We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value with easy access to Central London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #289 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value with easy access to Central London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with decent transport links into central London. We booked an urban view room which ended up being a view of the hotel car park with no direct sun light, but we didn't spend much time in the room for it be an issue. Easy access into London Victoria via bus with the bus stop directly outside the hotel & buses running regularly & only taking about 15 min. Good value for a 5 star hotel in London.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus198255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    443
    217
    80
    47
See reviews for
153
966
104
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We rtecently paid out first visit to the Rafeyel Hote. From the moment we arrived until our departure, the service was top rate. All the staff, from check in to room service, the rstaurant and bar, all made us feel welcome. We stayed three nights and will surely be back. We have beeked for another short stay in June.
Congratulations to the management to have such a good team of truly international staff.
This is what a London hotel should be.
Well done.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor with river views.Room spacious, good airconditioning and large modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is not located in central (attraction area) of London, so it is about a 30 to 40 minute Over/Underground ride to the central part of London. But, being a little out of the heart of London was worth it for the affordable price of this nice, modern, overall clean hotel! The room did have a number of stains on the carpet and was a little dusty, but I'm guessing that the dust couldn't be helped much since many of the furnishings in the room were black and attracted lint/dust. Other than that, the room was clean--which is very important to me when selecting a place to stay. The room was a nice size for Europe (we had the Mississippi Room). The bed had down linens on it, which we had to request to be changed since my husband is allergic to down, but the staff quickly came up to change the linens to a synthetic for us. They were very prompt and accommodating with the request. The bus stop is right outside of the hotel, which will take you to the Clapham Junction overground station which connects to the Underground station via the green District line. Or, you can walk to the station in about 10 to 12 minutes. The hotel does provide a shuttle to the station, but it is a 4 passenger car that you have to reserve ahead of time. That was too much of a bother for us, so we just either walked to the station or took the bus (when it was raining). Two of the greatest downsides to this hotel are that there are no grocery stores nearby (at least none that we found), and there are very, very few restaurants nearby. The closest decent grocery store and restaurants appeared to be a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel. So, on two nights, we ended up eating at the hotel restaurant since that seemed to be our only/best option. The restaurant was decent (a lot of heavy/rich, Indian-inspired dishes) and provided a 50% discount for hotel guests with purchase of two courses, which was nice since the original prices were extremely expensive. My husband and I enjoy Indian, but one of the nights I was not feeling well and really had wished for something lighter, like a salad, which they didn't have. Another downside was that the staff didn't seem all that friendly or helpful, but it may be a cultural thing since the hotel staff seemed to be of Indian descent. Oh yes, and there is a heliport right next door, which can be a little noisy in the morning, but we never heard it at night, so that was fine. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, affordable, clean hotel in the London area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

For remarkably little (in central London terms) we had an apartment on two floors with a wonderful view of the River - two bedrooms, big kitchen, a bath, 3 showers, dining room and much more. Truly memorable, and yet ... the shower cords were dirty, some of the woodwork was heavily scuffed, on arrival our porter got us out of the lift 5 floors too early, and we had to wait for a long time for it to return, we didn't get our alarm call when we booked it, on departure we didn't get the London taxicab we expected but a hire car which charged a steepish fare... and the staff, though pleasant enough, didn't speak English very well. None of these moans was too important individually, but overall they turned an amazing experience into something a little less wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

A very modern hotel with quality fittings, huge windows, comfortable beds and good service and I can't quite put my finger on why I feel a little let down by this hotel. The room was just amazing, an unusual layout with everything you could need. We stayed in a Nile Suite which was huge with amazing views of the Thames..... and of Jewsons corrugated shed roof.. in fact most of the view was of the shed roof. We were right by the the London heliport and this can be noisy although I didn't hear any helicopters during the night. The bed was comfortable the furnishings were excellent and the mod cons were.. well fiddly. The shower has three controls, one of which came off in your hand and it took a long time to get ti to work.The huge TV has internet but we found it quite hard to work and couldn't control it so we gave up.The tv went off completely for a while and then wouldn't switch off or change channel when it did come on. The TV in the bathroom was impossible to view from the bath!!!
We had an early appointment but wanted to go to the spa in the morning...it didn't open until 9am so that was out for us.
Staff were very helpful and the courtesy bus is so useful. Don't let me put you off this hotel, it is a perfectly good 5 star hotel it just didn't get under my skin.
Continental breakfast at £10 is very good value with lovely views, I just wish we could have enjoyed it after visiting the spa.

Room Tip: Thames views are amazing, the alternative views are industrial
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enamelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
K West Hotel & Spa
#265 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,022 - ₹ 16,770
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing