We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Requested a river view - ended up with a view of cars driving up to reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #314 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Requested a river view - ended up with a view of cars driving up to reception”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked this room over 6 months in advance, and specifically requested a river view. We arrived late in the afternoon to find we had been given a room on the ground floor. Thw indows faced the approach to reception so we had a perfect view of each car arriving at the restaurant . Consequently we had to close the curtains to have some privacy.
The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable, but it was nothing special. A lot of little niggles once in the room. The bathroom was badly thought out. Rather than having two sinks, a shelf to put your own toiletries in the shower would have been helpful. The toiletries provided were in nailed down containers (I fail to understand why, they were not good quality)The bath surround was very wide, and there were no steps up to it, so you have to be pretty fit to use it.
We ordered room service, after about 6 attempts; we rang the room service number over a period of about 20 minutes. Eventually we asked reception to put us through. The £3.50 'delivery charge' for room service seemed particularly petty. If I am paying £350 for a room, then such a charge is insulting.
We did ask at reception why we were not given a river view room and were given a string of excuses along the lines of 'your booking was provisional' and the receptionist I had spoken to regarding the importance of a river view had conveniently left the hotel....
The hotel is in a fairly salubrious area , right next door to
London Heliport, and a long way from any of London's theatres, museums or sights. I live and work in London and have booked many hotels for myself, and business clients; in my experience, you can find much better hotels for a lot less money in central London. The hotel at County hall, for example is half the price with a lovely view of the river and the Houses of Parliament. And the West End is within walking distance. At the Rafayel, you either have to pay £15 or so for a taxi or get a bus to Victoria which is full of beggars and homeless people. Save yourself the hassle, stay in town. Will not not be recommending to friends or business contacts.

Room Tip: If you stay here, insist on a river view, otherwise you over look an industrial estate and warehouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaHegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Ms Hegarty
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We take all reports seriously and act upon them where necessary and I am sorry that you had cause to complain. However some of your comments are a little unfair and some seem to be a perception of the area and a recommendation for another hotel, rather than relating to your own experiences.
As someone who lives and works in London you must have known when you booked a hotel in Batteresea (on the day of the Jubilee River Thames Pageant and Battersea Park Party) that it was not going to be as convenient as other for a lot of the theatres in the West End especially with all the bridges being closed that day. Having said that, we often drop people (free shuttle) at Clapham Junction which is one stop from Victoria or at Clapham North which is 7 stops from Leicester Square on the Northern Line. People like the fact that they can park at our hotel for £15 and not incur the Congestion Charge.
The 170 bus goes directly to Victoria and I must say I use this service myself regularly and have not seen even one beggar or (obviously) homeless person let alone a bus full. This is actually a much bigger problem around the Marble Arch/Park Lane/theatreland areas.
As far as the room rate is concerned we feel we need to explain that the £350 price you mention was inclusive of the room service consisting of Beef Burger, Chicken Burger and Cheese Platter as well as Apple Tart for your dessert which you have confirmed you enjoyed thoroughly. £3.50 delivery charge is a standard across the industry with some of the most luxurious London hotels charging up to £5.00.
Provisional booking request for upgrade to full river view apartment could not be accommodated hence you had to stay in the room you have originally reserved which is over 450 square feet Nile Suite with Super King Size Bed walk in shower and Jacuzzi bath. The room features include free internet accessible via WIFI or smart TV in fact there are three TVs in the Nile Suite, there is a media hub and the price you have paid on let us say one of the busiest nights in London included free access to our leisure facilities SPA and GYM as well as 50% discount on all Therapies and fine dining at Banyan on the Thames restaurant.
All rooms and SPA features NEOM Luxury Organics products which are some of the most luxurious products in the beauty industry with accolades from Health and Fitness magazine, Marie Claire and Natural Health. We have spoken many times about our approach to saving the environment and why we provide 300 ml bottles fitted in stylish brackets as oppose to single use toiletries which are also available upon request and would not like to repeat ourselves here.
The “nothing special bed” you have slept on has actually A Royal Warrant from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II provides Hypnos with a ‘mark’ of excellence and reinforces Hypnos’s reputation for the very best of British quality. Hypnos bed are individually made to measure, made to order and made by hand.
We also have spoken about our location on this forum as well as in national and international press and guests do make a conscious decision to stay in Battersea. We are in London Zone 2 with some of the best transport links to busy central London and our post code is SW11 3RF which is easily available on Google maps if one in doubt of where we are.
Hotel Manager was at reception to meet you and upon your expression of dissatisfaction have offered you complimentary breakfast in order to lift your mood up as well as have taken off a small percentage of your room rate which Hotel Rafayel is proudly offering to guests who make reservation directly through hotel website or aver the telephone.
We are very sorry to hear your dissatisfaction and are unable to see the reason behind your travellers tip as it would be impossible to “over look an industrial estate and warehouse” from the Nile Suite you have stayed at. We are unsure of your intentions with this review and hopefully people will make their own decisions on that and give Rafayel the chance show what we offer.

With kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    466
    234
    84
    55
See reviews for
166
1,021
112
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire ,
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I emailed the hotel many times and got an instant response about my queries.
We arranged to be picked up from clapham common and the driver was on time and very polite, the check in was great and the rooms were masvive , very stylish and trendy .
we got 50% off food in the banyon and the 3 course was fantastic all for £50.
All the staff we great with our son Jake and we will be returning .
only downside is the location but with the bus stop outside and the car service from the hotel this is not really a problem.
great 5* hotel in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waggy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our recent stay was strictly business. Complimentary drop off to the nearest tube station (Clapham Junction or Clapham Common) was great help.

Parking for £15 was reasonable.

Room was spacious with quite big bathroom and ultra super shower. I loved it! The only thing I found a bit disappointing was the size of our bed. It wasn't big enough and for two tall people a bit squashed.

The staff was very friendly, ready to help with every demand.

So overall very nice hotel, very good quality and value for money. It is really difficult to find a decent hotel in London and I can recommend this one without any doubts.

And if you will have 15 minutes to spend, enjoy the walk on the wooden terrace in front of the hotel :))

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here recently and had a good stay.

We were upgraded to an Amazon room (125), which was very large, though it didn't have a great view. The bed was comfortable, Wifi was included and the lighting feature above the bed was fancy.

The bathroom was very large as well and the shower was nice...though it did take us 5 minutes to figure out how it all worked.

Service was friendly and the shuttle service is very convenient. Just make sure you check many times when reserving it on the phone that they understand whether you want to be picked up from Clapham Common or Junction.

Good value for London!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHills2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My partner had specifically requested a room with a view of the Thames as we were coming to London for a special occasion but we were disappointed to find we had been given a room with an obscured view. The view was mainly of a canopy roof below. The room was tiny- very little floor space around the edge of the bed- plus the bed itself was on the small side. My partner asked if we could be moved to an alternative room. We were kindly moved to a 2 bedroom duplex apartment in a different part of the hotel. Whilst it was spacious (far beyond our actual needs) and the view was to die for the apartment itself was dated and a little shabby with none of the mod cons that the other hotel rooms boast. Plus the air con in the bedroom didn't work- not ideal for a boiling hot weekend in London. We requested someone came to look at the air con but no one ever arrived. Unfortunately being in the separate part of the hotel left us feeling we were missing out on the hotel experience with no interaction with staff at all. Overall it wasn't an unpleasant stay but I wouldn't return. As I said- the view was amazing but everything else was distinctly average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShinyShoes1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#425 of 1,069 in London
9,240 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#144 of 1,069 in London
2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#230 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,816 - ₹ 18,534
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing