We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Reserve(London)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Brewers Inn(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,126 results
Traveller rating
1,209
493
256
92
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
493
256
92
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclapham junctionshuttle servicebanyan restaurantfree shuttlenile suiteclapham commonamazon roomiqbal latifthames viewjacuzzi bathbattersea parkfloor to ceiling windowshuge bathroomkings roadhotel gueststhe hotel offersamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,466 - 1,471 of 2,126 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Excellent all round, with superb, friendly and helpful service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSCOTTGRANDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Sir

We thank you for your short review which says it all...."Excellent all round, with superb, friendly and helpful service"

We believe in offering the best value for your money. We are a young hotel with young and enthusistic people working for us. We train them regularly and keep working on improvement to the quality of our product and services at double speed.

Thank you once again for your recommendation of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well what can I say

We stayed at this hotel for a special occasion and all I can say is from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything about the hotel was perfect.
Upon arrival we were greeted in the foyer by the concierge who made you feel really welcome. When we asked where we could park the car, he informed us that he would arrange to do that for us, so we got our bags out of the car, and left the keys with him. As we arrived slightly earlier than the check in time, we thought that we would need to lock our bags in the storage and check in later, but no, nothing was too much trouble, and they allowed us to check in there and then, knowing that the room wasn’t ready, and arranged for our bags to be transferred once the room was available. So we left the hotel using the excellent shuttle service to the nearest tube station, and and went out to experience London.
Arriving back at the hotel in the afternoon, we went to collect the keys, and found that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, overlooking the river at no extra cost. The apartment main door was on the 8th floor, but the upstairs of the apartment also had a door which opened on the 9th floor. Both bedrooms had an en suite bathroom and both floors had an enclosed balcony. Truly amazing, and it was such as shame that we were only staying the one night!! In the evening we had arranged to have dinner in the restaurant ‘Banyan on the Thames’. The table service and the food was totally exquisite. All of the dishes on the menu sounded amazing so much so that we had to order 3 starters as we couldn’t decide! The staff at all times were very attentive but without being pushy, and were in no rush to get you through the meal . One of the best nights we have had in a hotel, and accompanied by 50% discount on the bill it was the perfect end to our day.
I would totally recommend this hotel for anyone wanting 5* treatment, without paying a fortune. It is in an ideal location sitting alongside the river, and allows you to enjoy your stay without the noise and heavy traffic that normally comes with staying in a City. Thank-you to the all of the staff at the Rafayel for making our stay a memorable one, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandADHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the very encouraging review regarding your stay with us.

As mentioned in some of our other responses, we strive to continue to improve in both our product and services. We carry out detailed room checks daily to ensure that our guests receive the best of quality and comfort.

We are not a Big 5 star chain hotel but " A new concept of affordable luxury." We are highly motivated when our guests value our services, product and location.

Thank you and we eagerly look foward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have to say I was a little dubious about staying at the Rafayel after receiving such a fantastic price for my room, my initial worries were completely wrong! I couldn't fault the service at the Rafayel, the hotel room was spacious and clean, the staff were polite and extremely helpful and the 50% off offer at the restaurant and spa were incredible value. Me and my girlfriend had no problem with the hotels location as there is a bus stop right outside which takes you straight to Victoria station in about 15minutes and back again until the very early hours in the morning. sure the surrounding area is not somewhere we would have liked to walk at night but the Rafayel is truly a hidden gem.

I will definitely be returning to the Rafayel on my next visit to London. Thankyou for a great London experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest

It always gives us great satisfaction to read a wonderful review like yours where you have had a pleasant experience in all areas of our property. Our rooms are much larger than many central london hotels but the price is almost half of what you would pay in any of them.

Thank you sir, for highlighting that we are not in a remote locatioin cut away from links to the city after all.

We sincerely look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chris deSaram
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Only getting around to writing a review now despite staying back in March with my boyfriend.

We knew when booking that the hotel was slightly out of the way, but realistically it wasn't that far for anyone who doesn't mind a short ten min walk from Clapham Junction. We availed of the shuttle service to and from the Junction on two occasions and the chauffeur Ali was very friendly and informative.We stayed two nights and the double room we had booked was fantastic, very big and well decorated, stocked mini bar and we had not one but 2 televisions! The multi media system was second to none with an online menu and what to do in London list.


We ate in the 'Banyan on the Thames' on the Saturday night where the barman and waiting staff were more than attentive and I particularly liked the reccomendation of the best cocktail on the menu. The mains we both ordered (rib eye steaks) were cooked exactly how we had asked and the apple tarte tatin with the carmel sauce was possibly the nicest thing I've ever tasted.

We had a few drinks there on the Sunday night also and the bar was sadly empty and it seems such a shame that somewhere so nice is soo well hidden.
Our room was on the same floor as the Spa and the lovely smells were teasing but unfortunately we didn't have time to venture into the spa but there were some fantastic deals available that had we had more time we would have liked to treat ourselves to.

The only negatives I had were:


The website hadn't been updated at the time and when we arrived the cupcake/bakery parlour was no longer operating which was something I was looking forward to.

There was no iron/ironing board in the room and although we rang reception for one, we had to ring twice as after half an hr there was no sign and we had to iron our clothes for dinner.

All in all those were minor faults, and we would most definitely like to visit again. It took us a long time to find somewhere nice in London to stay that was affordable and of a high quality and despite it's location we were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Ms. Ann Marie

Thank you for the glowing review about your stay with us.

We are glad to note you enjoyed the food and drinks at the 'Banyan' restaurant which is one one of the most popular in the area. We do have the odd Sundays which are quiet. Its a pity you had no time to visit our 'River Wellbeing' Spa, where we offer 50% discount on all treatments to the guests of the hotel, but maybe the next time you'll stay with us.

We are sincerely sorry about the delay with the iron and ironing board not being delivered on time. Thank you for your comments on our website which has been since updated.

We are a young hotel and every good review helps us to survive in this competitive environment, and we strive to do our best to achive this challenge.

Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

From the courteous staff to the exquisite, well-equipped rooms, this is a jewel in London's crown. I've stayed in all category of rooms here, and the quality is consistent throughout. This is my fourth visit and my only port of call when passing through London. And the icing on the the cake is the well-hidden library, you will be lost for hours amongst the myriad of cultures on show in the library, everything from Vidal to Ahmed not to mention the cutting-edge artwork on display in the corridors. Without trying to sound too sycophantic, this is my favourite hotel in England par excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjablunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for your comments as one of our valued repeat guests and happy to note your appreciation of a few unique features of our hotel.

Thank you for your comments on our Library and the artwork displayed in our corridors. We are proud of both these features, the collection of books in the Library to which we keep adding more variations and featuring the artwork of a renowned French Artist in our corridors.

We wish you many happy returns to 'Rafayel on the Left Bank' Hotel & Spa.

Kind Regards
Chris de Saram
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews