We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service and Beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #145 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star service and Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We booked back in January for a stay in June, we were in London for the Lovebox festival around the corner in Victoria Park. We knew this was going to be a special hotel but upon arrival it literally took our breath away.
The building itself is impressive, the clue being in the title of being the old Bethnal Green Town Hall, absolutely stunning. Once through the doors the first thing to comment on is the staff. Such warmth and friendliness, every single member of staff stopped to welcome us to the hotel with a huge smile. We were a little early to check in and the concierge took our bags while we headed to the Bar. The lobby area is full of interesting artwork and vintage curiosities, unlike any other hotel you will experience. In fact this theme continues throughout the hotel, always something to comment on as you walk through the corridoors.
Let us tell you that the Concierge here is such a wonderful, warm man. Nothing was too much trouble, he was full of care and sincerity. Also the guy in the Bar, so friendly & attentive and we immediately felt at home. We recommend trying one of the outstanding cocktails in the bar, beautifully presented, we had Rosy Posy which is sublime.
We stayed in one of the apartments, it was just perfect. Furnished with a mix of quirky vintage and stylish contemporary furnishings. The bathrooms were just huge, with double sinks, shower, vast bath(complete with rubber duck) & endless storage. The beds were sumptuous, and there is a vast amount of storage with wardrobes and everything you could ever need. Fresh milk and both sparkling/still water in the fridge. Housekeeping came to provide a turn down service each evening and left a treat of handmade chocolates. A newspaper was delivered to the door each morning.
The gym and pool is simply stunning. You swim under a glass atrium, looking up into the clouds.
We really wanted to try the Viajante restaurant in the hotel, but ran out of time being at the festival. I suggest you do, we will make sure we do on the next visit.
We loved everything about this special place. It is the perfect mix of style with the most genuine staff who offer outstanding service. We have stayed in many hotels in London, many 5 star and Town Hall is definitely without doubt the star of all London hotels. Highly highly recommended. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Town Hall Hotel & apartments. It is obviously an honour to receive this fantastic feedback and I really enjoyed reading it. It is nice to know, that as from the moment you stepped into the hotel, my colleagues at the FO welcomed you with their friendly and genuine charm. It is great to know that you found the hotel comfortable, stylish, and well furnished with inspiring art works fairly distributed around the hotel, meanwhile, retaining its grandeur appearance from outside. It is nice to know that you appreciated all the facilities and that you thought the hotel to be very well equipped. Thank you for commenting on the apartment in details and for describing the local area too. It is a pity that you did not have the chance to dine at the Viajante restaurant in this occasion but I am sure you will soon. Please note that the Viajante restaurant does not provide a La Cart Menu but instead it offers a blind-style tasting menu. The food in itself is a journey through different flavours and textures and it is innovative and constantly changing and I suggest that you book well in advance to avoid any disappointments. Once again thank you for your fantastic feedback and for choosing the THH for your stay in London. Should you decide to return to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    237
    76
    31
    33
See reviews for
292
496
77
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Me & my husband checked into this hotel for our first anniversary & had a great stay. Our room had a bath by the side of the bed which was amazing & it also had many period features like stained glass windows between the bathroom & bedroom & a fireplace.
I have to admit i loved this hotel much more than my husband who would prefer a more modern luxury hotel but if your like me and would love a retro style hotel with lots of character this is a good choice. The area is not very nice but dont let that put you off!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is nice to know that you loved the hotel so much and that your stay on this special occasion was a good experience. From your description of the apartment, I can deduct it was one of our Features Executive Apartments, which indeed are unique with its open space concept and full of details from the Edwardian period. I am sorry to hear that you husband did not quite like it as much as you did and I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay at the THH and I can confirm that your feedback has been shared with all the departments here. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any further assistance and I will be more than happy to assist you. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel was a great find for our particular needs. Sleek and modern; well stocked kitchen; washing machine; generous amount of bottled water; delicious chocolate treats each night; good restaurants on site; great pool & gym in the basement; friendly staff; a choice of transport - Bethnal Green underground on the Central Line is a pleasant 10 minute stroll and became our favoured way to travel into central London. The whole experience felt less touristy!

Room Tip: We found the 3rd floor to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhasabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on your visit to the Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is nice to receive this kind of feedback, comparing the Town Hall Hotel as an Oasis in East London. It is definitely encouraging to know that we were able to met your needs and that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, in this occasion. Thank you for mentioning all the little treats, the appliances and facilities that hotel has to offer to our guests and glad to hear that your stay felt more like being at home rather than being a tourist. This is a great achievement for us, as it is indeed the true intent of our concept. Thank you for choosing the Town Hall Hotel for your stay in London and I can confirm that your feedback will be shared with all the team here. Should you required any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Pick one of the finest hotels in London centre, drop it in East London, reduce the price 4 times over and you've got the Town Hall Hotel. I absolutely could not fault this place!

The staff were so enthusiastic and helpful, nothing too much trouble...my friend asked for beans for breakfast...they didn't have any but within minutes one of the staff had run to the shop to get some! The food at the Corner cafe was delicious, our room was contemporary with lovely furnishings. Small touches like our own coffee machine with various types of coffee, free bottled water and milk. The hotel is very grand maintaining lots of the old features which makes it feel very special.

Don't be put off by the location...granted it's not the swanky West End but the cool and trendy areas of Shoreditch and Hoxton are a stone's throw away and its just a 10 min tube ride into the centre.

I would definitely recommend this delightful hotel and would happily stay there every time I go to London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleHill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is a pleasure to read your encouraging feedback and pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Town Hall Hotel. Thank you for detailing what the hotel has to offer with various amenities and appliances to make the stay of our guests more comfortable. I am pleased to know that you though the hotel is good value for money and that the staff was always eager to provide you with the highest level of customer service during your stay. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the food at our Corner Room and mostly that the THH has become you favoured hotel in London. Thank you for choosing us and I hope to be able to welcome you back at the hotel soon. Please should you require any further assistance from us, do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was a great business apartment but would be great for couples on a trip to the city. Uber cool apartment, luxury bathroom, studio eating kitchen but that didn't bother me. 2 stops to the city, 4 to covent garden, tube is 5 minutes walk away.

Amazing pool and gym, but nothing else nearby in the evening.

I paid 185 pounds a night, well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beva12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is nice to receive such a positive feedback and to know that you thought your experience was a good value for money. Thank you for mentioning how easy is to travel to the central parts of London and the City with Central Line. I am though surprised to read your note that nothing else nearby the hotel in the evening. Please do not hesitate to ask our concierge for local areas information on your next visit, but to mention some of them Brick Lane, Shoreditch High St. and Hoxton Square are at just few minutes away from the hotel. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay in London and I can confirm that your feedback has been shared with all the departments here. Should you decide to return to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#113 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,580 - ₹ 21,729
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing