We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good restaurant rubbish !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #285 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel good restaurant rubbish !!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rooms and reception staff v good BUT the restaurant was very bad waited too long to b serverd and then at breakfast we got the requested toast after 1/2 an hour it the coffee and two tea took another 15 mins ... And then they had run out of spoons .... So for £240 a night deffinately not worth it !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    538
    128
    42
    30
See reviews for
134
653
80
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Bermondsey Square Hotel. Great, clean room, large, comfortable bed, great restaurant and bar. Incredible location with some of the latest and greatest restuarants near by (try Pizaro - great). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone, and I will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice staff and facilities. Good value for money. Suites were fantastic! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent rooms, excellent service, helpful staff, best hotel we've stayed in when in London, will definitely stay again. Only negative was the knicker bocker Glory was not on the menu at Greggs Place, food excellent. Disabled facilities absolutely fabulous, the wet room en suite was massive & fully equipt with latest disability aids. Fantastic value, Wonderful stay :)
Really reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one night over the Jubilee weekend, as we were attending a large private function in the hotel.
Booking was simple and courteous; we usually book all hotels online, but did so by phone because we were guests at the function. Staff telephone manner was impeccable. The quotation of all prices ex-VAT was a little quirk - though I have come across this several times in London over the years - perhaps to make our North American guests feel more at home?

Standard guest room was lovely - nicely sized with all the facilities you would expect for the upper end of the middle market. Clearly purpose built as hotel accommodation, so nothing charming - each floor is a similar layout of mostly identical rooms, but this makes excellent use of the floor space. Cleanliness was excellent - the layout of the room & en-suite makes them easy to clean - a big pat on the back for the architect if, like me, you are regularly disappointed by hotel rooms with dusty or dirty corners that are difficult to reach with a hoover or mop.

The daytime and evening functions were excellent - at all times, the staff were readily available and attentive, without being "in your face" - exactly as it should be. The food was also of an excellent standard for event catering - the main dish was a barbecue on the first floor terrace which I could not fault - a lovely ambience too; would be a great place to unwind with a bottle of wine at the end of the day.

There was one small disappointment to the stay, which was breakfast the next morning in Gregg's Table. The cold breakfast items were laid out in the usual buffet fashion, with cooked breakfast orders taken by waiting staff - something I much prefer to a hot buffet of items in varying states of temperature and desiccation.
Sadly, after 25 minutes waiting, our hot breakfasts did not arrive, which we found peculiar - the restaurant was under half full and there were no fewer than 6 chefs-hat-toting staff rushing manically back and forth in the open-to-view kitchen.
I raised the issue with our waitress and asked if we could just have some toast instead as we had to catch a train - she was most apologetic, but the most annoying thing was that she didn't listen - she instead got our full cooked breakfast orders made up (with a few errors) and brought them to us as we were leaving the restaurant.
In the lift, we spoke to another family who had similar issues, receiving completely the wrong order. Perhaps it was ours!

On reflection, a bodged breakfast is a minor mark against the overall hotel experience, which was excellent - but I would suggest to Mr. Gregg Wallace that if he wishes to endorse an establishment with his name (and face), he appoints a kitchen manager for the breakfast shift. Perhaps there is one, but they have a Sunday off. Who knows.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyemajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#126 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
London City Hotel
#243 of 1,067 in London
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#269 of 1,067 in London
2,088 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,067 in London
1,957 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#172 of 1,067 in London
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,788 - ₹ 19,057
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing