We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed overnight following my son's wedding.
The room was clean and basic.
The bed was rock hard, which didn't bother me or my wife but I imagine many would find it unsuitable.

The bar prices are unbelievably inflated. For example, £30 for a simple bottle of screw-topped white wine.

When we came down for breakfast, we were told that there were no tables available and that we should wait in the buffet area where coffee and pastries were available. However, there were dirty mugs strewn around, no cutlery and no clean cups or mugs.

I was frankly disgusted. We checked out with no breakfast and took a cab home.

My daughter did take breakfast, however. She told me that it was almost inedible. Sausages not properly cooked and pink inside! My newly married son's mother-in-law also said that they had to send their breakfasts back to be cooked properly.

The lifts in the hotel are not reserved for guests and you will often find yourself squeezing past staff with large trollies full of bedding, etc.

Overall, I got the feeling that this hotel could have been managed by Basil Fawlty himself. All it needs is a Spanish waiter.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pdownes2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    803
    347
    143
    74
See reviews for
233
1,419
61
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

very attentive staff! good location on the waterfront!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Booked late on Saturday & was offered a great deal, including car parking & late breakfast. Liverpool has so much to offer in terms of bars, clubs, restaurants. Weekend deals on the mal website means we will be visiting again soon. The take me home products are from the isle of Arran & are to die for!

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room view for the extra £££ well worth it, views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobywan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed for one night at the Malmaison in Liverpool on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The rooms are tastefully appointed with fantastically comfortable beds, great bathrooms and breakfast was equally pleasing. Well done.

Room Tip: I imagine that they are all good. Mine was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelondonduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Really liked this hotel. The room was modern and the shower was fantastic. The cocktail bar downstairs is really nice and the breakfast was great. Will definitely stay here again as it made passing through Liverpool that little bit more special. Very easy to access the isle of man ferries from this hotel as well as the shops and bars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannafry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
2,296 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Property: Malmaison Liverpool
Address: 7 William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,631 - ₹ 18,651
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing