We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #73 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Okay for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here for one night after returning from a Top Deck tour. It is recommended by Top Deck so I stayed as it was easy and tour companies usually have good places to stay.

I paid for a 10 person dorm in the female area as it was the cheapest option for one night. I paid 18 pounds for the night and barely slept a wink. The dorm was full and there were people coming and going all night which is fine if there was a small light on the bed which worked. The light on my bed didnt and I felt bad turning on the main light when it was 5am when I was leaving.

The bed was hard as a rock and every time I rolled over it made a noise as did all the others in the room. It was impossible to sleep.

There was only two power points which made it impossible to charge anything as everyone wanted to use it.

The store box above the bed was good. There was little place to fit luggage - luckily I only had an over night bag which fitted under the bed. A pack would not fit under the bed.

The staff were nice although the lasy who served me spoke okay english but was hard to understand. She was new and learning the ropes but did a really good job and was helpful.

It is lacking free wifi. I went around the corner to McDonalds to use theres for free to send an email. Why pay when you dont have too.

I would say this place is okay but pick somewhere better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Amelia S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!

We have a security team patrolling the corridors to maintain noise levels. Please feel free to come and speak with one of our friendly team, we have a 24 hour reception, if you have any issues or queries.

We have recently lowered our wifi prices, now it is only £3.00 for 24 hour unlimited good quality access.

We hope you enjoyed your Top Deck tour and hope to welcome you back at Clink78 again soon!

Kind regards,

Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    694
    464
    193
    174
See reviews for
112
213
557
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Everybody there was so kind and always smiling. Decoration was also amazing, loved the court computer room. Good hostel overall, only missing the free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear sazii,

Thank you for your review. Our team here at Clink78 really appreciate your lovely feedback!

Enjoys your travels, looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed as a group in November 2011 and checked in quite late at night. We had basement rooms, people were stood right outside the window but the room was boiling hot so we couldn't shut it. My fiance's room had bars across the windows even though his room was ages away from an exit and 10 people in a room that was big enough for about 4, explains why they are called 'prison rooms'! There was music thudding through the walls, maybe I should have expected this from a hostel but having stayed in one in Berlin that was fantastic and for a similar price to this, it was a bit of a shock.

My fiance and I left about an hour after arriving and luckily got a room at a Premier inn which was nice but added an extra £117 onto our trip... Even some of our group who didn't get back until 4am (drunk) commented the next day that it wasn't great and they'd only slept there for about 4 hours. I'm sure some people aren't bothered about this kind of hostel but definitely not for me!

Room Tip: Don't choose a basement room! (the cheapest rooms I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very expensive for what it offers. There was no option for a one person room, so you are force to pay for at least two people if you want to have a room on your own.. Which I found outrageous, forcing your clients to pay more than they should. The room was ok in terms of cleanliness, but very small.. it was depressing how small it was actually.. the lighting in the room was below average: there was a window, so during the day there was light in the room, but at night the light was inadequate because the light bulb was not powerful enough (the light was yellowish). A very good location to move around as it is very close to the train station, I give them excellency on this one. However, the hotel was full of teenage tourists -mainly germans- who were not respecting the rules of quite hours. very annoying if you have things to do in the morning and have to wake up early. Generally the insulation between rooms was good, but you could hear slamming doors and chatting on the corridor all the time. The breakfast was not satisfying. I would expect to see something more having paid so much money. They only had cereals and bread with butter/marmalade. a bit of cheese and ham would not harm! Also, there is automatic light in the toilette and the showers. When I went to take a shower, the automatic light in the bathroom turned off on its own (because I was in the shower and there was no movement in the room where the light sensor was. Another trick to make you have really short showers so that they can minimize the expenses on water. Another thing that I found annoying was that I had to carry my towel, bed sheets etc downstairs when I was checking out. Again, the clients pay so much money and they cannot afford taking the bedsheets from the room? I had luggage to carry, and I had to carry the sheets as well... Seriously?? The people at the reception were quite nice and helpful and they ordered a taxi for me when i needed it. They also made sure that the taxi comes as quickly as possible, as I was in a hurry. I really appreciated that. generally, i loved the service and the staff (they were very nice), but the experience from the hotel per se was average, if not below average.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonPriesterJohannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear VonPriesterJohannes,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

We really appreciate your kind comments about our helpful, friendly team :)

Dormitories are booked by bed, however private rooms are booked per room. Some privates you can have between 1-3 people. Which in another light can work out a lot cheaper to share a private room.

We do have a lift to help bringing your luggage down at check out time, we also have a 24 hour reception team. Feel free to come and ask for assistance at any time and our team will be happy to help with your luggage :)

You described Clink78 in your review as a hotel, in fact we are a hostel. We do ask guest to bring down their linen at check out time but this is quite common in most hostels.

I hope you enjoy your travels! We hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Booked a week in advance.. no problems checking in, they didn't lose my booking so i was happy after flying from australia and having a 14h connection which i spent in the shanghai airport. So was nice to get here settle in and a place to sleep.
They have free brekkie in the morning from 07:00-10:00 and they also have free wifi now.
I stayed in a 10 bed dorm, it was clean. Toilets/showers were clean. The girl at reception was very nice to me on arrival and gave me a briefing about where everything was.

About a 20minute walk down to Thames River which is where everything is pretty well situated in terms of sight-seeing. You can also get a pass for the bus/tube if you don't want to walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattheww23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Matthew,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a positive review!

We hope to see you around soon!!! :)

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Clink 78 Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#53 of 791 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#37 of 791 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#29 of 791 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 791 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Property: Clink78
Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,447 - ₹ 7,576
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing