We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battersea lunch”
Review of Fiume

Fiume
Ranked #5,205 of 25,285 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Description: Fiume (Italian for river), the latest restaurant from D&D London and Francesco Mazzei, can be found on the bank of the Thames within Battersea Power Station. Inspired by the name, Chef Patron Mazzei is taking his inspiration from the rolling hills and pastel-coloured towns of the Italian Riviera, a region famous for its fresh produce. FESTIVE HOURS: Christmas Eve - 11pm - 4pm Christmas Day - 27th December - CLOSED 28th December - 6:00pm - 10:00pm 29th December - 12:00pm - 15:00pm and 6:00pm - 10:00pm 30th December - 11pm - 15:00pm and 6:00pm - 10:00pm 31st December - 12:00pm - 15:00pm and 6:00pm - 10:00pm New Year's Day - CLOSED
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Finally a sunny day so we decided to walk along the Thames and visit this relatively new D&D restaurant. We had the price fixe lunch which included a glass of bubbles. The menu choice was fine and the presentation and taste good, particularly the squid. We also asked the waiter to recommend a cheapish bottle of wine - and he was spot on - not often we have a white wine that both my wife and I agree on. Good food, excellent service and a pleasant ambiance - we will return. Note that it's best to come from the west, from Queenstown Road, though there is a shuttle bus from the entrance on Nine Elms Lane.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrado L, General Manager at Fiume, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Ian M

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave Fiume a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear you had such a great experience dining with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The food is good, although I think they need more items in the menu, very good service and the ambiance in the restaurant itself is really nice. A bit overpriced in some items but I go back regularly.

Thank Hidekierigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrado L, General Manager at Fiume, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Hidekierigh23

Thank you for taking the time to leave Fiume a review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear your feedback regarding service, food and ambiance. We're sorry to hear you feel we are slightly over priced, we are constantly reviewing prices and making menu changes so we will take this on board when reviewing the menu in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

1st time visit, looked nice as we went past so popped in for late lunch on a Sunday.
Nice environment, high ceilings, comfortable tables, good differentiation between the restaurant and bar. Smart decor. Smart uniformed staff with and obvious maitre'd.

Ordered aubergine parmigiana and a calabrese salad. Breads and olive oil were nice. Service was swift, but in fact it turned out to be too swift. The aubergine was cold in the middle. Really cold. But this is the difference betwteen Fiume and other restaurants. I might have got the same dish back again after 2 minutes in the microwave delivered with a surly apology.
Here the staff were mortified, apologetic and sent apologies from the chef. After 10 mins back came a piping hot dish, with the cheese nicely crispy on the top. Fantastic. And no charge. Then came 2 ice creams from the chef as an apology to try. Avocado, with chilli jam and meringue dusting. And no charge for sparkling water.

Attentive staff making sure that they did everything to make sure the mistake once made was corrected. We felt valued, happy and content.

We left very happy and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrado L, General Manager at Fiume, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear grs3101

Thank you for taking the time to write Fiume a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear you left Fiume very happy and enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I can't say enough positive comments about this restaurant. From the moment you walk in, the staff are warm and welcoming and authentically Italian. The ambience is lively, modern and casually chic. The food is fantastic as the trio of top chefs- chef Mazzei, chef Francesco and chef Antonio are always innovating while continuing to push out consistent, amazing dishes from starters to mains. I’ve been for dinner, cicchetti, and drinks numerous times and recently threw a party there. It was amazing. I have never experienced more attentive staff. Every guest received a drink on arrival and the food was scheduled perfectly throughout the evening so it was always hot and looking fantastic as guests continued to arrive at various times. The party was a huge success. The overall experience definitely tops some of the best Michelin star restaurants I’ve been to. So if you’re looking for a great place to grab a small bite and a drink, a full dinner or throw your next party, this place is stellar. Run...don’t walk, to Fiume.

2  Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrado L, Manager at Fiume, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Kimberly K

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave Fiume a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have had such fantastic experiences on every visit to Fiume. We take pride in making all our customers feel they are getting an authentic Italian experience. We were happy to host your party and are so glad it was such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiume soon.

Kind regards
Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Went there on a Tuesday night with my family, thinking that the place would be quiet, and boy were we surprised, the place was packed and super lively. The was some kind of party happening at the bar, the group of 30 odd people were being quite loud and seemed to be having a barrel of fun. I thought it might be uncomfortable for us sitting dinner, but actually sound didn't travel that much thought the venue, so the volume in the restaurant was more than comfortable. (Must remember this place next time for a private event)

The menu is entirely in Italian (except for the name of the meat) so we had no idea what we were reading, but the waiter came over, asked if we had any questions and ended up having to explain the entire menu to us. We couldn't believe how much he new about each dish, and how it was made and served.

The quality of the food was excellent, I particularly enjoyed my lamb chops and my father said his seafood fregola was one of the best dishes he's ever had.

Overall a great night of Italian fine dining that didn't break the bank

3  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrado L, General Manager at Fiume, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear WilliamB

Than you so much for taking the time to leave a review for Fiume on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Tuesday night experience with us and to hear such great feedback about the service and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiume also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Fiume? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing