We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings about this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #195 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Probably made a mistake in traveling to UK on the Jubilee weekend..

Checked in the hotel on Friday - the check-in was pretty efficient even if there were a lot of guests arriving. Had a room on the 8th floor - the room itself was comfortable - with the extras like in-room ironing, good wifi connection, kettle and instant coffee/tea, extra toiletries, and a small fridge area next to the minibar. When ordering the room I somehow missed the fact that the entry-level ('superior') rooms have no view and in practice no daylight at all even if it was clearly stated in the room description. Had I noticed this, I probably would have considered other alternatives. The other south bank viewless Park Plaza (Riverside) at least has some daylight in the rooms.

The stay itself was pleasant, and even with the Jubilee crowd the service was good. Understandably, late check-outs were not available on Sunday, even with the Club Carlson gold elite members.

The reason for lowering the points from 4 to 3 however, is the morning of departure. Going to a night club the night before, I was planning on sleeping until 11, having a quick shower and check-out at noon. By 11 I was woken up twice by the housekeeping trying to come in and service the room for the next guests. They even made the last try quarter to noon, just as I was leaving. I understand that there were a lot of new guests arriving, and there was an urgency to get the rooms serviced, but still didn't exactly leave me feeling appreciated as a guest.

The express check-out was a really convenient - they deliver the bill with the 3am status in your room and if that's ok you just sign and leave it at the lobby.

So all and all - pretty good hotel, very good location, but not a really successful stay. Would I choose again - not sure. Maybe. And if I do - will definitely remember the do not disturb sign.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aapeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you Aapeen for your candid review, it’s much appreciated.

Sorry you did not see the information regarding our Superior rooms not having an external view, we do hope you’ll be back to enjoy a Studio room or one of our rooms with a stunning iconic view...and we’ll make sure we don’t disturb your lie in next time! My apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,998 - 12,002 of 17,053 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JackDZACK012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My whole experience staying at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge has been great from start to finish.

Very efficient and very friendly check in.

I had a nice suprise too when I mentioned that our family visit to London was to celebrate my daughters good school work and to give us a bit of 'family time'.

No sooner had I mentioned that, then the lovely lady at the reception sorted out a better room for me, which gave us a really good view of both Big Ben and The Thames ... it transpires, the higher up the Hotel you go (we were on the 7th floor) the better the view. The room was imacculate and the mood lighting was to die for !

I really liked the cool and contemporary feel of this Hotel and my daughter (fussy eating 7 year old) loved her breakfast choices in the morning. Was easily one of the best breakfast's we have had in a long time.

We had booked to see a couple of shows over our weekend stay and the hotel was in great position for jumping in to a cab and arriving at our venue's within a few minutes.

On the Sunday, we went to the The South Bank (3 min walk to get to it ) to have a nice walk by The Thames and be entertained by the numerous street performers.

In conclusion, this is a Hotel I would use time and time again, for value ( I got a discount on the room when I booked via Booking.com ) and for location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room view a view of The Thames and Big Ben
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked the hotel for its location so we could be in "the thick of the action" for the jubilee and the hotel and weekend lived up to all expectations.

We arrived on the Saturday so as to avoid the "rush" on the Jubilee days and stayed until Wednesday, therefore again avoiding long queing times (which we did see but staff seemed the deal with these as quickly as possible). We booked a package that had access the the executive lounge (we did request a room with a view when booking 9 months earlier but unfortunately this did not materialise) The executive lounge made up for it with wonderful views and food and drink available free of charge all day. The lounge Staff were prepared for the extra visitors and were pleasant and cheerful, took time to talk to our 11 year old and could not be any more helpful.

We had booked a meal in the restaurant on the Sunday evening and had to wait for the table,as they were so busy, but staff arrived with complimentary drinks and apologies and the waiting staff who had obviously been working for many hours served us with a smile quickly and efficently.

Our room was a studio one which meant we were able to have a seperate sleeping area for our 11 year old as the sofa converted into a bed in the living area. There was a microwave and fridge along with cutlery and china a great touch. The lighting could be alittle confussing and we quite often found oursleves plunged into darkness when trying to access a reading light. A very minor point. The bathroom offered both a full size bath or stand alone power shower a nice touch as many hotels are one or the other. The room was quiet, we heard very little noise from the road or other rooms

The hotel had laid on children's activities each afternoon, free of charge and a street party on the Sunday. A wonderful idea. The pool welcomed children between 8am and 8pm, but we did find this meant that the pool area became very busy late afternoon with many families taking time out.

To sum up. A wonderful 4 star hotel in a wonderful location. Excellent facilities and rooms.The staff worked so hard to make it a memorable stay. We will be back, let hope next time we can get the wonderful view from our bedroom. Thank you to all the staff for their hard work over a very busy weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Helen H,

Thank you for choosing us for your Jubilee weekend and your detailed review.
It was our pleasure to provide the fun activities and street party for the celebrations, as predicted we were extremely busy with the number of guests and visitors that weekend, and the team and I were challenged but it was certainly an eye opener for our preparations for the Olympics and Paralympics.

For your next visit to ensure you get one of our stunning views, please do visit the Park Plaza website to review the various room types, this will help you book the correct room type for a view and avoid disappointment.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked with Lastminute.com but should have booked direct as pennies cheaper & no troubles upon check-in.
This is a big Hotel catering for the masses. The long line of people checking in quickly made it to their rooms & we were served courtesley but had a few problems with our Lastminute.com reservation which were eventually resolved.
We stayed on the 5th floor in an internal facing room (weird view of other rooms) which was nice, very clean & quite trendy, The bathroom had very nice fittings including a bath & separate shower cublcle. We were pleased with the room.
We also ate in the brasserie which was very nice but expensive & had drinks in the atmosphere less bar with the worlds most boring Jazz Band playing.
The location is GREAT just across from Westminster Bridge & almost a stones throw from the London Eye.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thanks Christianbutler for your review.

I’m very surprised that you were unimpressed with the entertainment in Primo Bar, we’ve received nothing but positive comments previously, however, your views are appreciated.

Glad you enjoyed the hotel and our surroundings.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 12,426 - ₹ 24,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Ostrovok so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing