We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited again but not so good as last time!”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #128 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Visited again but not so good as last time!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here overnight while visiting the Scott exhibition at the Natural History Museum. Still very handy for St Pan but not so easy to find now. The hotel reception is no longer on the front on Euston Road, that is now the hotel restaurant. The hotel entrance is actually round the side on Belgrove Road. There is only a small sign on the wall so it is not actually easy to see. That could be improved really. It's not obvious that the restaurant that is at 27 Euston Road actually belongs to the hotel so you think you've missed it! The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and modern. Had the suite last time and a normal double room 211 this time. The room and bathroom were great but no curtains!!!!! There was a mesh curtain over the window which is see through when lights are on - alright it's round the back of the building but you can't tell if anybody is around in the windows opposite. And what's more when you go to bed you are in the light. And depending when sunrise is, that's the time you are woken up. Please put curtains up, it's ridiculous. It's such a lovely place to stay otherwise. The continental breakfast was very nice. Thank you.

Room Tip: Don't have room 211 as it has no curtains, unless you like the light at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 21 May 2017
Dear Markaz

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the cleanliness and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "staff are friendly and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    849
    154
    65
    34
See reviews for
597
970
170
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I really cant say how much I would recommend this hotel!! About 3 mins walk from Kings X, and the nearest tube entrance about 20 seconds! Check in very quick and friendly, staff always said hello/good bye when you were entering/leaving the hotel.

The room was great, the bed very comfortable, tv and internet service excellent, and the bathroom, amazing, best shower I have been in.

Complimentary still and sparkling water in the room, along with espresso machine, and real milk!

Price was reasonable with online discount through booking.com so good value for us, not sure about other rates. Bar was very expensive (even by London prices) so we only had one drink there, but nice.

Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel, 4th floor or above to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 21 May 2017
Dear Northumberland_UKJen

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent several days at the Megaro on a Valentine's Day getaway. Tucked behind a bank on a side street off busy Euston Street, the Megaro was a pleasant surprise. Eco-friendly, and well appointed, the boutique hotel has open, airy rooms, with free broadband Internet and a large bed. The bathroom was uncharacteristically large and the room was clean and well laid-out.

The staff (mostly non-UK Europeans) were friendly and eager to assist. There is also a fine restaurant in the hotel, which just opened a week ago. The food there was excellent, but priced accordingly. There are many pubs, restaurants, and fast food joints nearby as the hotel is right across the street from both the Kings Cross Underground station and the St. Pancras railway station. This hotel is a great value and a good alternative to 4 star properties that would cost at least 50-100 pounds a night more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 21 May 2017
Dear provoshane

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "staff were friendly and eager to assist." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious meals served in the restaurant. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Nice looking hotel, decent price for London, very friendly staff.
The room was not as big as I expected, but it was very modern and had everything you needed, coffee machine, fridge, tv with music player and internet, safe, and big wardrobe. Lovely bathroom, great shower (only exception was that the stones had come loose from the floor, quite annoying) Had a great view of Kings Cross Station/St Pancras (as a Harry Potter fan, this excited me a bit too much!) windows were a bit grubby so so couldnt see that great, but it is on the main road.
2 mins walk from fast food and mini market

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodora V, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 20 May 2017
Dear Bgirl28

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay, and that you found our reception team to be helpful and friendly. Highly appreciated!
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Good value hotel close by to St Pancras to catch an early morning train. It really is hidden - I walked around the block before I noticed a small sign near a restaurant door. A sort of funky hotel , including the restaurant. so many small things made me chuckle - when I arrived it seems every drawer, closet door, and even the window (it was raining) were open. Things were placed in the wrong places - toilet paper, computer keyboard, hotel guides, etc. Very comfortable bed. I think the room I had was a special access room - very big bathroom, and 2 double beds in separate areas - one of them came out of the wall, as if from a bookcase! 2 TVs also.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 21 May 2017
Dear lozmum

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,745 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,986 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#384 of 1,069 in London
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,757 - ₹ 23,415
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing