We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing intimate hotel in a fabulous Location”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing intimate hotel in a fabulous Location”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We went to London to see a gig on the 12th July, and decided on the hotel Kensington due to the great online reviews. Despite being a little more than we wanted to pay, the hotel was in such a great location we booked 1 nights stay. As soon as we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and attended to without the service being overpowering. Unfortunately, the 1st room we were given was a real disappointment. The air con being located right by the window so it was very noisy and the room was smaller than we anticipated. My husband called the desk and explained the problem. They said they'd imeadiately move us to another room, and do we want someone to pack our bags for us!
I was thrilled with the 2nd room, it was exactly as I had hoped. If you are spending a couple of nights in London I would urge you to book this hotel. Perfect location( natural history museum/ Victoria & Albert/ Hyde park and Knightsbridge just minted away ) but more importantly a lovely, friendly, classy hotel. 10/10!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Luciegraham,

Firstly I would like to extend our gratitude for you choosing The Kensington Hotel, we thrilled to have you as our guest. We are all deeply committed to making your stay as perfect as possible and enhancing your experience of London so were delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Your wonderful words regarding the hotel's convenient location and our team have already passed on, we greatly appreciate it it.
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review, your willingness to offer feedback is both valued and useful.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to our nations capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    525
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
511
1,138
196
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is my second time at this asset and it continues to impress. The rooms are not huge, but are clean and modern. The staff is great and can give you tips about the area or help you with any other reasonable request. The hotel also offers a good breakfast (find a rate that gives it to you for a minimal charge). Not that we all want to be working when in London, but the hotel does offer free and reliable wi-fi. All-in-all a good experience and the hotel is located in a fantastic area with easy access to central London along with its own vibrant neighborhood. Rooms are very quiet and generally one should request a room with a view of the street (I found this has more light than the interior view).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Dan P,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Kensington Hotel, a member of the Doyle Collection, for your visits to London. Our team work very hard to enhance your experience, so we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We were so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, the hotel's convenient location and that you were so impressed with our team. Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate these things take time and wanted to express my gratitude for your willingness to offer feedback as it is both valued and useful.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jejita
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I will start with the good which is location, location, location. Close to South Kensington tube stop which is very well connected. We stayed here for Wimbledon, as a package deal and extended our stay because it was easier than to look for another place. I liked that it has free wifi, you can take an apple as you are leaving the hotel but these things don't really make up for other things such as a botched reservation or too much light at night.
The hotel lobby is very nice but the rooms are tiny! We had to suitcases and decided to upgrade our room because there really was no place to put the suitcases in the first room we had (Standard), we upgraded to a deluxe and that was fine. There were problems with the reservation because we had booked in two separate forms and they promised to integrate both reservations and did not so on the day of the end of the first reservation we were asked to leave the room we had upgraded to! No warning whatsoever, we were asked to do this right when we were ready to leave the hotel. The lady at reception was not particularly nice when we said the she had specifically told us she would take care of the reservation. We finally were able to keep the same room but it was a hassle.
Room amenities were inconsistent. We got water bottles and chocolates for turn down on some days and nothing on other days.
There is no place to put folded clothes in the room and not much room to put your suitcase so it makes unpacking difficult.
The noise level was not terrible except for the first night (Thursday) when we could hear loud noise from outside the night club at 3 AM. Our room faced Old Brompton road.
There was too much light coming into the room (curtains are not great) and beside that there is a green light on the ceiling that lights up the entire room during the night and is probably related to the fire alarm but it makes it difficult to sleep!
Our first bathroom in the deluxe room was good but we did not get new soap after 3 days!
If this hotel were rated 3 stars, I would believe it. It does not give any 5 star service except for the location it has. It is pretty to look at but not great to stay in.

Room Tip: If you want a better room upgrade to a deluxe room and try to get the ones that don't face Old B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jejita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Jejita,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate these things take time and wanted to extend my gratitude, your willingness to offer feedback is both valued and useful.

While we are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location we were disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay due to the problems encountered. Please be assured that our management team and I take these comments very seriously and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. It is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to improve.

I am almost certainly you are aware that this is not the level of service we strive to achieve. I apologise for the disappointment on this occasion.

I hope to welcome you back to The Kensington Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Very good hotel with impeccable service all around. We just spent five nights there and found the hotel one of the better ones in London (we have spending many hotel nights in London. The Hotel interior in the lounge is stylish with Asian artefacts and comfortable seatings, the Bar is very nice and inviting. The Restaurant ambience is nice, the food is average. We had a problem the first night with a light beamer facing the room which was corrected to our satisfaction. The room itself is modest in interior but the bahtroom is very nice (the shower pressure beats all Hotels in London I would assume - it is very strong but the pressure cannot be regulated - perhaps something for Mangement to have a look at). The hotel is very quite during the night which was very nice, located in a nice neighbourhood with lots of eateries in walking distance. Thanks to all staff looking after us.

Room Tip: We had 124 which was facing a quite street which we thougth was very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyouslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear joyouslife,

Thank you for sharing your experience of us with the travelling community. We understand it takes time and we appreciate it.
Our design team has recently added some wonderful new additions and I will pass on your praise. Every member of our team works very hard to ensure your time with us is as perfect as possible so while it is disappointing to read that you experienced a problem with a light shining in your room we are glad the matter was resolved satisfactorily and that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your feedback regarding the shower to our maintenance department and the matter will be looked into.

Lastly thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, we hope you think of us again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

You can expect truly top class service at this hotel. All of the staff were both friendly and very attentive.

When a guy in our party returned from a jog, he was greeted by the doorman with a wet towel to cool him down and a bottle of water. We were also offered umbrellas on leaving the hotel if raining outside. These are just examples of the attention to detail that we experienced throughout our stay.

The hotel is just a short walk from South Kensington tube station which is on the Piccadilly line making for convenient access from/to Heathrow Airport. The hotel is in a very nice area.

The hotel is very comfortable and has been beautifully refurbished since we were last there.

Bumped into Ronan Keating the first evening we were there and saw Eddie Jordan the following morning in reception. If it's good enough for these guys..............

We would highly recommend this hotel if you want to treat yourself and be pampered.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear DeclanKerry,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection, for your visit to London. We were delighted to have you as our guest. Every member of our team is deeply committed to ensuring your stay is as perfect as possible and that every detail from our Lounge area to your room and all the other details are to the high standard you expect. It was truly a pleasure to read that our team treated you so well and you enjoyed the decor since our refurbishment.

Lastly thank you for sharing your experience of us with the travelling community, we appreciate your willingness to to take the time.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,068 in London
3,187 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,068 in London
3,660 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,068 in London
3,139 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,054 - ₹ 31,202
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing