We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
205
243
196
113
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
243
196
113
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre catholic cathedral groupon deal a ground floor room friendly receptionist would stay again nice breakfast pleasant stay hope street secure parking buffet style tea and coffee making facilities staff were lovely cooked breakfast few minutes walk lovely room full english
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came to Liverpool for a Easter trip,the location is great for shopping,bars and restaurants which was good for us as we are 18 and like to be our busy exploring the town centre.The train station is only a short walk which was good for us as we traveled by train.
We stayed for 2 nights couldn’t check in our room until after 3pm,stayed in room 403 the room was small and placed right next to the fire exit so when we were sleeping the door was so loud opening and slamming shut which we can only presume it was the staff members going through them and also we had to use a hanger to keep our window open as it didn’t stay open and with it being a small clammy room we could smell damp too so wanted to let some fresh air in.The second day the weather had been bad so we were watching tv and herd some patting on the carpet only to realise there was a leak coming through the roof and dripping onto the carpet at the end of the bed so my boyfriend reported it and the staff member came and had a look and provided us with another room which was more spacious and the window opened in this one.
Breakfast was rather nice,basic full cooked breakfast with other choices of food too.

Seemed to be a strange smell in the reception area we couldn’t make our what it was as it wasn’t the same smell as the damp in our room.

Overall if we were put in the second room from the beginning I think we would of had a better experience staying in this hotel but the staff were really friendly and always welcoming every-time we came past the reception.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nolan2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at Hallmark Inn Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear nolan2318,

Thank you for your feedback and comments via TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay with us, however I am pleased our staff were able to accomodate a room move for you. As a grade two listed building we are not purpose built and therefore rooms vary in size, however the hotel looking at £250K refurbishment later this year.

Here at our hotel, our top priority is guest satisfaction, through service and facilities, and I do apologize that you felt we did not provide you with the best quality. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and not let these issues impact your view of us as a brand.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights on a groupon deal.

It was average. Room comfortable but very small. To didn't work, no soap or shampoo.
Breakfast was poor, 2 mornings I spend too long trying to find a clean plate. The whole hotel was stuffy and smelt.

Was okay for 2 nights as a busget place to lay your head. Wouldn't recommend to anyone planning to spend time in their hotel to stay here.

£10 per night parking and they took your car keys from you was a bit rich especially as I was blocked in and no one had the key for the car blocking me in. ‍♂️

Great location but that's it really.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jt5hm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at Hallmark Inn Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Jt5hm,

Thank you for your feedback and comments via TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the The Hallmark Inn Liverpool. Here at our hotel, our top priority is guest satisfaction, through service and facilities, and I do apologize that you felt we did not provide you with the best quality.

As a grade two listed building we are not purpose built and therefore our rooms do vary in size and shape, however the hotel is in fact looking at £250K refurbishment later this year.

I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and not let these issues impact your view of us as a brand.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Arrived at this hotel after advised check in time for a 1 night stay and no-one on reception, we waited ages and then someone came but could hardly speak English and went off to find someone. 10 minutes later the young lady arrived and checked us in. We were no where near the couple we had come with and where on different floors. We were then advised that there was onsite parking but would have to pay £10 for an overnight stay. Usually when you stay at an hotel you don't have to pay for an onsite carpark.
We went to our room and it was lovely but the couple we went with the room was in need of a good overall and updating as looked in need of this. Also the corridors around the hotel where also in need of updating as didn't look like they had been done for many years.
We unpacked and went to the bar and stood there for 10 minutes to be told we would need to go to reception and ask them for a drink as they didn't have anyone to serve at the bar. We did this and the receptionist said they were short staffed and she would serve us. On the next occasion we went to the bar a sign had been put up saying to call reception if we required a drink from the bar. Didn't feel this was good enough for the amount of money we had spent already on the room and parking.
I must admit on a positive note the beds are really comfy in this hotel and had a good nights sleep.
The next day hotel was short staffed again but as we put our bags into the car to leave there was approx 6 staff outside in the carpark smoking so i can understand why there is no staff in the hotel if they are all outside smoking.
The hotel from the outside if very impressive but needs a good update in some parts of the hotel.
The location of the hotel is good as well as it is approx 10 minutes into the centre of liverpool.

Room tip: Towels provided also iron and ironing board and hairdryer
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddawnninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at Hallmark Inn Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Ddawnninja,

Thank you for your feedback and comments via TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the The Hallmark Inn Liverpool. Here at our hotel our top priority is guest satisfaction, through service and facilities, and I do apologize that you felt we did not provide you with the best quality during your stay.

Our hotel is a grade two listed building and is not purpose built, therefore our rooms vary in shape and size, however the hotel is in fact looking at £250K refurbishment later this year.

With regards to the bar, during the day it is simply not busy enough to justify being constantly manned - which is why we place the sign there for you to call reception when you need service.

Please be assured that all of your feedback will be passed on to the relevant departments and we do hope that these issues won't deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Well done if you actually managed to stay at the hotel! Arrived 11am but too early to check in so left car in the car park (very tight!) and went off to explore Liverpool. At about 6pm (we were in the middle of a meal at a restaurant at Albert Dock) we had a call from the hotel asking were we still coming. After confirming that we were there and had spoken to someone earlier that day to say that we were there but would be checking in later we hung up and joked about them overselling and we wouldn’t have a room... little did we know... We were walking back up to the hotel after a full day exploring Liverpool so were shattered and just wanted bed, when we received a second phone call informing us that there was an “electrical fault” in our room so we didn’t have a room but they were moving us to the Novotel in the centre. A few problems with this: 1. We had had a bottle of wine with our meal so couldn’t move our car. They said they were happy for us to leave the car there but it obviously meant we had to come back up in the morning to put our luggage in the car before going out again for the day. 2. We had tickets to see the Terracotta Army at the World museum the following morning at 11am. Staying further away in the city centre and having to traipse back up to he hallmark before going meant an extra hour on our morning. As parents of two young children, having a very rare weekend without them, I was really looking forward to a bit of a lie in! 3. A city centre location meant a lot more noise.

To be honest, we probably had a good deal out of it all as the Novotel was gorgeous, with better facilities and better rooms but the added faffing around that was caused was a real pain. Would book the Novotel over the Hallmark now anytime we want to travel to Liverpool.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clare_e_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at Hallmark Inn Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Clare_e_2000,

Thank you for your feedback and comments via TripAdivisor.

I am very sorry for the issues with your room during your stay. Unfortunately with it being a Saturday night and us being fully booked we had no alternative but to out-book you to another hotel for healthy and safety reasons. However we did try to be as accommodating as we possibly could which is why we paid for your taxis to and from the Novotel.

I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and not let these issues impact your view of us as a brand.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had no hestation in staying here again. It's very conveniently located from Lime Street, shops and other attractions. The staff were very welcoming and the room had everything we needed. We booked breakfast for both stays which was good value.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gailbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at Hallmark Inn Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Gailbf,

Thank you for your feedback and comments via TripAdvisor.

I am very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Hallmark Inn Liverpool.

Here at our hotel, we aim to provide top quality services and facilities to all of our guests, and I am glad that we were successful in doing so for yourself, during your stay.

We appreciate this feedback you have provided us with, and please be assured I will make all the team aware of their excellent customer service.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews