We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel - poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Days Night Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Days Night Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
south oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a very enjoyable night’s stay at the Hard Days Night hotel in 2009 and when my husband received VIP tickets to a Liverpool match at Anfield for a special birthday we booked a two night stay at the hotel. The location is fabulous, just around the corner from Matthew Street and the Cavern as well as Liverpool One and within easy walking distance of the Albert Dock. We love the Beatles theme and the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. However, on this occasion we had some disappointments. On our return from Anfield on Saturday evening there were no towels in the room. We wanted to shower before going out for the evening and rang reception to request some towels. We had to ring again an hour and a half later as no towels were forthcoming. This time they arrived within about ten minutes.

We had booked breakfast for Sunday morning in Blakes restaurant. The restaurant itself is very pleasant but both the staff and the quality of the food was disappointing. We were shown to a table and simply told to help ourselves. The choice was fairly limited but adequate. Eggs and toast were not freshly prepared so the eggs were solid and the toast soggy. We had to ask to have fresh coffee and although there were plenty of staff around no-one cleared our dirty crockery and cutlery.

When we checked out we were asked whether we enjoyed our stay. We told them that we had been disappointed by some aspects but the receptionist did not enquire as to what they might be.

We accept that sometimes things just go wrong and probably would stay at this hotel again but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlnharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to revue us. I am sorry you felt let down by the standard of food and service at Breakfast and you can rest assured I will raise your comments with the team in Blakes. I was also pleased that you would choose us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    688
    306
    134
    89
See reviews for
421
1,363
68
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just come home from a fantastic stay at the hotel. We could not fault any part of our stay.
The rooms are wonderful , beds massive and so comfortable
From the bar to the restaurant all the staff were friendly and helpful and most importantly most seemed local. Wonderful to hear Liverpool accents.
The food in Blakes restaurant was excellent value for money, one of the nicest meals we have had in a long time.
I would recommend this hotel to all ages if you don't enjoy it then it is your own fault
Cannot wait to go back and hopefully stay for longer

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jderbylfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thankyou for your very positive report on our hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your entire stay and hope we have the pleasure of your company in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you love the Beatles this is the best place to stay as you are bang in the middle of the well known places to visit such as Mathew street,The Cavern (check out Jon Keats who is one of the best Lennon vocalist i have come across),we paid £220 for two nights in a deluxe double room (deal on line)and stayed in the Bob Dylan room very nice but i wouldn't have paid the original asking price (around £400) but saying that i did enjoy our stay there and staff are friendly and helpful,the only problems we came across are the noise in the early hours at 6am we had bins of bottles been emptied followed by banging lorry doors and what sounded like street cleaners around 7 am (we were in the middle of the hotel not at the front) and one for the girls if you want to get your make-up right i suggest you bring a light up make up mirror(unless you want to look like coco the clown )as it is very dark in the rooms even my partner used it so he could see his face to have a shave!!!!!!but i would come back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeldustLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this hotel with my boyfriend as part of a Beatles themed weekend to Liverpool. I was initially worried about parking, knowing the hotel did not have a car park. However, the city car park was easy to find and in a short walking distance from the hotel, we were able to leave our car there throughout our whole stay for a discounted price, and there are loading bays outside the hotel if you don’t fancy walking with your luggage.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff were generally friendly (a special mention to the staff at the cocktail bar, they were only too happy to mix the most unusual cocktails on the menu for us and present them fantastically). Breakfast was quite pricey to say it was just a standard buffet style, however it was satisfactory and for ease worth paying for! The room we had was a deluxe; it was big, clean and very modern in decor which we loved. We did manage to have a look in another room, they are all individual, I definitely preferred ours!

The only thing that disappointed me was the lack of Beatles theme. All the pictures around the hotel were Beatles ones and at breakfast I could just about hear some Beatles music. I understand that it is done with taste and class, which most people seem to prefer, I would have personally preferred a bit more fun injected into the theme. However, if you are looking to theme a break around the Beatles and don’t mind spending a little extra, this lovely hotel is the obvious choice!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a weekend in the the Hard Days Night Hotel when visiting Liverpool for a match. We had visited the bar of the hotel before and had liked that so hoped the rest of the hotel would be more of the same.
The room we had was fab - large, spacious with Ringo theme. Lovely bathroom with Beatles themed soaps etc. Large, soft white towel (often replaced in other hotels with worn out over washed towels) bathrobes and slippers. We even had a walk in wardrobe with tea and coffee facilities and bottles of water. The beds were very comfortable and while I was worried about noise in such a central location I slept like a baby! It seemed a shame to have to leave this lovely room and go out and visit the city but we did!
The staff both at reception and in the bar were pleasant and helpful both at check in and departure even assisting with online check in for our airline. On the whole a very positive experience - I will def go back.

Early booking is advised as it is very popular!!!

Room Tip: Our room was fine and we were on second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryaneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,559 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Property: Hard Days Night Hotel
Address: Central Buildings 41 North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,940 - ₹ 17,009
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel Liverpool. A'Fab Four'star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike.A superb Wedding and private party hotel. There are places to remember and then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing