We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
86
130
59
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
130
59
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom apartmentwell equipped kitchenfrom gloucester road tube stationwildwood restaurantwaitrose supermarketexcellent locationdaily housekeepingapartment hotelliving areathe royal albert halltesco expresswashing machinegood sizeminute walkbath towelsthe natural history museumkensington gardens
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

What an unfortunate time to have booked and stayed at this charming all-apartment hotel for 4 nights from 16 July 2017. Upon arrival at 11.00am, we were told that our apartment on the 5th Floor was not ready, and to come back later at 2-3pm. This was to be expected, but we were certainly surprised to be informed by the receptionist that the lift was not operational, and they were waiting for the parts to be delivered and repaired. They were optimistic that it should be OK by end- Monday...but when we left on Thursday 20 Jul, it was still out of order ! Because of our weak knees, we requested for a possible room change from the assigned ( at our request weeks earlier) 5th Floor to perhaps on the 2nd or 1st Flr, but was told it was not possible.
The only consoling parts of this experience was that when we returned to go up to our room on 16 Jul at 2.00pm, after receiving a call from the receptionist that our room was ready, all our bags were taken-up and placed in our room....and at our behest, the
GM graciously granted us a small discount, as a goodwill gesture for the inconvenience caused. Mind you, this was no small inconvenience, but it was certainly
a huff and puff grind to go up to our 5th Flr room each time, so much so, that we dreaded coming back to this MT HARRINGTON !
However, apart from this, everything else was good. The staff were helpful, and special mention should be made for the untiring efforts of the porter/s, who must have lost quite a few kilos and possibly done some damage to their backs as well. The apartment was spacious, although it looked rather dull and dated. And there were no shortage of power-points, which seemed to be on every wall and every nook & cranny.
The bathroom was inviting, and the water pressure in the shower area was powerful, allowing us to have some delightful showers, after some rather unsatisfactory experiences elsewhere over the past two weeks. The kitchen was also ok, except for the fridge, as there was just no way we could make it colder. One common often neglected item was the lack of coat hangers, either standing ones or those hung on the walls. The only hangar was the plastic white hangar at the back of the bathroom door!
Of course, location is everything, and here, the Harrington, only 100m away from the Gloucester Tube, and within arms reach of 2-3 supermarkets and cafes and
other eateries, and even a bank, comes into its own...do also note that the famous Italian gelato and the much-acclaimed french eclairs is just walking distance away in the direction of the South Kensington tube station... not to mention the two museums or even Harrods or for those more spiritually-inclined, the Holy Trinity Brompton Church.
Certainly would not mind coming back again, provided the only lift in the Hotel is in good working order.

MR S N FOO

Room Tip: Go only if the hotel's lift is operational.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fsngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Mr Foo,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I was happy to read that your overall experience was good at our residence, despite all the issues you have experienced, especially due to the faulty lift. I can completely understand it may have felt like climbing a mountain all the way to the top floor. I am pleased to confirm that this has now been completely rectified and running with no problems.

I have also made a note of your suggestions to install hooks or coat stands in our apartments, which may be very practical especially after a rainy day in London.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we really hope to welcome you back again when in London.

Best wishes,
Simon Sabonaitis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This area may not be everyone's favorite spot in London, but it's definitely ours. We've stayed in two other properties in the neighborhood (one hotel, one managed flat) and this is superior to both in all respects as you get the best of both worlds.

We've stayed here twice (April and June, 2017: technically three times, as one stay was split for a few days by a side-trip) and have no intention of staying anywhere else if at all possible. The high spots:

-Amazing staff: Without exception, from management to housekeeping, you're well cared for by friendly, wonderful people. Front desk staff are cheerful and helpful, porters are quick and efficient. Management float in and out and you're likely to bump in to someone in the lobby on occasion.
-It has a lift (elevator) that is modern and reasonably quick.
-Air conditioning (not to be taken for granted in London!)
-Plenty of hot water and good water pressure
-Refrigerators
-Excellent towels
-Location!!!! A block from the Underground, a block from a convenience grocery, just over a block from a full-size grocery, cafes, coffee shops, pubs, & restaurants within a couple block radius.

The 'dings' are a bit subjective.
-Apartment/room configuration can be quirky. Some kitchens aren't terribly useful while others could easily accommodate preparation of a four course meal. Some bathrooms are barely large enough to change your mind while others are large enough for dancing.
-Sometimes the air conditioning can be a bit flaky
-Some windows can be "revealing" (judicious use of curtains can help, but if you want ventilation this presents a slight conundrum.)
-Beds are comfortable, but pillows can be hit or miss (not horrible, just not amazing.)

Advertised rates are on-par with regular hotels in the area, but you get much more for your money, and the ability to have breakfast and snacks in your room can result in quite a savings. (For the cost of a single breakfast out you can have tea and toast with jam and butter for a week.) All in all, it's simply nice to have options. This is London, so everything is angled towards tea. If you want to prepare coffee they'll make sure you're set up properly.

WiFi is quite good and laundry facilities are available on-site as well, in case you find yourself in need.

I just hope the property doesn't become so popular that I have difficulty booking here in the future!

Room Tip: Ask staff, depending upon the number in your party.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Kit C,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay on numerous occasions this year. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team and they were delighted to hear that all their hard work is being recognised.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again very soon. Please do get in touch with us directly when you are planning your next visit and we will ensure you get our best discounted rates.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Easy check-in and lovely apartment staff. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had all the facilities we needed. Wonderful central location with lots of local eateries and shops yet surprisingly and pleasantly quiet. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kieramartin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear kieramartin97,

Thank you very much for giving us the perfect score.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the location, facilities and staff at our property.

We cannot wait to welcome you again when back in town. Just to remind that all our returning guests get an additional 10% off our best available rate when booking directly.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Staffs were helpful, but not too much greetings when you go out or come back to the hotel.
Location was excellent, just about 2 minutes walk to the tube station. Very convenient for doing grocery and finding places to eat.
Lift was tiny. The space would only allow one person with one big suitcase really!
In the bathroom, once the water was heated up, only warm or very hot water for taking shower. There was no cold water for mixing the right temperature of the water.
The kitchen was the best part. It included everything you might need.
The bed in the bedroom was a bit soft for us. We'd prefer more supportive mattress instead.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cacine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Room was quite confortable, completely renewed, bathroom was very nice and new. The reception has very small place, one elevator for 7 floors... quite busy...
Position is good, 3 min walk from tube station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank scierelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear scierelax,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at The Harrington Collection and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews