We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“part of visit to speke hall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendips - John Lennon Home

Mendips - John Lennon Home
Ranked #10 of 191 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home where John Lennon of the Beatles lived during his youth from 1945 to 1963.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“part of visit to speke hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very interesting as the Beatles were part of my era when growing up, It was interesting to see things as they were. It brought back a lot of memories,

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    147
    49
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Such an experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I visited Mendips with my partner last year and, although I am not a Beatles fan, thought it was amazing. It had such a poignant air about it and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. I would recommend this to anyone, children and adults alike.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolutley and utterly wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A friend surprised us with the present of a private tour, and so just the three of us had the incredible priviledge of having the amazing guide Colin to ourselves.
I can honestly say that was one of the best guided tours I've ever had. Colin created drama from the very beginning, and his narrative took in the whole context of when Lennon lived there, not just about the creation of Beatles, but about the whole post war history of Liverpool.
It was beyond tremendous, and standing in Lennon's liitle bedroom was a moving experience I will never, ever forget. If only all National Trust guides were like Colin. Maybe they could clone him. Wonderful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caballito, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Non stop talking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It was great the experience, but the guide never stopped talking! Hahaha, though, I enjoyed it a lot, he described and told us so many things!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenPerelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was sad and fascinating at the same time- Johns life wasnt easy as a kid and you can imagine Aunt Mimi telling him not to be late home. It is curated beautifully - you get the atmosphere for sure.A must see - we will go back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank cudgybudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mendips - John Lennon Home also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Mendips - John Lennon Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing