We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
Ranked #44 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the second Hostel International I have stayed in. For the £25 or so I spent for each night, I couldn't expect anything better. The hostel is very clean and quiet. Young tourists come but it could not be considered as a 'social' hostel. People barely get to know each other, unless they sleep in the same room than you do. This is something positive though, because you can enjoy a good night sleep without disturbances of drunk tourists coming back from parties.

Regarding the sleep, the beds are very comfortable, but to enable a maximum capacity, the beds in shared rooms are piled up one on another so that only your upper body can move freely. So the insider tip here: ask for the beds on top for you to stand up in whatever fashion you'd like, and without hitting yourself against the bed above.

I rate this hostel as 'average' because there is nothing particular about it. Friendly receptionist, but a hostel after all. The £4.95 breakfast is decent, with a full English breakfast, muesli, and others.

What I think makes this hostel special is its location. Right behind St Paul Cathedral (which I think looks spectacular), and a few steps from the St Paul's subway station and bus stops for the 7, 15, 23 amongst others, one can easily and quickly travel to anywhere in the city, thanks to its central location.

More: Lockers provided, you can buy the lock for £3 there. Everything else you can pay for (soap, towel,...).

If you plan on going to London for the 2012 Olympics, book your place now as I heard they were almost fully booked.

Room Tip: Choose top beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globalsombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    231
    128
    43
    15
See reviews for
101
29
172
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hostel is in a great location. Fact. It isn't particularly cheap, however. For myself and two young daughters in a private room, breakfast and a YHA supplement it came to around ninety pounds. For that I would have liked the rooms to be much better maintained and cleaner. Washed curtains, fixed windows, a carpet that fits etc. The breakfast was good and the service was nice. I'll go back but if it gets any dearer I will think again.

Room Tip: Add in a supplement if you are not a YHA member
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have stayed at the YHA St Pauls several times over the last 6 months.

The facilities and dormitories are okay. Nothing to write home about, but okay. However, there is a fair amount of noise from the street and from the bells from St Pauls (every 15 mins throughout the night). I have been unlucky every time I've stayed and also ended up in a room with a VERY loud snorer - but that's the risk you take anywhere and not a criticism of the hostel.

The last time I stayed there was a homeless man in one of the beds who shouted and swore throughout the night. I didn't go to sleep at all, and I'm not sure that any of the other travelers did either. Because of this one experience, I couldn't recommend this hostel for anyone planning to stay with children.

The shower rooms are mostly pretty unpleasant. They are cramped plastic boxes and pretty much all of them have black mould on the walls (mostly just e.g. behind the door, but some are worse than others). Although extractor fans are present, they don't seem to extract, so the rooms get very close indeed after a shower (I had to open the door and fan some fresh air in before drying myself this (January) morning).

There is a restaurant that I haven't eaten in, but it looks okay and has a varied menu. I've heard food things about the breakfast, although I haven't tried it myself.

The staff are pleasant, but fairly indifferent. There is plenty of information about things going on in London, however. The TV room etc. are quite nice.

Having said that, beds in this hostel are extremely cheap for London.

Last night was awful and I ended up leaving the hostel about 6 am because I didn't want to be in the room when the homeless guy woke up. But on previous stays I've felt that the hostel is less pleasant than most YHA hostels, but represents good value for money in central London.

In short, it's generally okay but isn't somewhere I would consider taking children.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors - there is no lift, but you won't get as much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed in this Youth Hostel quite a few times now. It's right next to Saint Paul's cathedral (I love the sound of the bells chiming the time at night). But that in itself isn't why I go back. My main reason is that, as London Youth Hostels go, it's not a "party hostel." There are plenty of young people there, but plenty of families and older people as well, and I'm well past being able to tolerate drunken clubbers bursting into the dorm at 4.30 am, turning on the light and conducting a voluble conversation in Spanish until 6.30am. This is not to say it's always quiet (you will still get the odd 19 year old who is convinced that the rest of the dorm loves listening to his personal stereo at 1am). As one other reviewer says, you get competition for power sockets in the dorms (but I can tolerate that). Breakfasts have grown slightly more spartan over the years as well (from bacon, eggs and beans to bacon, egg and bean) and the place is shabbier now than it was in 2001, when I first went there. On the other hand, it's relatively close to the places I like to go in London (40 minute walk to the British Library or British Museum; 35 minute walk to Trafalgar Square and the edges of Soho; 20 minutes to Covent Garden Market). And, as I say, you can't really get more London than Saint Paul's.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It is amazing that you can stay so close to such an historic landmark as St Pauls. The hostel is old and there are not a lot of bathrooms (typical english haha) and you have to pay for breakfast (not unusual in England) but it is worth it as the hostel is so central. A short walk to the Millenium bridge and then a stroll along the South Bank to the Globe Theatre and Tower Bridge.

Room Tip: The room I was in you could hear the St Pauls bells going off every 15 minutes but after walking all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventure006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#68 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#133 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#26 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Property: YHA London St Pauls
Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,011 - ₹ 11,478
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing