We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does the job”
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #61 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 28 June 2012

location was ideal, near king's cross and euston station, as well as near enough to oxford and totenham court road. meeting other people is easy enough, given u r all squashed together, either in dormitories, or lounge or kitchen/dining room.
shower system is crap- u have to press on the knob repeatedly to get hot water and then it stops again after a couple of minutes and u have to press the knob again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shafeek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,176 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

I've been in Southamerica, Mexico & other UK's hostels... And all those hostels are way much better and affordable then Clink78. The reception will take at least 30 minutes if not, up to 2 hrs. To check you in... The rooms are super small and there is no lockers available to have your belongings under lock. The Breackfast is milk, fake orange juice and toasted with butter. There is no wifi available unless you pay £7 per day. No open areas, you can't bring your own alcohol, you can't bring visitors even to the reception area. Recommendation: look for another hostel, they are plenty in London!!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hello!!!

First of all, thanks for leaving your feedback!

We are very sorry that you found long the queue to check-in. It never takes more than 20 minutes at busiest periods but after a long trip, I understand it feels like hours.

Regarding the lockers, there a 3 different areas where you can find lockers to secure your valuables, 2 in Ground floor and one in the basement.

About Internet, we apologized as there was clearly a misunderstanding. There is a fee of just £3 a day for highest quality WIFI connection. We are currently working on getting cheaper rates for the same quality.

Our breakfast is continental and you can find toasts, cereals, a wide variety of cheese and jam, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juice and different types of cereal.

I apologize if you had visitors that couldn't come in. Security is very important for us, that's the reason why we only allow visitors until 8pm in the afternoon. They just need to sign in reception and they are allowed in the Hostel social areas.

Next time pop in to reception. We are here 24 hours to help you with all your queries and any other information you may need :)

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

the Clink78 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Tried to book online 6 months in advance of trip, had to phone up to confirm booking as website provided no confirmation. Still had no conformation number or email until I contacted hostel again a couple of weeks before our trip. During this six months we found out I was pregnant so became concerned about the suitability of a hostel, especially after reading reviews here. I emailed the hostel to clarify the noise and youth group issues raised in reviews but had no reply that same day so we decided to cancel online that same night. The room immediately showed as available online and we booked a hotel nearby instead. Lo and behold we received a charge for the first night on our bank statement and on phoning the hostel have been told we were put down as a no show! I have been asked to email a copy of my bank statement so they can investigate. I will hear from there tomorrow apparently. We shall see! At 6 months pregnant £80 is a lot of money!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atd250981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

-
beds are noisy at night, if you roll over you wake someone up. if you have sex everyone will know.
the drinks are way overpriced at the bar for a backpackers 4 - 7 pound = 10aud
the internet is expensive
you can hear the traffic all night

+
but it does the job. lots of good looking girls staying here.
close to kings cross to get around london.
staff were friendly

overall I would choose somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Hello!

First of all, thank you for leaving your feedback!

We are glad you liked our friendly staff. They are always ready to help!

Apologizes for your "noisy bed". We do regular inspections to check them and replace those that are not in good shape. If you don't mind, please drop us an e-mail to info78@clinkhostels.co.uk with your room/bed number and our maintenance team will have a look onto it.

About Internet, there is a fee of £3 every 24 hours due to the high quality of the WIFI. We are currently working in set up free WIFI that allow the same speed quality.

Regarding the bar, next time ask for the promotions of the day! Cheap, cheap, cheap!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

The Clink78 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The breakfast lacked pretty much everything, also the room had 5 bunk beds and said bunk beds occupied 3/4 of the room

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank JP R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Hello!

Thanks for your time to leave us a review.

We are sorry you found our Free continental breakfast poor. We have actually a wide variety of cereals, jam, cheese, tea, coffee, juice and toasts. Maybe you came down to the breakfast when the service had finished so you couldn't find much.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

The Clink78 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#60 of 949 in London
660 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 949 in London
1,244 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#25 of 949 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#20 of 949 in London
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: ₹ 1,061 - ₹ 6,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing