We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse room uninhabitable - read my review to find out why.”
Review of The Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Harrington
Ranked #86 of 946 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Hopefully my headline has made you read at least this far – as was my intention – because I need to use Tripadvisor to shout out a warning to as many people as possible who may be thinking of booking the penthouse flat in The Harrington. It’s vital you read on as I want to save you a lot of money!
Seeing this online the flat looked great, and was isolated at the top of the building with great views across London and 2 huge balconies. And it was all those things. Upon getting to the room it was light, bright, very well designed with everything you could need. It was indeed the only accommodation on the 6th floor also, so there would be little or no interference coming from noisy neighbours. The balconies were huge with great views of the London skyline, however, our first bugbear appeared at this point, as there was no seating or table on the balcony – it was empty of any furniture. This seemed mighty tight fisted. They must have spent a fortune on the room, but to not add simple outdoor furniture was a missed trick. So during the day all seemed well. We had our air con on, and the doors open, and although a bit noisy we were looking forward to a quiet night’s sleep. What we didn’t realise was that at night the flat turned into a cathedral of noise – and no, I’m not kidding.
Once we settled in to sleep and turned off the air con and closed the doors, there was a constant loud hum coming from somewhere. It was very noisy and full of vibration – so much so it rattled the crockery and glasses in the kitchen cupboards. I therefore had to remove these from the cupboard to stop them shaking. I also separated the glasses from one another to stop them vibrating against one another, only to find, 5 minutes later, they had migrated back to their staring position and were knocking into each other again. That’s how bad the vibration from somewhere was. So I searched the room and quickly found the source of the noise.
Keep in mind at this point, that this room was isolated on top of the building. And where do you think the lift shaft workings are placed? Yep, on top of the building. But instead of designing a room separate from this, they had incorporated the lift shaft mechanism INTO the room, separated only by a sliding glass security door and a flimsy wall. Now, understanding a bit about lifts I know that acoustics and elevators is a whole area of noise concern for architects, and to sound proof these workings requires a great deal of effort, particularly when it comes to the transmission of vibration through walls. Well, let me state now that this place failed miserably. The vibration was awful – as described – and the noise just as bad. Please keep in mind I stay at one or two hotels weekly, and have done so for 20 years of being a businessman. And this place was the WORST experience of noise I have ever come across, by far. In fact I always carry earplugs for a noisy room, and they always work. But even with earplugs going into my ear canal AND silicon ear buds pressed into my outer ear (over the inner ear plugs) was not enough to supress the noise. And it didn’t matter anyway as the vibration was so bad you could feel it.
So I repeat – are you thinking of booking the penthouse? DON’T. Unless you can sleep in any conditions from a really noisy room through to a vibrating wall, really do not think about coming here.
So what happened next? Naturally I went to reception (it was 1.30am at this point) and luckily the hotel was not fully booked, so we moved to another room. We saw Simon, the manager, the next morning and he moved us out and into a large one bedroom flat, which was excellent on his behalf. I have to say I thought Simon a thoroughly excellent manager. Without his contriteness I would have made a big issue out of this, but he placated my wife and I by being genuinely apologetic and giving us an upgraded flat. However, I felt the penthouse was uninhabitable, and should be removed from listing until it can be sound proofed correctly.
However, another warning is needed, as our flat – right on Harrington Road – was also noisy with road noise, traffic noise and people noise pretty much all night. With too small a bed the whole thing was uncomfortable and we left here a day early as we were too knackered to stay!
So the whole place was noisy really, and totally didn’t suit us. Some hotels are just like this, but I maintain I can put up with them by the judicious use of simple earplugs. But the penthouse was a different animal. You have been warned.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a flat/room away from the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teamtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Teamtango,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am really sorry for the disappointing stay at The Harrington Collection. It is clear from your review that we have failed to deliver high standard of service to you. We always try to do our best to make sure that guests have the best experience at our property and I am sorry that this did not happen on this occasion.

I really hope you will give us another chance when coming back into London. There are plenty of other apartment options that we can offer and we would love you to give them a try.

Best wishes,
Simon Sabonaitis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

What an unfortunate time to have booked and stayed at this charming all-apartment hotel for 4 nights from 16 July 2017. Upon arrival at 11.00am, we were told that our apartment on the 5th Floor was not ready, and to come back later at 2-3pm. This was to be expected, but we were certainly surprised to be informed by the receptionist that the lift was not operational, and they were waiting for the parts to be delivered and repaired. They were optimistic that it should be OK by end- Monday...but when we left on Thursday 20 Jul, it was still out of order ! Because of our weak knees, we requested for a possible room change from the assigned ( at our request weeks earlier) 5th Floor to perhaps on the 2nd or 1st Flr, but was told it was not possible.
The only consoling parts of this experience was that when we returned to go up to our room on 16 Jul at 2.00pm, after receiving a call from the receptionist that our room was ready, all our bags were taken-up and placed in our room....and at our behest, the
GM graciously granted us a small discount, as a goodwill gesture for the inconvenience caused. Mind you, this was no small inconvenience, but it was certainly
a huff and puff grind to go up to our 5th Flr room each time, so much so, that we dreaded coming back to this MT HARRINGTON !
However, apart from this, everything else was good. The staff were helpful, and special mention should be made for the untiring efforts of the porter/s, who must have lost quite a few kilos and possibly done some damage to their backs as well. The apartment was spacious, although it looked rather dull and dated. And there were no shortage of power-points, which seemed to be on every wall and every nook & cranny.
The bathroom was inviting, and the water pressure in the shower area was powerful, allowing us to have some delightful showers, after some rather unsatisfactory experiences elsewhere over the past two weeks. The kitchen was also ok, except for the fridge, as there was just no way we could make it colder. One common often neglected item was the lack of coat hangers, either standing ones or those hung on the walls. The only hangar was the plastic white hangar at the back of the bathroom door!
Of course, location is everything, and here, the Harrington, only 100m away from the Gloucester Tube, and within arms reach of 2-3 supermarkets and cafes and
other eateries, and even a bank, comes into its own...do also note that the famous Italian gelato and the much-acclaimed french eclairs is just walking distance away in the direction of the South Kensington tube station... not to mention the two museums or even Harrods or for those more spiritually-inclined, the Holy Trinity Brompton Church.
Certainly would not mind coming back again, provided the only lift in the Hotel is in good working order.

MR S N FOO

Room Tip: Go only if the hotel's lift is operational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fsngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Mr Foo,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I was happy to read that your overall experience was good at our residence, despite all the issues you have experienced, especially due to the faulty lift. I can completely understand it may have felt like climbing a mountain all the way to the top floor. I am pleased to confirm that this has now been completely rectified and running with no problems.

I have also made a note of your suggestions to install hooks or coat stands in our apartments, which may be very practical especially after a rainy day in London.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we really hope to welcome you back again when in London.

Best wishes,
Simon Sabonaitis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This area may not be everyone's favorite spot in London, but it's definitely ours. We've stayed in two other properties in the neighborhood (one hotel, one managed flat) and this is superior to both in all respects as you get the best of both worlds.

We've stayed here twice (April and June, 2017: technically three times, as one stay was split for a few days by a side-trip) and have no intention of staying anywhere else if at all possible. The high spots:

-Amazing staff: Without exception, from management to housekeeping, you're well cared for by friendly, wonderful people. Front desk staff are cheerful and helpful, porters are quick and efficient. Management float in and out and you're likely to bump in to someone in the lobby on occasion.
-It has a lift (elevator) that is modern and reasonably quick.
-Air conditioning (not to be taken for granted in London!)
-Plenty of hot water and good water pressure
-Refrigerators
-Excellent towels
-Location!!!! A block from the Underground, a block from a convenience grocery, just over a block from a full-size grocery, cafes, coffee shops, pubs, & restaurants within a couple block radius.

The 'dings' are a bit subjective.
-Apartment/room configuration can be quirky. Some kitchens aren't terribly useful while others could easily accommodate preparation of a four course meal. Some bathrooms are barely large enough to change your mind while others are large enough for dancing.
-Sometimes the air conditioning can be a bit flaky
-Some windows can be "revealing" (judicious use of curtains can help, but if you want ventilation this presents a slight conundrum.)
-Beds are comfortable, but pillows can be hit or miss (not horrible, just not amazing.)

Advertised rates are on-par with regular hotels in the area, but you get much more for your money, and the ability to have breakfast and snacks in your room can result in quite a savings. (For the cost of a single breakfast out you can have tea and toast with jam and butter for a week.) All in all, it's simply nice to have options. This is London, so everything is angled towards tea. If you want to prepare coffee they'll make sure you're set up properly.

WiFi is quite good and laundry facilities are available on-site as well, in case you find yourself in need.

I just hope the property doesn't become so popular that I have difficulty booking here in the future!

Room Tip: Ask staff, depending upon the number in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Kit C,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay on numerous occasions this year. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team and they were delighted to hear that all their hard work is being recognised.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again very soon. Please do get in touch with us directly when you are planning your next visit and we will ensure you get our best discounted rates.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Easy check-in and lovely apartment staff. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had all the facilities we needed. Wonderful central location with lots of local eateries and shops yet surprisingly and pleasantly quiet. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kieramartin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear kieramartin97,

Thank you very much for giving us the perfect score.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the location, facilities and staff at our property.

We cannot wait to welcome you again when back in town. Just to remind that all our returning guests get an additional 10% off our best available rate when booking directly.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Staffs were helpful, but not too much greetings when you go out or come back to the hotel.
Location was excellent, just about 2 minutes walk to the tube station. Very convenient for doing grocery and finding places to eat.
Lift was tiny. The space would only allow one person with one big suitcase really!
In the bathroom, once the water was heated up, only warm or very hot water for taking shower. There was no cold water for mixing the right temperature of the water.
The kitchen was the best part. It included everything you might need.
The bed in the bedroom was a bit soft for us. We'd prefer more supportive mattress instead.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cacine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#497 of 1,076 in London
437 reviews
MStay 39 Studios
#679 of 1,076 in London
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
South Kensington
QueensGate Court
QueensGate Court
#389 of 946 in London
3 reviews
Earls Court
Templeton Place Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 946 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 7,466 - ₹ 17,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing