We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - a long way from 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #321 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average - a long way from 5 star”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip.

Overall this hotel is ok. I've stayed in some better 4 star hotels for less money and in better locations. The appearance of the hotel is a little overdone - the blue lights in the reception at night look cheap and the "artwork" is a bit dubious. My room was lovely - larger than average with comfy bed, loads of wardrobe space, a great desk/working area and large bathroom. The rain shower was great, but it would have been nice to have had a bath, espcially given that there was plenty of space for one. The wallpaper was scuffed in places, and the carpet had a few spot stains - I think it's small details like this that let this place down. You would certainly not get scuffed walks in a true 5 star! Although the room itself was great, it was a shame that I looked out into a builders yard and their offices! The light swtiches were strange in the room and it was a nightmare to try and get them all to turn on or off! The towels in the bathroom were thin and smelt stale.

Ther service at this hotel was hopeless. I can't decide whether the receptionist (same one when I checked in and out) was painfully shy or incredibly rude. Either way she is not cut out for front of house! There was no explanation of the hotels services or facilities or directions to find my room. I was handed a key card with a little scrap of paper sticking out with my room number written on it. When I checked out, I wasn't asked how my stay was, and I didn't get a thankyou.

The poor service continued at breakfast. I waited in the queue of 4 people at the reception desk to ask directions to the restaurant and eventually gave up and went for a wander myself. I waited in the restaurant to be seated and was convieniently ignored by all three waiting staff and when I approached one of them to ask for a table (I was in a rush to get to the office), they seemed surprised as if they hadn't walked past me several times while I was waiting! I waited at the table for my order to be taken as I wanted to order from the a la carte breakfast menu. After 10 minutes, I gave up and helped myself to the breakfast buffet, where the choices were pretty average. Eventually I was asked if I wanted tea/coffee. The view from the restaurant was lovely, it was just a shame that the tables and chairs on the terrace outside were still littered with half empty and a couple of broken glasses from a function the night before.

Location of the hotel ok - it's bit of a walk to/from Clapham junction station, but I quite enjoyed that. Really handy for getting to my office in Vauxhall.

I had a decent couple of nights sleep here, but in general feel that the hotel overpromised and under-delivered. If they work on the service and the details, then this could be a great hotel. I don't think I'd bother staying again though - there are better 4 star hotels in more central areas that I would prefer to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monty69Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. The policy of our hotel is very clear. Unlike other hotels where reviews are considered as a bane, and usually not properly responded to from day one, we have made a hotel policy to answer every negative review.

Lighting: You don’t have to go too far for lighting. Please Google search “Rafayel lighting” and you will see Rafayel lighting has Philips International video specially made on our lighting, case study by Community Lighting Philips International, case study on lighting by Architainment Lighting and many such articles. This has been properly designed. You may have a different taste but that’s a fact.

Bath/showers: Some rooms have rain showers and others have a bath. We are an ecofriendly hotel and have tried our best to have a balanced count of baths and showers in the rooms. 17 rooms contain baths while others have rain showers (Rain showers have both body and telephonic shower). You were upgraded from Mississippi Room (with bath) and were given the bigger Amazon room of 280 sq. ft. (that had a shower) as a gesture of corporate goodwill. We do accept it was our mistake to upgrade you to a larger room that lacked a bath.

We have investigated room 118, where you stayed, and have not discovered any apparent problems on the wallpaper. As far as spots are concerned, the room is carpeted in light grey so stains are inevitable, but we do have assigned people whose duty is to attack and clean these stains regularly with all possible ecofriendly cleaning agents. We try our best and regret that we disappointed you here. We will continue to work hard at removing stains from the carpets.

The Receptionist you refer to has been an employee with us for over 14 months. She is a highly professional individual and performs her duties well. It is standard procedure to inform every guest on arrival of all the facilities and special discounts and offers we have at the hotel, breakfast, spa and the restaurant.

We checked your arrival on CCTV and talked to the Reception. Yes there were guests queued in front of you but this is a normal thing. Your check in and check out procedures took approximately 3 minutes each time. We didn’t find any untoward delays accorded to you by our staff. Please appreciate we are a small hotel with nearly 80 full time and part time employees.

As for your breakfast experience, we have interviewed all three staff at breakfast. Yes, on Friday morning, there were a huge number of people at breakfast and we are sorry if you feel that you were neglected. Our staff are all experienced and are continuously prodded by us not to make any mistakes, but we were not satisfied with their explanations and have reprimanded them accordingly.

We are sorry you were not happy with the breakfast menu, but kindly look at our range on our blog. We serve eggs prepared to order and a full range of breads/croissants, fruit and fruit salads, yoghurts, cheese and meats. All for £9.95. Since TripAdvisor policy disallows posting links here, kindly visit our site to see the photos with details. If this is not enough, then we apologise.

On your comments on towels, we are very conscious of our linen and towels. Our towels are of good quality (450-550gms) and we wash them individually and not in mass laundry bundles. This is done to maintain quality control. Our housekeeping keeps a diligent eye on this. However, we are sorry they did not meet your high level of expectations.

Thank you for your appreciating our other points. We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Rafayel for a better experience.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    469
    234
    85
    60
See reviews for
168
1,034
113
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. Room absolutely fantastic, with plenty of places to eat and drink a short taxi ride away (although we did walk there and taxied back). There is a small restaurant on site but the hotel doesn't really do too much to advertise what's available and prices. Overall the value is brilliant and thought the hotel would be great for a couples or a small group of girls wanting a spa weekend with the draw of the bars not to far away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for a number of years, however, we decided to go back for another year with 5 people. The service on arrival was fantastic with friendly staff and well managed phone lines, so when we ran out of milk in the room (for example!) they were round within 5 minutes. Even in the early hours of the morning, on our return to the hotel, the staff wished us a good night and chatted to us in friendly manners.
The hotel is out of town a bit, but it is a 10minute walk from the station (however, a free shuttle service is available. We just chose not to use this).
I brought my PS3 along and we constantly had Ipods playing in surround sounds throughout the room and provided dock. The Jacuzzi bath was fantastic and every morning I woke up to an illuminated bath with relaxing jets, whilst watching TV!
The gym is a good size, and was quiet when we went. The jacuzzi and sauna were fantastic, however we were a little disappointed in the resistance pool (which is around 10ft by 4ft apx) and steam room, as both didn't really work to their full potential.
The price was fantastic, with the hotel doing me fantastic deal, which came up being about £10 more expensive than a travel lodge, in comparison! The prices of the mini-bar and food are expensive, but local shops are handy for shopping and getting in cheaper drinks.

Overall, We will definitely stay in this hotel next year.

Thanks very much

Room Tip: Re-arrange the room furniture and you'll get an even more spacious room! We moved the tables and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I cant say anything about the hotel, food, spa etc as I checked in here a little bit worse for wear! I got a good deal on a Thames room and the view was as described.
The room itself was amazing with some lovely touches. Big well designed bathroom and many cool gadgets that I would have appreciated if I wasnt a little boozy!
Overall I would highly recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone and would like to stay here properly and enjoy everything it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for business, only one word to describe the experience, excellent. The reception staff greet you with a wonderful smile, the rooms are exceptionally clean & well presented.
The view from room 201 was very pleasant, looking out over the Thames. The bar, the same as most London hotels was pricey, but the views from the panoramic windows make it well worth while.
It was a pity I did not have time to visit the spa, therefore cannot comment on that.
Hotel is situated approximately 10 mins from central London, therefore a £15 taxi ride takes you from the quiet tranquil setting straight into the hussel & bussel of the City.
Would most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkMungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#429 of 1,069 in London
9,359 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#153 of 1,069 in London
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,069 in London
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,125 - ₹ 15,616
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing