We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Paladar

Paladar
Ranked #21 of 25,047 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 39
Description: Paladar is an acclaimed restaurant, wine bar and bodega, proudly showcasing the best Latin American food, wines, spirits, cocktails, coffee, music and contemporary art. Paladar, in both Spanish and Portuguese, literally means ‘palate’ – referring to taste, appetite and the appreciation of the finer things in life. The restaurant offers a unique sensory experience. The creative cuisine served as a sharing concept offers an opportunity to try a range of authentic flavours, and the all Latin-American wine list has been carefully sourced from around the continent. The restaurant is located at St George’s Circus, just a short walk from Waterloo, Lambeth North, Southwark and Elephant & Castle tube stations. The attached bodega sells a range of wines, spirits, coffee and chocolate while the courtyard garden is ideal for summer al fresco dining. El Cafecito serves coffee, drinks and light snacks from 8am until 3pm Mon-Fri. Lunch is served from 12 noon Wed-Fri Dinner from 5.30pm Mon-Sat.
Restaurant details
Description: Paladar is an acclaimed restaurant, wine bar and bodega, proudly showcasing the best Latin American food, wines, spirits, cocktails, coffee, music and contemporary art. Paladar, in both Spanish and Portuguese, literally means ‘palate’ – referring to taste, appetite and the appreciation of the finer things in life. The restaurant offers a unique sensory experience. The creative cuisine served as a sharing concept offers an opportunity to try a range of authentic flavours, and the all Latin-American wine list has been carefully sourced from around the continent. The restaurant is located at St George’s Circus, just a short walk from Waterloo, Lambeth North, Southwark and Elephant & Castle tube stations. The attached bodega sells a range of wines, spirits, coffee and chocolate while the courtyard garden is ideal for summer al fresco dining. El Cafecito serves coffee, drinks and light snacks from 8am until 3pm Mon-Fri. Lunch is served from 12 noon Wed-Fri Dinner from 5.30pm Mon-Sat.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great food and service , lovely restaurant. Booked again .we loved it . Also very clean and the staff were great too

Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapourtrail-london, Owner at Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Very happy you enjoyed the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Service was excellent: we arrived early and sat down with the sommelier to choose a crisp Argentinian American white with some lovely ethnic snacks.
The menu comprises a selection of varied Latin American dishes tapas style, and we had around 15 plates between 7 of us - great variety of fish, meat and vegetarian. The waiter helped us choose and guided us at to what would make good combinations.
The food was interesting, unusual, tasty and well cooked. The restaurant has plans to expand to the basement and courtyard. We liked it sufficiently that we are booking again to take a party of clients.

Thank Needabreak017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapourtrail-london, Owner at Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thanks very much for your review; we look forward to welcoming you back!
Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Tasty food with both vegetarian and vegan options on the menu. Pleasant friendly service and ambiance. Interesting reasonably priced wine list. This may become one of our regular places to eat.

1  Thank CetP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapourtrail-london, Owner at Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful family meal while visiting London in March. From the menu, we sampled several dishes and all were fresh, tasty and everyone in my family enjoyed all the dishes. If you like authentic flavors you'll love plantain chips with fresh guacamole, shredded beef tacos with pineapple salsa, empanadas, tomato salads with very fresh ingredients, churros with chocolate sauce and homemade passionfruit ice cream. Served tapas style, in small plates for sharing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sibthorp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapourtrail-london, Owner at Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Paladar experience!

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I have walked past this restaurant every day since it opened last year and today we visited at lunchtime. Outside the restaurant the menus were clearly displayed along with the set lunchtime special menu choices at a much reduced price.

We had a warm welcome and as it was not a busy time we were seated away from the other diners so we could have a private conversation without being overheard.A good start.

We were offered a wine list and both menus, a la cart and set menu. The set menu were compelling as for £16.00pp we could have two coures. The very nice touch was the addition of an apertiser which was unexpected and welcome.

Pork belly croutons and salad with vinigret mix as a starter with chicken as a main with
seetcorn salad and the root vegtable chips ( the name I have forgotten).

You can cancel your BA flights and take a bus or tube to Paladar. Although I have never visited I would expect this as being a delicious taste of South America.

Excelent food, service and pricing. The decor was four star. In the evening I can imagine this place buzzing ..... great place. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gin_and_tonic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapourtrail-london, Owner at Paladar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Many thanks for your detailed review. We are happy that you enjoyed it all!

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar also viewed

 

Been to Paladar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing