We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“st paul's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA London St Pauls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
Ranked #47 of 820 Speciality Lodging in London
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“st paul's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

For the price of it (around £20/night) it was worth it. The location is very good with bus stop and the underground very near and also if you're not afraid to walk you can reach almost all the sightseeings within 30-45 mins.
Sometimes during the night we woke up to the church bells but generally it's a quiet neighbourhood and the beds are comfortable. Just remember to bring your own padlocks for the lockers in the room!! Showers and toilettes are just outside the rooms.
Staff was nice, breakfast was good (and once we also ate dinner at the hostel which was good too, and cheap) and I could probably go there again if I visit London again someday :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    224
    121
    44
    14
See reviews for
95
28
169
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you're alone in London, do not want to be spending a lot on hotels but want a clean and decent place, and want to make new friends - YHA St.Pauls is your best bet.. It is housed in a building that once was the residence halls of the St. Pauls Cathedral Choir (or so I am told!). The beds looked very clean with fresh sheets and a warm duvet. The rooms are not noisy at all (unless you have a idiot of a roommate), food is pretty decent and so is the crowd.. It is across the street from St.Pauls cathedral, across the river from Tate Modern (accessible via the millennium bridge) and has many restaurants and cafes in its neighborhood. I took the risk of staying here for Christmas as I was all by myself in London - and to my surprise, while most of London was closed included no tube service, this place was alive and kicking!

Things to note - Like most hostels, showers and the loo are common and outside the rooms. However the rooms do have a mirror and a sink within them. They provide lockers but you have to carry your own padlock. There is also a mini locker on the bed so you can lock up small things like phone, wallet etc next to your bed - but that too, needs its own padlock that you must bring. Dont also forget to take your towel along as they will charge rental for that if you request for one.

Room Tip: Pick a room with 6 people or less. The more the number of beds - the cheaper it gets, but also tends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank row_heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the second Hostel International I have stayed in. For the £25 or so I spent for each night, I couldn't expect anything better. The hostel is very clean and quiet. Young tourists come but it could not be considered as a 'social' hostel. People barely get to know each other, unless they sleep in the same room than you do. This is something positive though, because you can enjoy a good night sleep without disturbances of drunk tourists coming back from parties.

Regarding the sleep, the beds are very comfortable, but to enable a maximum capacity, the beds in shared rooms are piled up one on another so that only your upper body can move freely. So the insider tip here: ask for the beds on top for you to stand up in whatever fashion you'd like, and without hitting yourself against the bed above.

I rate this hostel as 'average' because there is nothing particular about it. Friendly receptionist, but a hostel after all. The £4.95 breakfast is decent, with a full English breakfast, muesli, and others.

What I think makes this hostel special is its location. Right behind St Paul Cathedral (which I think looks spectacular), and a few steps from the St Paul's subway station and bus stops for the 7, 15, 23 amongst others, one can easily and quickly travel to anywhere in the city, thanks to its central location.

More: Lockers provided, you can buy the lock for £3 there. Everything else you can pay for (soap, towel,...).

If you plan on going to London for the 2012 Olympics, book your place now as I heard they were almost fully booked.

Room Tip: Choose top beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globalsombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hostel is in a great location. Fact. It isn't particularly cheap, however. For myself and two young daughters in a private room, breakfast and a YHA supplement it came to around ninety pounds. For that I would have liked the rooms to be much better maintained and cleaner. Washed curtains, fixed windows, a carpet that fits etc. The breakfast was good and the service was nice. I'll go back but if it gets any dearer I will think again.

Room Tip: Add in a supplement if you are not a YHA member
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have stayed at the YHA St Pauls several times over the last 6 months.

The facilities and dormitories are okay. Nothing to write home about, but okay. However, there is a fair amount of noise from the street and from the bells from St Pauls (every 15 mins throughout the night). I have been unlucky every time I've stayed and also ended up in a room with a VERY loud snorer - but that's the risk you take anywhere and not a criticism of the hostel.

The last time I stayed there was a homeless man in one of the beds who shouted and swore throughout the night. I didn't go to sleep at all, and I'm not sure that any of the other travelers did either. Because of this one experience, I couldn't recommend this hostel for anyone planning to stay with children.

The shower rooms are mostly pretty unpleasant. They are cramped plastic boxes and pretty much all of them have black mould on the walls (mostly just e.g. behind the door, but some are worse than others). Although extractor fans are present, they don't seem to extract, so the rooms get very close indeed after a shower (I had to open the door and fan some fresh air in before drying myself this (January) morning).

There is a restaurant that I haven't eaten in, but it looks okay and has a varied menu. I've heard food things about the breakfast, although I haven't tried it myself.

The staff are pleasant, but fairly indifferent. There is plenty of information about things going on in London, however. The TV room etc. are quite nice.

Having said that, beds in this hostel are extremely cheap for London.

Last night was awful and I ended up leaving the hostel about 6 am because I didn't want to be in the room when the homeless guy woke up. But on previous stays I've felt that the hostel is less pleasant than most YHA hostels, but represents good value for money in central London.

In short, it's generally okay but isn't somewhere I would consider taking children.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors - there is no lift, but you won't get as much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Thameside
#154 of 820 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#68 of 820 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 820 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 820 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Property: YHA London St Pauls
Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 820 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,006 - ₹ 9,947
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing