We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury and style in East London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxury and style in East London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a one of a kind hotel. It is a remodelled Town Hall full of modern luxury and details. An extraordinary mix. I loved the entrance with the old safe, the very convenient-modern rooms, the romantic pool,...
The area is not your usual London. Be ready to embrace the new London! The East side has lots of treasures, but it is still very rough. It is a bit of an adventure, but you are very near great coffee places, fashionable restaurants, street markets, art galleries,... But you have to ask where and when to go, like in a treasure hunt. Be ready to have fun and discover all those new places the fashion magazines say celebrities are going. First stop can be the bar and restaurant El Viajante in the premises.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on your visit to the Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great to receive your comments and to know that you liked the hotel restoration with its mixture of the previous mid-century trends, the apartment luxury set up and our pool and GYM. Thank you also for your recommendations on the local areas, which I am sure they will be very useful to many potential guests, looking for something different from the regular areas and hotels. It is great to know that you went about to discover all these "treasures" on the East Side of London, which still for many an unknown place waiting to be discovered. Thank you for choosing the Town Hall Hotel for your stay in London and I can confirm that your feedback will be shared with all the team here. Should you required any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    235
    74
    31
    32
See reviews for
287
494
74
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

The staff were lovely, the room was enormous and had a fully equiped kitchen with laundry facilites. But as I was on a work conference all I wanted to do late at night was order room service and the menu if most kindly discribed as limited. About four choices and nothing I wanted to order.

The hotel is located on a pretty bleak street for a new comer to the area with not really a area that a woman would feel comfortable walking alone at night.

However, around the corner is a sweet little organic cafe run by lovely people who offer excellent coffee and snacks as well as organic supplies should you want to use that kitchen.

Near Shorditch Road was a run of good local restaurants (a 6 pound cab ride)

I prefer to be more centrally located with a few more amenities so this would not be my hotel of choice. However if you are on a budget and want to self cater it could be a good option. It also offers a much more real side of London that more tourist areas.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyages27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on your visit to the Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is great that you thought THH is good value for money. I am sorry to read that you did not feel the area to be safe but up to 2 years of our opening, no incident had been reported from any of our guests so far. Bethnal Green, as many close by areas, still an upcoming but very trendy area with a unique character, with many art galleries and places to eat out but I do understand that this may not be everyone favoured part of London. I am pleased to hear that you like the hotel and the style of the apartments and that the staff was always eager to assist. I am sorry to hear that you did not find anything you liked on the room service menu and I have shared your comments with our F&B manager. I can confirm that all your comments will be share with all the team here. Should you required any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Very well located near funky, gentrifying Bethnal Green/Hackney/Shoreditch. Started in an absolutely fabulous two bedroom suite in old town hall part of building, air conditioning didn't work, were moved to the new part of building. Both rooms were luxurious, well appointed, useful kitchens, cappuccino makers, etc. Very good breakfast buffet included. Staff could be a bit befuddled, but eager to please. Very good value overall Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manny2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on your visit to the Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for mentioning all the nearby areas of interest a walk away to the hotel. It is great to know that you liked both apartment set up and please accept my sincere apologies for having to ask you to move to another apartment, due to the faulty air-con in your first accommodation. I am glad to read that you were happy with the breakfast selection at the Corner Room restaurant, although the staff seems to be confused, I am guessing it was about the breakfast order. Thank you for choosing the Town Hall Hotel for your stay in London and I can confirm that your feedback will be shared with all the team here. Should you required any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be more than happy to assist you directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Even the most expensive hotels in London can be a bit of a gamble, but the Town Hall was simply best on every single count. Put this hotel in the centre of town and room charges would at least have doubled, if not trebled. 5-star quality at London 3-star prices.
Beautifully restored building with great mid-century modern furnishings. My room had a fully-fitted kitchen that had every conceivable thing one needed. Great bathroom, very comfortable bed. Even though the windows did not have double-glazing, I heard absolutely no street noise from my lower ground floor room.
Had breakfast each day and dinner twice at the Corner Room. The breakfast was included in my room rate and consisted of a self-help buffet with hot items extra at the very low price of GBP 4 each. Huge price/quality value compared to the exorbitant charges at many hotels. Dinners were without exception very good. Small but excellent wine list.
Had drinks all nights at the Viajante bar. Drinks bill came in a fair bit lower than similar bars in London would charge.
On a subsequent visit I also dined at the Viajante restaurant - one Michelin star - which was amazingly affordable and (not gushing when I am saying this) one of the best 5 meals I have ever had.
Finally, staff were without exception very professional, very courteous and most helpful.
The only reason why I did not stay here on two other recent trips to London was that a) the hotel was full, and b) the conference rate included the hotel stay. Booked already for two visits later this year.
Did not make use of the pool but my colleague did and liked it a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDanvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is a pleasure to read your encouraging comments and great to know that you were left with this nice feeling, following your stay with us. It is nice to know that you appreciated the product we have at the THH, which you kindly detailed and it is great to know that you found the hotel very affordable against similar hotel in central London. We are of course very proud of the restoration of mid-century style, mixed together but at the same time maintaining the magnificent original look of the old town hall. Thank you also for mentioning your visit at our Corner Room restaurant and the Viajante Bar, which you enjoyed and great to know that in a previous visit you also visited our Viajante Restaurant, which is considered one of the "hottest" places to heat out in London. I am also pleased to hear that you were happy with the level of service you received by our friendly staff, which I can confirm, your feedback will be shared with. Thank you for choosing us for your future stays in London, and should you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

With the house full of relatives we stayed as a treat for a family wedding (3 apartments in total) & ate at the Corner Room on Friday night.

Booking well in advance meant that the cost was only £16/ person/ night more than a Holiday Inn & what a contrast! Everything is cleverly built around the original architecture whilst incorporating luxurious, state of the art bathroom & kitchen fittings with blissfully quiet air con.

Staff were genuinely warm & friendly, lacking the often stuffy London hotel manner. No one can book, so we weren’t able to get into the Corner Room until 9.15. It was worth the wait. The informal excellence continued with unusual imaginative food; a starter that evoked a paddle in a rock pool, followed by the best lamb that I’ve ever eaten & a pudding that was almost rude (1 person managed 2). At ~£30 /head for food it was incredible value (watch the wine though).

A blissful float in the pool on Sunday & a visit to the nearby morning flower market finished off an amazing experience & I can’t wait to go back – for the anniversary maybe?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mechanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you and your relatives enjoyed your stay with us in this special occasion and it is great to know that the wedding reception was also success. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you liked the hotel restoration mixing different trends of the 20th century. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Corner Room with its dish selection which you kindly detailed, as prove of how much you enjoyed it. It is also great to know that you enjoyed the pool and that you took the opportunity to visit the nearby flower market, which is a very exciting place to be on a nice Sunday morning. Thank you so much for all your other comments and I can confirm that I will share them with all the departments here and I hope to be able to welcome you back at the THH, perhaps as you suggested on your anniversary. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally.
Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,507 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#110 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#306 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,207 - ₹ 21,483
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing