We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of The Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harrington
Ranked #93 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This area may not be everyone's favorite spot in London, but it's definitely ours. We've stayed in two other properties in the neighborhood (one hotel, one managed flat) and this is superior to both in all respects as you get the best of both worlds.

We've stayed here twice (April and June, 2017: technically three times, as one stay was split for a few days by a side-trip) and have no intention of staying anywhere else if at all possible. The high spots:

-Amazing staff: Without exception, from management to housekeeping, you're well cared for by friendly, wonderful people. Front desk staff are cheerful and helpful, porters are quick and efficient. Management float in and out and you're likely to bump in to someone in the lobby on occasion.
-It has a lift (elevator) that is modern and reasonably quick.
-Air conditioning (not to be taken for granted in London!)
-Plenty of hot water and good water pressure
-Refrigerators
-Excellent towels
-Location!!!! A block from the Underground, a block from a convenience grocery, just over a block from a full-size grocery, cafes, coffee shops, pubs, & restaurants within a couple block radius.

The 'dings' are a bit subjective.
-Apartment/room configuration can be quirky. Some kitchens aren't terribly useful while others could easily accommodate preparation of a four course meal. Some bathrooms are barely large enough to change your mind while others are large enough for dancing.
-Sometimes the air conditioning can be a bit flaky
-Some windows can be "revealing" (judicious use of curtains can help, but if you want ventilation this presents a slight conundrum.)
-Beds are comfortable, but pillows can be hit or miss (not horrible, just not amazing.)

Advertised rates are on-par with regular hotels in the area, but you get much more for your money, and the ability to have breakfast and snacks in your room can result in quite a savings. (For the cost of a single breakfast out you can have tea and toast with jam and butter for a week.) All in all, it's simply nice to have options. This is London, so everything is angled towards tea. If you want to prepare coffee they'll make sure you're set up properly.

WiFi is quite good and laundry facilities are available on-site as well, in case you find yourself in need.

I just hope the property doesn't become so popular that I have difficulty booking here in the future!

Room Tip: Ask staff, depending upon the number in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Kit C,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay on numerous occasions this year. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team and they were delighted to hear that all their hard work is being recognised.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again very soon. Please do get in touch with us directly when you are planning your next visit and we will ensure you get our best discounted rates.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Easy check-in and lovely apartment staff. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had all the facilities we needed. Wonderful central location with lots of local eateries and shops yet surprisingly and pleasantly quiet. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kieramartin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear kieramartin97,

Thank you very much for giving us the perfect score.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the location, facilities and staff at our property.

We cannot wait to welcome you again when back in town. Just to remind that all our returning guests get an additional 10% off our best available rate when booking directly.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Staffs were helpful, but not too much greetings when you go out or come back to the hotel.
Location was excellent, just about 2 minutes walk to the tube station. Very convenient for doing grocery and finding places to eat.
Lift was tiny. The space would only allow one person with one big suitcase really!
In the bathroom, once the water was heated up, only warm or very hot water for taking shower. There was no cold water for mixing the right temperature of the water.
The kitchen was the best part. It included everything you might need.
The bed in the bedroom was a bit soft for us. We'd prefer more supportive mattress instead.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cacine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Room was quite confortable, completely renewed, bathroom was very nice and new. The reception has very small place, one elevator for 7 floors... quite busy...
Position is good, 3 min walk from tube station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank scierelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252simon, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear scierelax,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at The Harrington Collection and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

So this is my third stay here and by far the best room and bathroom. My sorrow is that the lift is out and so are my legs which makes life a bit challenging. I'm sure the lift will be fixed, but maybe check that detail when booking.

I'm only staying one night this time also, which is good.

My first trip I stayed for a week and I LOVED it. You're right on the tube, half a block from Gloucester square. And because these are self-catering apartments, it's great that there's a Waitrose and a Tesco in the one block walk. Lots of restaurant choices in all price points. And about a 10 minute walk to the world famous Victoria & Albert Museum. Super location, no doubt.

There is also a Pilates studio in the basement and frequently a deal for a session when you book, just check.

This is a city center location, with its associated noise. And on my last two trips (both summer) families with loud children have allowed those children to stay up and be loud late into the evening...

My last caveat is that the wall art is rather dark or grotesque or tasteless, depending on your choice of words.

Can't beat the price and location combo. And the front desk staff is lovely.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#479 of 1,075 in London
586 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,075 in London
748 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#370 of 1,075 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#410 of 1,075 in London
806 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,578 - ₹ 20,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing