We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go! Terrible place!”

St. George's Tavern
Ranked #17 of 260 Bars & Pubs in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Pimlico
Description: You will find The St George's Tavern in Victoria London within a short stroll of Victoria Street, Vauxhall Bridge Road and Buckingham Palace Rd - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The St George's Tavern is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We went here for dinner one evening, no service whatsoever, only a bartender. Went to bartender for drinks and menu but was told they stopped serving due to a lack of staff. We were told if waited another 45 minutes, they could possibly get us some appetizers. We paid for drinks and left.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at St. George's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The St George's Tavern, but will take this opportunity to improve. Thank you for leaving feedback. Take Our apologizes for situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018

This place is close to Victoria Station so it was convenient.
The service was awful, waiting a long time for the waitress and for our food. Then my "classic" fish and chips came raw in the middle. I sent it back because, hey, it wasn't cooked. It took forever for my new meal to come back, and this time is was burnt. My friend was convinced that it was done on purpose. We were in a hurry so I didn't want to send it back again and both times it didn't look very good anyway. I asked the waitress to take it back and to please just take it off the bill. My nieces food, one of the pies, was just ok. The prices were a little high for the quality of food. The waitress was annoyed and did not hide the fact. The place was crowded and the tables were very close to each other, one could barely walk by without knocking into people. There is a decent variety of beer. I suppose that the popularity of this place was due to the location. I doubt there were any locals there. I wouldn't recommend it and probably wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kitkatkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at St. George's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Kitkatkib, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Here at The St George's Tavern, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Tasty pie with super pastry but touch on expensive side. Minutes from both train and coach station..

Thank dr8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at St. George's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Disappointed but not surprised. Half my chicken was missing, but where did it go? The brownie was good

Thank Tomlsara281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at St. George's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out to us at 020 7630 1116. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife came to visit for a date night which was a pleasure to be at this pub the drinks and the food was brilliant the service was very good restaurant was very clean and again the service was great. After we stayed on in the bar area again very clean and the bar staff was generally very nice and talkative got chatting to the landlady who was very polite and told us about the history of the pub and how long she’s been running it. Your pub is in great hands with the staff you employed there will definitely be recommending to family and friends and definitely will be returning

1  Thank biggy2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at St. George's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Biggy2487, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The St George's Tavern! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. George's Tavern also viewed

 
 

Been to St. George's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing