We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem... if you stay clear of the smokey floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem... if you stay clear of the smokey floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is a gem. Cozy rooms but super well appointed. Clean, service and staff are phenomenal. Restaurant and room service very good.

It is a non-smoking hotel. However on my second night I began to smell cigarette smoke filling my room. I called the front desk and was told that my floor the 4th floor was a smoking floor, even though the hotel advertises that it is nonsmoking. They apologized and offered a complimentary glass of wine, but really should tell guests this on check in.

Other then this little hiccup, the place met my expectations.

Also no on site parking, but if you park in front of the hotel at a metered space the valet will keep the meter full so you don't get a ticket.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor - It is a smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear WHS831,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you thought so highly of Aubrey Restaurant and the service you received from our team. I have already passed on your kind words and the are greatly appreciated.
I was, however, disappointed to hear that your experience was tarnished by the fact our smoking policy was not explained to you. This is not our usual level of service. The majority of our rooms and all public areas are non-smoking however we have designated the fourth floor as smoking to accommodate our guests that smoke. On your next visit to London please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly to ensure that you are not allocated a smoking again.

Lastly I would like to extend our gratitude for your review, I understand it takes time we are grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,004
    513
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
499
1,101
194
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Quiet area, exceptional service. Rooms are very European (very small by US standards) but well kept. We did experience an annoying fire alarm one night for quite some time due to some moron leaving a shower on while they passed out drunk and which took a very long time to turn off which is why I give 4 stars instead of 5. Staff are exceptionally friendly. Tube station is only 2-3 blocks away. Location is good for quiet area but is a ways from the happening parts of central London like Picadilly and Soho. Hotel was expensive by US standards (around $350 per night, 220 pounds) but not by London standards. I don't think there is a really nice hotel in London that is a good value - all the nicer hotels are expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CedarFallsIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear CedarFallsIowa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of The Kensington Hotel. I appreciate it takes time and were are grateful. I am happy to hear that our staff treated you so well and overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I was disappointed that your experience was marred by the fire alarm, investigating the source of an alarm can, unfortunately, take some time. I hope you was not too disturbed.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We used The Kensington Hotel in February for our wedding day.

We got ready at the hotel, had our meal, hosted a drinks reception and stayed overnight, as did some of our guests.

We have been completely overwhelmed by the service and attention to detail from all the staff members we encountered.

Upon arrival (we were early) we were shown straight up to our suite, which was beautiful. Light, bright and spacious with the most gorgeous bathroom, that included a plasma screen in the bath, and a very large, very comfortable, four poster bed (a stylish one, not tacky). We were very pleased with our room.

The food and service at dinner were both excellent and we received no end of compliments from guests about how delicious the food was.

We had more guests arrive in the evening, where we used the drawing room for a drinks reception. The drawing room is a beautiful space, with open fireplaces and gorgeous decor, very romantic and elegant. The service again was outstanding, no one's drinks ran dry all evening, the staff were on top of everything.

When we returned to our room that evening we were greeted to a complimentary bottle of champagne, candle and rose petals over our bed with a lovely note too. This was such a special touch.

Throughout the planning of our wedding day Kristin and Karthik were very professional and friendly, and made me feel completely confident about the event. They were brilliant. On the day, they were extremely helpful, as were all the staff, with a quick mention to the lovely door man who's name I didn't get, a really nice guy.

Even after the day the service didn't stop, as we had left a gift behind which was swiftly located and sent back to us by recorded mail, of which we greatly appreciate.

As you can probably tell by now we are so happy with The Kensington, it is in a great location, near to Hyde Park and South Kensington tube. We look forward to visiting them again soon and plan to stay on our anniversary (or before if we get the chance) :)

Thank you everyone at The Kensington for making our day so magical.

Room Tip: We booked a suite, which was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear ShellLawrence,
Firstly congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel to celebrate this wonderful day. I was delighted to hear that our team here treated you so well, that you enjoyed your room and that you and your guests had such a wonderful experience with us. I have already passed your kind words on to our team, they are so appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My family and I stayed in the Kensington in August, and what a wonderful experience! The lounge and reception area was absolutely beautiful. An early flight meant we arrived before check-in time, but the staff at the hotel did all they could to ensure that we got into our rooms as soon as possible. It sounds strange, but the entire hotel had the most wonderful smell all the time! It rained for most of the four days we were there but the close proxemity to S.Kensington tube station was ideal as well as the 'Kensington' umbrellas at the door of the hotel which we were free to take out with us each day.

The breakfast was wonderful, we had lots of sightseeing planned which meant we couldn't relax and enjoy all the lovely things that breakfast had to offer. In fact, we didn't really get to appreciate the hotel fully because we were out and about for the most part. It's the kind of hotel that would really be more suited to a couples romantic weekend away rather than a family trip to London - only because you don't want to leave the wonderfully comfortable beds each morning to go sightseeing!

The staff were wonderful, and kept out luggage on the last day until we were leaving for an evening flight, also providing us all with bottled water for our onward journey. My sister was lucky enough to bump into a certain XFactor judge in the elevator which really sums up the exclusivity and luxury of this wonderful hotel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear IMG888,

Thank you so much for your review words, I understand it takes time and appreciate your willingness to offer feedback. I was delighted to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us and that our team treated you so well, you so enjoyed our decor, our restaurant and the wonderful smell.

London is a beautiful city and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit despite the rain. Should you wish to come back either as a family or for a romantic getaway we would be delighted to welcome you.

Kind Regards

General Manager
The Kensington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was my 5th stay at this lovely hotel and hopefully not my last one!

Still my favourite hotel in London, considering location, value for money and comfort.

Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear hirondelle11,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience here at The Kensington Hotel. I realise that this takes time and we apprecicate it. I am so thrilled to hear you continue to enjoy your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,861 - ₹ 43,431
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing