We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bring back the old 125 trains

Why oh why are the seats on the new trains so uncomfortable. And why so often does the internet... read more

Reviewed today
_tmp57
,
Swansea, United Kingdom
Overcrowded train, not impressed at all.

Well, I hadn't used train travel for a while but decided to book a trip to London with my wife. I... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
marie-claireCardiff
,
cardiff, south wales
Read all 634 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from US$ 16.44
More Info
from US$ 9.93
More Info
from US$ 16.44
More Info
from US$ 9.93
More Info
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
102
60
50
87
335
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
60
50
87
335
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Ryan Air on rails. Very disappointing. Poor heating during the past cold spell. Please can we have British designed trains next time? not Hitachi assembled kit.

Date of experience: March 2018
4  Thank clivesimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

A fairly regular traveller from Swindon to Paddington i.e. at least once a week if not more.

The last few times the journey has been on the new 'IEP800' trains (I think they're called this). Initial childish excitement soon evaporated. Admittedly, I travel in first class (off-peak and very early). Always have work to prepare for meetings etc.

Firstly, I struggle to find where first class is now on the train. Long-gone the old ease of it (98% of the time) being up the front of the train. Now it seems to be all-over-the-shop. Secondly is the ride. Gosh it is wobbly. Cannot write anything down without it seeming to be as if crafted by a four year old. If you want to get up and go to the toilet, feel the need for some harness and climbing gear to help with the adventure. It is genuinely a very poor ride. I'm not saying the old trains were perfect - but at least you got a smooth ride.

Another slight annoyance, is that with the first class carriage being (generally) in the middle of the train that means everyone getting on and off seems to pass thru the carriage. Constantly getting people rubbing/knocking off my papers etc. Just not conducive to a good working environment.

Really doubtful TBH whether it is worth paying the premium for first class now.

Date of experience: April 2018
7  Thank DinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The return train was cancelled on our return journey due to lack of drivers leaving us with a two hour delay. I can understand that these things happen but they should be resolved quickly. After several emails back and forth to claim a refund GWR fail to even acknowledge the train was cancelled. I’ve got sick of explaining the same situation over and over again to a different person via email which takes a month to respond. Terrible service and even worse customer support. It appears this is quite common.

Date of experience: December 2017
5  Thank rob21121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

For a change we decided to catch the train to Gatwick airport instead of crawling round the M25. Got on at North Camp for the hour’s journey - it was a small unit of 3 carriages and it started to get crowded as travellers got on at Guildford and other stations along the line - as you might expect on this service there were a lot of cases in the corridor. At Redhill you can either stay on the train whilst is stops there for 5 or 10 minutes, or you can hop off and join the faster train which leave a few minutes earlier - too be honest it’s easier to sit and wait, as did most passengers. Have to say seats are hard and uncomfortable - wouldn’t have wanted to undertake a long journey sitting in them. Strangely, the guard came round and asked if anyone wanted to purchase tickets but never checked any.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve loved GWR for travelling with and feel a lot of unfair criticisms in he past given their Pullman service and wonderful HST interiors and lot of NR generates problems.

I was looking forward to seeing the next generation in trains on IEP but it was truly terrible. For next generation seats are nothing like as comfortable ; Diesel engines under carriage were sort of quiet but still not a patch on normal carriage and food lack of bar was really disappointing.

Primarily though ; the seats are terrible who tested them?

I can’t face these to get to Cornwall ; this was 2 hour trip ; 5 hours to Penzance? No thanks. I will have to use hideous but more direct Cross Country in future

A regular and erstwhile big fan of GWR.

Please sort out the seats and first class environment ; it’s shocking.

Date of experience: March 2018
7  Thank MAAontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews