here; you will be fueled for a day of sight-seeing at a reasonable price (and the food is very good). The hotel also offers a 3 course meal in their bistro for 13 pounds a person; again, the food is good and you can't beat the price. The best service we recieved was from the concierge desk; from arranging tours to providing a ride to Heathrow or loaning you an umbrella when it rains, this service was very good. One final comment: the thermostat was a bit difficult to regulate as it would easily switch from HOT to COLD, skipping past warm and cool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Big Ben cost more, but you get that fabulous from the lobby and everytime you walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinewood81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Pinewood81,

Thank you for your candid review and we’re glad you were pleased with our hotel and facilities.

Many of our team members speak more than two languages to fulfill the needs of all our guests both national and international, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Please be advised we have approximately 700 members of staff, therefore those assumptions are inaccurate.

Regarding the slippers and robes, without knowing which room type you had booked, please note these items are not placed in our Superior rooms.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope we can be of service to you in the near future.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,701 - 12,705 of 17,930 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Hotel was a bit hard to find from station but when you get there nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The room was exceptionally clean as was the rest of the hotel. The staff from the doormen to reception to bar to cleaning couldn't have been more courteous and helpfull. I would definately stay here next time in London and could reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thanks ChiefPreston for your review and recommendation.

We hope to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is my preferred choice for business stays when overnighting in London. The rooms are excellent, particularly the studio rooms (which I try to book) and the junior suite which we used as a family of 4 earlier this year - 2 bedrooms and a huge living area. Prices obviously fluctuate and have been noticeably higher in recent weeks so top rating is only earned when they are at their most competitive! There used to be a regular queue for checking in but this seems to have been resolved in the past few months. Location is great for the West End and Victoria with good links to the City, which is little more than 10 minutes by Tube or taxi. If the service and the prices stay keen, I'll continue to be a regular.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you David Y for your review and loyalty.

I trust you are enjoying the benefits of our loyalty scheme by being a Club Carlson member? If not please do visit the Club Carlson website to register.

I’m glad you are seeing noticeable improvements with our service and will continue in these endeavours.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay with 2 children. We took advantage of the up-grade facility on check-in that you pre-organise when you book, and ended up in a super-cool massive suite with views directly onto Big Ben. What a result. The staff were so lovely and friendly, especially to my 2 children, who were given goodie bags with vouchers in they could trade in for cakes; it doesn't get much better than that when you're 3 years old! What an amazing location this hotel has - can't believe what brilliant value for money it is considering its location, facilities and amazing quality and attention to detail. Thank you so much - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely use the up-grade facility if you book on-line - it's superb value for money and total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterLeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

What a great review, thanks GloucesterLeanna and family!

Glad we could make you all feel so welcome, we do hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Only stayed for 1 night, We had a studio room which was a very good size, the room was very clean and trendy the bathroom had a bath and stand up shower, good quality toiletries. check in was quick and we checked in early the staff was very nice breakfast was lovely a lot of choice, the pool was nice and steam room and sauna. we had a nice view of the London eye from our room.
There was no noise in the morning from the landing which i thought was great i really recommend this hotel and the location is great to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you Anita1478 for your comments. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#59 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,019 - ₹ 21,720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing