We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“like a Londoner-Rosa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ossian Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ossian Guest House
Ranked #181 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“like a Londoner-Rosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

i was staying there 9 days . Every morning Ann and John cooked delicious breakfast for me, and talked lots. They are quite kindly . I felt warm to stay there. The room is very lovely , birds were singing out side. I f i have a chance to visit London , i 'm sure I would like to back here!!

Room Tip: french room is very lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa-Chiyo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    50
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
46
72
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

A nice place to spend a few days as well as a longer holiday. Ann and John are really nice and kind people. We lodged in jacuzzi and rose room. Linens, towels, rooms and bathrooms were clean and in order in general. A few details in the rooms should have needed more care, but we tend to considered this as part of old town charm. A few wrinkles on a beautiful woman's face doesn't make her looking like older, just more fascinating.
This bed&breakfast isn't a luxury place nor pretending to be. It's in the heart of town, close to bus stop which gets you to tube station after 3 stops only, but at same time far from traffic noise . Room are romantically furnished and owners make the environment really familiar. Breakfast can be continental or british at your choice, I have nothing to complain about it.
A place I could recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

First off, let me say that this guest house is fine if you aren't looking for luxury. We were staying there for one night to attend a party nearby and as we didn't get in until the early hours & weren't planning on lounging around in the room, it was perfectly fine. The owners are a little bit Fawlty Towers...John was very pleasant, but told us off when we were late arriving (even though we'd called to say so) saying that his wife had had to stay in on a sunny day (erm, sorry, but that's the job!) and his wife Ann was abrupt to say the least. The bed was very comfy & we had a lovely nights sleep. The breakfast was hardly what I'd describe as a Full English, being a sausage, 2 rashers of bacon, half a tomato and a fried egg! Like everyone else says on here, the decor in our room (French Room) was raggedy & felt slightly grubby. But the shower was amazing and like I say, we had a great nights sleep as the bed was really comfortable. So in summary, I'd recommend for a night, but not for a romantic getaway or holiday. At £75.00 for a room in central London, to be honest I wasn't expecting too much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Ossian Guesthouse for more than 2 weeks in 2011 and again for 1 week in March, 2012. It´s almost my "second home" and I like the place and also the friendly hosts (Ann and John) who always make me feel "at home" in London. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is great and you can sleep very well (as it´s a quiet place). I am looking forward to visiting London and the Ossian Guesthouse soon again (with my friends and/or family). Thomas :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomassinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Ossian guest house is a beautiful, warm, friendly place to stay...
Myself and my business partner stay in this guest house on a bi-monthly basis and have always received more then friendly, excellent customer service on each visit.
For my line of work the guest house is perfectly situated close to Central London, 20mins or so by tube, but nestled nicely in a quiet little town in North London.
On all my returns to the guest house, they know me by name and are more then happy to make me a wonderful breakfast, even with my favourite yoghurt.
The rooms all look fantastic, clean and have very comfortable beds (Rose room my personal favourite)

I was shocked to read the last comment placed here as I myself stayed that weekend, overheard the issue raised on my departure, saw the hurt caused to the owners and also heard the apology given by the parents on behalf of thier 'hot-headed' son.
I receive an email after every booking I make, stating the payment methods in advance.

This guest house is a hidden gem, I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a friendly 'like home' place to stay, (with amazing showers)

I will continue to stay at the Ossian Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tailormademac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.2 km away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#446 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#81 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#497 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Roseview Hotel
Roseview Hotel
#233 of 558 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 km away
No photo provided
2.3 km away
Crompton Court
Crompton Court
#180 of 803 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian Guest House

Property: Ossian Guest House
Address: 20 Ossian Road, London N4 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ossian Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing