We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic hotel - huge rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - huge rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just had two nights here on an amazingly good deal thanks to the Mr & Mrs Smith 2-for-1 offer with the Guardian and Observer. But would have stayed even without the offer, after reading reviews of the place. And was not disappointed.

I travelled with a friend and we each had a Master Double on the third (top) floor. The rooms were enormous and palatial - jaw-dropping in fact. Mine had a huge and comfortable double bed, two leather arm chairs facing a large flat screen tv, a table and two chairs, a desk and another chair and acres of space in between. A large and modern bathroom as well. There were also tea/coffee making facilities and a little music centre - which oddly played cassettes! But who has cassettes these days?

There were one or two minor design flaws, like the uber modern and very shallow basin in the bathroom - so shallow you couldn't help spilling water on to the bathroom floor when washing. And the tap was at such a low angle that it was impossible to fill the kettle - had to fill up from the bath tap instead. One other problem: the air conditioning/ heating in my friend's room was faulty so the hotel provided her with an electric fan heater (it was a cold weekend), but that didn't work either.

But apart from these things we really loved the place and would stay again. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel's location is perfect - very near the docks (and a lot of the museums and art galleries) and the Liverpool One shopping area, but still away from areas that are noisy at night. It's in a grand building (a former bank) and is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Master Doubles are the biggest and most impressive rooms. Always ask for one on the top floor to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at 62 Castle St, its always pleasing to read that our guests enjoyed there stay and would recommend us to others.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again
Kind Regards
Emma Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    225
    96
    35
    28
See reviews for
40
464
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Staff excellent and room comfortable,compliments to Mark at the bar in particular. We used a voucher and despite initial difficulties in getting a date Emma came to our rescue with later alternative dates. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear KeithandJune
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and provide such positive feedback on 62 Castle St. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and I am pleased you were able to experience our high standards during your stay. I will ensure I pass this feedback onto Mark and the team.
Kind Regards
Emma Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I wrote this email to the manager two weeks ago I'm still awaiting a reply, obviously customer feedback is not important!

To Whom It May Concern,

I am writing to make a complaint about the absolutely awful stay my fiancé and I had at your hotel several weeks ago. She had booked a room as a little getaway for us and to top the weekend off I was going to propose. It was supposed to be a weekend to remember, it was..for all the wrong reasons.

Check in was fast; Linda was a real help telling us about local restaurants etc. The room was ok, it was lovely when we first opened the door however upon looking closer in the room we found rotting grout, chipped tiles and rotting window sills. We didn’t say anything as apparently you were full.

We decided to eat Merchants, another mistake, our food was ok, a little flavorless, however service was abysmal. When we complained to the manager he was rude, obnoxious and obviously had better things to be do. Not only did he disagree with us he actually argued with us saying we were wrong (which is surprising as I didn’t see him throughout the night until we asked to see him). It wasn’t the best impression of the restaurant.

Fortunately, the night porter Sam was a little more optimistic. He was very helpful getting us milk and teabags, of which there weren’t enough of in the room, a great representative of your business. Please give him our thanks.

Unfortunately our good service didn’t last, as breakfast was absolutely shambolic. We stood and waited for 15 minutes at the bar, looking for a member of waiting staff that never showed up. We had to knock on the kitchen door. We were directed to a table and again had to wait another 10 minutes until someone came near us. We were the only two in there, so the waiter couldn’t have been busy.

When breakfast did come it was awful, low quality meats, cold toast and bitter coffee. When we complained to the waiter, he was a tall gentleman, polish I think, he just shrugged it off. No offer to replace the items or even an apology.

Checkout was less than impressive than check-in. I didn’t catch the receptionists name (glasses long black hair), however she did not smile during the whole process. It seemed like we were a burden to her. We didn’t get asked how our stay was otherwise we would have complained and to be honest she didn’t look like she cared anyway.

There are a few gems in your hotel unfortunately the bad far out-ways the good and you go away with a bad impression. This was a truly appalling experience and it ruined what was supposed to be a special weekend.

I look forward to your response.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnm_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Johnm_1986
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Guest feedback is very important to me, I did not receive your email so apologies that you have not been responded to. My apologies that you did not receive the service standard that we usually pride ourselves on delivering. I would like to discuss these matters further with you and would appreciate it if you contact me directly.
Kind Regards
Emma Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I frequent Liverpool often and this was my second stay at 62.
The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.
The rooms are always ready on arrival and although they may be a little dark it is in keeping with a GradeII listed building...........
The beds are very comfortable, the pillows divine and the sheets are extremely clean and crisp.
This Boutique Hotel is in prime location for sight seeing and local attractions, with all the best restaurants and bars within walking distance.
If your looking to add a little luxury to your stay, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Opt for a master double. They are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 62 Castle St, it is always pleasing to read our guests have had a pleasant stay and have enjoyed the facilities that we are proud to provide.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Emma Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having stayed at the hotel previously in a lovely spacious room, I made sure I booked a Master Suite rather than a House Suite which was great value at £109 for two nights thanks to a Mr & Mrs Smith/Guardian 2-4-1 offer. The hotel mistakenly put us in a House Suite which whilst OK (spacious, big comfy leather armchair, nice big bed - but a bit dark and had windows that wouldn't open) wasn't what we'd booked. When we highlighted the mistake they sorted it out and allowed us to choose one of three alternative rooms (Master Suites this time!). The new room (302) was lovely, loads of space with a lounge area that would seat 4 people and nice windows and a view over Castle Street and Derby Square. Location is ideal for docks area or city; Liverpool One and the MetQuarter are just a short walk away if shopping is your thing. The Merchants Bar and Restaurant is good value for good quality food, but lacks atmosphere. Needs a touch of music! Only quibble would be that there are quite a few stains/damp patches appearing in the plaster work both in rooms and the public areas which makes the place look a bit unloved. The staff are very friendly and efficient and check in is easy and pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a Master Suite for bigger spaces with more light. Rooms at the back overlook a dark narrow st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Property: 62 Castle Street
Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,308 - ₹ 24,720
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing