We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!!!”
Review of Stratford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stratford Hotel
Ranked #441 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL!!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed for one night whilst going to a gig at the O2. This hotel was awful. Was given the tiniest room in the hotel, but it seemed we were the only ones staying there. The money included breakfast but this wasnt actually offered. Got into the room to find that it was dirty - didnt want to put our stuff down!!! There was a huge brown stain on the carpet and our bed had very old looking army covers on it. Man on reception was very rude when we arrived and when we left. Check out is at 10! It said 12 when booking. NEVER STAY THERE! Worth spending more on a different hotel.!

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    14
    18
    47
See reviews for
31
20
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here from 07 to 09 October 2011, a simple weekend with my girlfriend. Initially the staff was very very kind, so they gave to me ROOM N° 1,downstairs: it was the WORST room I've ever seen! There was 5 beds (yes, five), a dirty little fridge and a broken microwave, a little window impossible to close (the room weas cold), a minimal and nasty bathroom and there were mouse trap behind beds....So I asked for a room upstairs and they said that it was possible only starting from the next day. Depressend, we slept there: the bed was ok (really good mattress) but there were sometimes noises from the street cause the windows remained open.
The following day we have changed room: they gave us ROOM N° 18, at first floor. It was a great room!!It was clean and comfortable!There was freash smelling everywhere, the shower was big and clean and there weren't mouse trap!!!!From Hell to Paradise in less than 24 hours :-)..So, if I had room n°18 from the beginning the vacation was perfect cause the hotel is at five minutes from the bus stop for Stansted airpoirt, from underground and a big shopping center.
I made an average of the votes of first and second room and it was sufficient more and less. Room n°1: horrible. Room n° 18: very good.
If you have to book made an explicit request: upstair room..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I've booked a room (just one night) and got my confirmation for that. Later the hotel said the confirmed rate (70 Pound) was "wrong", the "right" one should be 155. They wanted me to book a higher rate. If I would insist on the confirmed rate, "I wont have a convinient stay" in the hotel...
DONT GO THERE!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pongi1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel was OK but the first room we were given was too small. We got transfered to a bigger room but the water (shower) was WAY TOO HOT! We repeatedly told them to repair it but the engineer keep on saying its OK. Only on the day we left, they said they are reparing the hotel.

The staff was friendly. Also, the TV receiption was not great and the digital channels was not set up by default! Breakfast was just toast with jam and/or butter and/or cereal. Drinks were hot cocoa or coffee. There was free wifi but we didn't use it.

Also, the room we stayed in was quite hot and when opening the window, there was a faint smell of gas...

Location was convient with Stratford library and Stratford station nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

It is a terrible hotel( if you can call it that) My friends room had mice in it. The radiator would not turn off in my room, it was like a furnace all night. I could not open the window as there was a generator outside that was on all night. Just a terible place to stay. We all agreed that we could not have slept in the rooms unless we had had a few beers befroehand. DONT GO THERE

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viallisix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#455 of 1,067 in London
799 reviews
Epsilon Hotel
#582 of 1,067 in London
183 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,067 in London
1,158 reviews
London Olympus Hotel
#342 of 557 in London
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Hotel

Property: Stratford Hotel
Address: 43 Romford Road | Stratford, London E15 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,267 - ₹ 7,628
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Stratford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing