We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for a couple of a few nights at the end of March and overall the experience was fine – nothing special – with one reservation as you will see from the cons below. This review is for room 518 (a superior queen) so won’t be representative of the whole hotel. I have tried to be a specific as possible and openly realize I have been a bit nit-picky.

Pros: Location – 5 minute walk from South Kensington station in a great neighbourhood. Price was not bad (good deal) which made the size of the room not so bad. It is small but it was well planned. As you walked in there was a wardrobe area separate from bed area that made it feel bigger – enough place to park up a couple of bags. Bathroom small but enough counter space and there is a portable trolley to store your toiletries. Hotel provides nice toiletries. As everyone knows, for some reason in the UK there are no outlets to plug a hairdryer in it but one in the closet where a full length mirror is available so you are not necessarily bumping into your partner. Provide chocolates at bed time and there is big screen tv. Also was checked in early when we arrived at 10 am.

Cons:
1.The big con: We like to have a cool room at night to sleep in. Second day there we turned on air conditioning….came back to the room in the afternoon and it vaguely smelt like grease…went out for dinner and when we came back it overwhelmingly smelt like grease. In the am was awoken to an overpoweringly sickening smell of bacon. It was then that we realized the vent for the kitchen is beside the intake for the air conditioning so we were circulating cold greasy air into our room. The next two nights we left the windows open, which was better but you still got some of the kitchen smells. I have no idea what one would do in the summer because the room is on the top floor and in the eaves of the building. Did not complain about it because clearly there would be nothing they could have done during our stay(did not feel like moving rooms 2 days in ) but post it here as I know management reads reviews.

2.Annoying things: Inconsistent staff. On check-in and check-out staff friendly, professional and polite. However, struggled many times to open the door with hands full while doorman was somewhere else and waited 20 minutes before being served in the lounge. Cleaning was spotty…please do not fold back the sheets to my bed and leave a dirty menu for breakfast. Replacement of towels was hit or miss – no replacement of face clothes that were used. Iron and ironing board only upon request (though there is room in closet for one). The towel railing in the bathroom was loose, the knob on the shower came away and I struggled to get in and out of the tub (and it was a bit claustrophobic being in the eaves). The bedside tables too close to the bed and because it is at the same level as the bed I banged my head rolling over on it one night

3.Nit-picky things to note that I only point out because the place sells itself as an upscale hotel - a Mr. and Mrs. Smith hotel - but in my opinion did not quite deliver. A broken light in our room went unfixed the whole time we were there. There was a nice welcome letter when we arrived but for someone else. There is a high noon tea but we were served tea in horrible cafeteria style coffee cups as opposed to china cups for tea (ruining the experience). Very hard pillows. Nowhere to store your own items in the fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank statters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Statters,
Firstly I would like to begin by expressing our gratitude for taking the time to write a review. These things take time your feedback as is both valued and useful. We were happy to read that you enjoyed many facilities of our Hotel, including the location, toiletries and chocolates at turndown.
I was disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with your room on this occasion was disturbed by kitchen smells through the vents. We have highlighted the issue with our maintenance team and our service providers and it is being looked into. As to being in a room on the 5th floor in the eaves, we do have a quite a range of room categories that generally cater for most tastes so please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team should you return to London and we can arrange for a room to meet your specific needs.
In regards to your experience of our team here, while I was pleased to read that you found our Reception team friendly and efficient, I was further saddened that you were dissatisfied with other members of our team. Please be assured that our management team and I take these comments very seriously and I would like to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. I would like to assure you that this is not the level of service at The Kensington Hotel and it is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to improve.
Please think of us on your next trip to London we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    523
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
506
1,118
194
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Few days ago went there with my friend to celebrate my birthday. As we had the 2 for 1 voucher, we paid half price, but would definitely pay a full price - the afternoon tea was simply amazing! The vegetarian sandwiches could be more interesting, but still really enjoyable! Desserts were the best I have ever had. And the service was really good - we spent there 4 hours just chatting and nobody gave us any kind of gesture to leave - really nice! Definitely will come again!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamile P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear EmilyLy,

Firstly thank you for choosing Aubrey at The Kensington Hotel to celebrate your birthday. We were very happy to celebrate with you. We were further pleased to read that you so enjoyed your special day with us, your kind words will be passed along to our team here. Lastly I wanted to express our gratitude for you taking the time write a review and sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aubrey or maybe even for a stay at The Kensington Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The location of this hotel next to Old Brompton Road means there is a wide range of restaurants covering all sorts of cuisines and price ranges. The Sth Kensington tube station is also very close and on a good line for getting to popular sites.

Similarly to other reviewers, we enjoyed the downstairs rooms, especially with the fire going on a chilly March day. The breakfast gets a bit boring after a few days as the range of the buffet is small and generally unvarying.

Typically for London the room was small but clean and comfortable. There didn't seem to be anyway of controlling the room temperature but luckily the window could be opened to let in some fresh air and the street was quiet. One thing that really annoyed us was that the bar fridge had sealed compartments for each minibar item, which meant it was impossible to put anything of your own in it. The fresh milk that my wife loves to have with her tea had to go out on the window sill in the luckily very cool outside air.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie7leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Aussie7leagueboots,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience of The Kensington Hotel. Your willingness to offer feedback is both welcome and appreciated. We were thrilled to read that you so enjoyed the lounge and lobby areas, in particular the fireplaces. Your experience of our breakfast buffet, however, was disappointing; our menus are currently being reviewed by our Chefs we hope you will enjoy it further on your next visit.

In regards to your room while we are glad you found our rooms comfortable and clean we were saddened that you experienced problems. Thank you for highlighting the issue you experienced with your air conditioning unit we have highlighted it with our service providers. As to the mini-bar, it is an automated system however small fridges can be provided upon request.

Should you be returning to London we hope you think of us at The Kensington Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is an ok hotel as a place to crash in London. It is not too expensive, ok rooms, in an older building, that is nice in the lobby, lounge and bar, but upstairs looks quite dated and tired. The rooms are ok, but not 5 star. The bathroom I had again was ok, but with a shower in the bath, and a leaking shower screen, it all felt a little tired. It can be noisy, with no sound insulation or glazing of the window in my room, and I doubt in the others, don't expect a peaceful night's sleep. Does the job, probably value for money, ok location for the museums.

Room Tip: Get as high a floor as possible. Avoid rooms looking out onto the Old Brompton Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drivervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Drivervet,
Firstly I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate these things take time and wanted to extend my gratitude, your feedback as is both valued and useful.
I was disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with your room on this occasion and found your room noisy. Please be assured that our management team and I take these comments very seriously and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, it is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to improve. We do have a quite a range of room categories that generally cater for most tastes so please do not hesitate to contact me personally or any member of our team should you return to London and we can arrange for a room to meet your specific needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kensington Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is a gem. Cozy rooms but super well appointed. Clean, service and staff are phenomenal. Restaurant and room service very good.

It is a non-smoking hotel. However on my second night I began to smell cigarette smoke filling my room. I called the front desk and was told that my floor the 4th floor was a smoking floor, even though the hotel advertises that it is nonsmoking. They apologized and offered a complimentary glass of wine, but really should tell guests this on check in.

Other then this little hiccup, the place met my expectations.

Also no on site parking, but if you park in front of the hotel at a metered space the valet will keep the meter full so you don't get a ticket.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor - It is a smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear WHS831,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you thought so highly of Aubrey Restaurant and the service you received from our team. I have already passed on your kind words and the are greatly appreciated.
I was, however, disappointed to hear that your experience was tarnished by the fact our smoking policy was not explained to you. This is not our usual level of service. The majority of our rooms and all public areas are non-smoking however we have designated the fourth floor as smoking to accommodate our guests that smoke. On your next visit to London please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly to ensure that you are not allocated a smoking again.

Lastly I would like to extend our gratitude for your review, I understand it takes time we are grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,820 - ₹ 34,733
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing