We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your typical pub food with an amazing view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doggett's Coat and Badge

Doggett's Coat and Badge
Ranked #2,084 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: You will find Doggett's Coat and Badge in South Bank, London within a short stroll of Blackfriars Bridge, Stamford Street and Blackfriars Road - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.Doggett's Coat and Badge is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
501 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Your typical pub food with an amazing view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just across St.Paul's, it has a wonderful view over the river.
Our experience was quite pleasant, contrary to other reviewers. Very friendly staff, good old tradional English pub food (sausages & mash, beef pie) that came relatively fast. Good desserts and an overall bill of £51 for 4 people (no wine/beer).

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjm_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    201
    106
    40
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We will never go to this place again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was with a party of 13 that had pre booked to have lunch at this restaurant. We arrived at 1pm and ordered our food at 1.40pm. After taking our orders we were informed that one of the starters was no longer available and that there was a large party upstairs so our food would be 40 - 50 minutes because we had ordered a bit late and the kitchen could not cope with all the orders and the party upstairs, disgraceful given that we had pre booked.

An hour later the starters arrived, not all at the same time but we were so hungry the first person had finished theirs before the last person got theirs. Some of the plates were cleared from the table and some just left in front of us for another half an hour before the main courses arrived. The three chicken roast dinners had to be returned as were stone cold, we were asked if we wanted them heated up, we said no we would like a plate of fresh hot roast dinner please. They had no more chicken so we settled for the beef. The roast beef dinners were hot but all the vegetables were rock hard. One person ordered a well cooked steak that came out medium rare and his peppercorn sauce arrived 15 minutes late. The only meal fully eaten was the Sea Bass the rest were quite frankly very very poor in both presentation and quality.

We complained several times about the waiting but the poor waiter just kept apologising and saying he was doing the best he could. At no point were we offered some break or olives, nothing to keep us going. We believe the waiter was waiting on tables and working in the kitchen! There were plates of food left in the bar area that had been taken from people's tables but not through to the kitchen. We noticed at least two other tables return their food because it was cold. There were only two people waiting on tables and several people were turned away from the door, not because there was not enough tables but because the kitchen could not cope with the food orders.

We politely asked to speak to the Manager who said she had been working downstairs and no food had been returned there so she was not aware of any problems. after some discussion she agreed not to charge for any of the main courses. We got the bill for the starters and drinks and left.

Awful place, will never go back. walked along the South Bank and had our deserts and coffee in another lovely restaurant who could not do enough for us.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weloveourholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Avoid this place at all costs! We had a dreadful meal that took two hours to arrive. A third of our party had cold food which we sent back - to be replaced with undercooked but hot food! The fish was truly awful and rather ubndercooked. The service was poor and extremely slow - it seemd like our waiter was also doing the cooking!! The place was also not kept clean - plates left all over the place rather than being taken to the kitchen which made us doubt their food hygeine. The pub didnt charge us for any of our mains, but I woudl NEVER return! We went to The Wharf along South Bank for dessert which was lovely!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H0nest2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steer clear of the Doggetts - this place is terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

DO NOT EAT AT THIS PUB! We booked a table a month in advance for 13 of us to celebrate my sister’s birthday with Sunday lunch. After ordering our food, the waiter told us that because there was a party of 50 in the upstairs restaurant, we would have to wait for about 50 minutes for our starters! We did question why they had taken our booking if they thought they would not be able to cope. Although the waiter was apologetic, no offer of free drinks was made for while we were waiting, or even any bread brought over. As we sat starving, the waiter said he was going into the kitchen to make the starters himself! They eventually arrived and were fine. Then we sat again for ages, with our empty plates still in front of us, watching as other people in the restaurant sent back their meals for being cold – it didn’t bode well. Sure enough, our mains arrived and were all – that is 13 meals – cold, in some cases uncooked, and largely inedible. A few of us struggled through the cold food (we had been in this restaurant for around two hours by now and were hungry!) while the rest asked for completely different meals – the worry of food poisoning from the slightly warm chicken dishes was an issue. A request for some bread was met with surprise and eventually a few slices were brought over - not enough for a table of 13 starving people. Meanwhile, the food that we had sent back sat stacked up on another table at the end of the restaurant – lovely! The new main courses arrived - hot this time, but with tough meat and uncooked vegetables. Eventually, we called for the manager and she agreed that our whole experience had been unacceptable and knocked the mains off our bill. This place is absolutely terrible and there is no excuse for this kind of service and standard of food. We couldn’t wait to leave. My recommendation? Do not go near the Doggetts Coat and Badge.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lonesomecowboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“poor food and service.Avoid .There are much better places on the south bank”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Had been passed doggets many times on visits to the city and on this occasion decided to venture in.Wished I had carried on walking.When asking for menus I was told they were all on the table (which they weren`t ) and when i returned to the bar,even the barman struggled to find one.Whilst my meal was to be fair ok, my wife`s chicken and chorizo salad was plain awful.The chicken was rock hard and possibly microwaved and the lettuce looked like it had been sitting in the sun all day.Service was slow and very solemn.There are far better places along the south bank.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank basildonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doggett's Coat and Badge also viewed

 

Been to Doggett's Coat and Badge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing