We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“joke!!”
Review of The Block

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Block
Reviewed 24 March 2012

stayed here for one night recpetion staff are rude ! security are rude ! and dont stop bothering you .they also took all our 200 pound deposit and said the sofa was thrown away beacuse there was sick on it ....reallly?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antony361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for The Block
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 404 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Came here with three of the girls (orignally meant to be 5) for St Patricks weekend and stayed Friday to Monday. I would say that the apartments had both good and bad points to them, but then again what place doesn't have this!

I suppose to start with the bad points.

The booking for these apartments started off a little touch and go, we seemed to have trouble with our card but were not told there were problems with taking the money until we actually asked them for updates on how the booking was going...this happenend right up until the morning of our intended stay, whereby we were only told when we asked them that there was apparently a problem with the card but seemed to go through fine once we finally got through to them. We were also advised of a check in time of 9pm on booking.com, however they told us 7pm was the latest time we could check in....needless to state we were quiet worried as we wouldnt have even left Ireland at that stage and it appeared at that point we were arriving over to no accomodation! In the end we managed to reach an agreement whereby we would be able to arrive at 9.

We got a taxi to the apartments and it was quite dark at that stage, if you did not know where you were going there may have been problems, as the signposting for the apartments is poor. When we arrived we seen a sign on the door that read 9-9 for the opening hours. We tried to find out why Jamie and Darren who we had liaised with throughtout the booking had told this wrong information and when we asked if they would be around that weekend at all to speak to them, we were told they work in Manchester in the reservations office and don't really have any connection to the apartments at all...this would probably explain their basic lack of knowledge regarding the whole apartment set up!

The "ensuite" in the double room was more like a washroom, and everything was just on top of each other meaning that you could literally go to the toilet, and then shower and wash your hands and teeth all at the same time, which was quite odd, the shower also wet the whole place with the spray making it a bit dangerous and we had to put a towel down outside it to make it safe to walk. There was no privacy aswell, so therefore myself and the girl i was sharing the room with had to shout at each other so we could either leave the room/make sure we didnt enter or turn our backs so we could have a shower or go to the toilet. Also we had to make sure the blinds were closed or the whole Docks would see you go the toilet!! The toilets were also very high up and we felt we were dangling our legs whilst sitting on them which is quite unusual! We didn't get toilet roll and towels offered to us until the day we were leaving which was a bit pointless needless to state! There was no key for the window in the main lounge which was a bit annoying as we couldnt open that when cooking. Also the walls are paper thin, so if you're a light sleeper you will most certainly EVERYTHING all around the apartment block. The corridors face on to the multi storey car park and are quite cold. Also the lift broke on the Friday night/Saturday morning meaning it was walking the stairs till the end of our stay, there was no notice to say this though and then it meant that the rubbish had to be dragged down the stairs and then was left at the bottom of the stairs for ages causing a mess on the stairs and then a smell around the apartment block. Also there was no bed linen provided for the fold out bed that the other two girls that had cancelled would have been sleeping on, and we had not actually informed them that we would only have had four and not six, which if we had a full house I would imagine it would have been a tight squeeze.

Now for the good bits

When we got into the apartment it was quite cold, however, we turned on the heaters throughout and then popped out for a bite to eat and came back to a lovely warm apartment. We did this every night going out and this meant that the apartment was lovely and warm whenever we needed it.
The location of the apartment is brilliant, right beside the Echo Arena and the wheel and there is a lovely little Pizza Express beside the both of them where we ate two nights (would definitely recommend this restaurant). Just over a small bridge is all the bars restaraunts and sights of Albert Dock. The city centre is within walking distance and you have all the bars and restaraunts you could want and there is something for everyone there both music and food wise. If you don't know your way around, a taxi can be the better option on your first day and they are only about £4 max, but after that the only time you would need one is either back to the airport or on a night out for the tired feet, or you can walk over to the bus station where there are several buses that will take you to the airport.
With regards to the apartment itself, there was plenty of cutlery and delph to accomodate everyone that was in the apartment. There was plenty of appliances that meant we could go to the local Tesco and you can buy all your basic breakfast bits and cook them in the apartment if you're looking to save a bit of money. The rooms were basic and clean, and the beds were very comfortable to sleep in. There was adequate seating and dining facilities also. One of the girls also fell ill with a stomach bug on the last day and the staff very kindly gave us the apartment for the day at a reduced rate so she could rest before our flight, they also offered to call medical assistance if necessary which was very good of them in our opinion.

Bad points aside, I don't believe these apartments to be as bad as some of the reviews I had read. It served the purpose of what we paid for it and it was somewhere to lay our heads and have a bit of breakfast etc. If you are looking for basic clean self catering accomodation in a central location this is the place, it's near the town and is a great spot if you were going to a concert. Would recommend these to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to save money on travel, buses go to and from the aiport to the bus station right across...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked this apartment as a surprise for my Mum's birthday as we were taking her to see The Commitments at the Echo Arena.

Upon our arrival the 2 members of staff were very helpful and friendly although they failed to tell me my pre-authorization payment can take up to 10 days to be returned on my card (which I was informed when checking out).

When we first walked in the apartment all we noticed was how dirty the place was including supernoodles in the sink and the floor. There was a massive chip in the bath and on one of the bedroom walls. Although we did have a nice view we could barely see it as the windows were disgustingly filthy!

After enjoying a lovely evening we ventured back to the apartment block where we were kept up all night by people fighting outside our room and constant shouting.

Needless to say we literally watching the clock to check out dead on 9am!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

It started off badly as 4 girls trooped around aimlessly laden down with baggage for the best part of 30mins as we couldn't find the reception from the car park. Whilst that was our problem it didn't help that when we called for assistance even the girl who worked for the place couldn't help.
Anyway, we finally got to our room to be greeted by a mound of dirty linen which we had to manoeuvre around to get through the door... Following this we were pretty pleased with the apartment. The lounge and kitchen was spacious, as were the bedrooms which is ideal with 5 girls!
Anyway, so the place was beginning to redeem itself and whilst we noticed a few 'sticky' areas overall things were ok.
So we start getting ready to go out and are a little humoured by the en suite in the main bedroom. It is a wet room fair enough but wet cubicle is more like it. You could actually embark on all the usual bathrooms tasks at the same time. The shower covers the sink and sprays all over toilet too... Oh and I forgot to mention that you have to lean arkwardly whilst standing in the shower to avoid the basin. Very odd!
Anyway, eventually we realised that we were missing our fifth bed. Which at more than £25 for the privilege is frankly a rip off anyway but as I said was also on this occasion completely absent. We tried calling and failed to get in touch with reception as it was closed. As a consequence my friend slept on the sofa under what make shift bedlinen we could fashion together. It did not make for a pleasant night's sleep. Totally rubbish service and not what you pay over £40 for!!!
I'll quickly mention the other rubbish stuff. The main shower turned out not to work when we came to it in the am-5 girls in an apartment. Not good!! Additionally no extra loo rolls in the place-I repeat 5 women!!!
Panel at the bottom of the kitchen units fell off on to my foot. Apart from it hurting I did not appreciate having to scramble around on the filthy floor to sort it out.
Have I put you off enough yet??
We've stayed in apartments in a few places now and these are easily the worst. You can get a lot more for this sort of money so please do.
It says 5 star. Not a chance!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseyB-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The apartments are new and decently appointed nothing grubby yet. It was clean besides from the nightstands that needed a little dusting. There were also trash bags and dirty linen left in the hallway over the weekend. The heaters worked great, I actually wanted to open a window at one point since it got too warm. I couldn't since the lounge window/door didn't have the key and the bedroom window/door handle was broken. It was nice to have a fridge & microwave for use.
The location wasn't bad it was right next to the Echo ACC & wheel near Albert Dock. Most of the sights are walking distance. You will be located at the end where nothing really happens but that shouldn't be a show stopper.
The one thing that will prevent me from coming back to this establishment was the absence of hot water at night, I did say absence. The first night I called and was told to press a button and wait for an hour. I did and seemed to work but there was no hot water in the morning. The second night no hot water again. I called the front desk after pressing the button and waiting the hour. The receptionist came up and checked it out, looked at two rooms before she could find one that had hot water. She offered for us to take a shower two rooms down the frigid hallway and them walk back to our rooms. I reluctantly took the offer since we were checking out the following morning and didnt want to move rooms at 9:00 PM. For £120+ a night you would think it would come with hot water. I would definitely avoid this place

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TavellingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,769 reviews
0.2 km away
Pullman Liverpool
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 98 in Liverpool
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
0.8 km away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,146 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Liverpool
YHA Liverpool
#8 of 109 in Liverpool
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Block? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Block

Address: Kings Dock Keel Wharf | City Centre, Liverpool L3 4FN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: ₹ 4,580 - ₹ 32,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Block 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Block reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing