We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, ideally situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, ideally situated”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and found the staff, particularly the restaurant staff, and one of the receptionists to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was very spacious with a huge bed. The hotel car park (£6) was a short walk away but spaces were limited - we were lucky to get one of the few spaces remaining.

I didn't sleep overly well because of the noise outside (sirens/traffic) and the other hotel guests - but then it was St Patrick's Day and there was a wedding party staying so that was to be expected!

The food and service were both excellent however breakfast was a bit of a manic free for all and I decided not to stand in a long queue just for toast!

Our room overlooked the Mersey and the hotel is ideally situated for a short walk to the Albert Dock and not far to the Liverpool One shopping area.

Overall a really lovely stay and I will definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Ms G F ,

Many thanks for your kind review above. It is fantastic to read of your positive experience with the team, and I am sure they will be greatly encouraged.
Weekend Breakfasts can be very busy, as most guests tend to come down late. We do have some signage and try to encourage those that are happy to come down early to avoid the rush. We have recently changed our service standard to providing a toast machine in the restaurant rather than serving it to the table, and have recognised that at weekends we do need two units to speed things up, and this is now in place.
Thanks again for your review, and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    792
    390
    142
    77
See reviews for
215
908
85
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from staying in the Atlantic tower.I generally only stay in 5 star hotels and after reading some reviews here of the ATlatic tower i had some reservations. Thankfully none of the negatives people write here i saw whatsoeveer. I will write a completely honest review here. We arrived at the hotel at around 130pm and were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff but told that the computers were not working so we were unable to check in immediately . We were then offered to store our luggage while we had a walk around the shops which we didn't mind too much. When we arrived back at 1630 there was a slight delay however the receptionist offered us a free bottle of wine in the bar rather than keep us any longer standing in reception . I very much appreciated her kind gesture. Computers are computers so it was not her fault anyway. The executive room was fantastic. Amazing views over the river,spacious,extremely modern,nice toiletries in the bathroom and extremely comfortable. In fact it looks exactly like the pictures of the room on the website. Loved the huge almost floor to ceiling windows looking out over the Mersey river. Breakfast was also very good. Cannot understand why people have reviewed this badly Throughout the stay the staff were all excellent and forever there if any help was needed. The only area i think could be improved were the following. I think the area which is below the rest of the excellent quality and service was the house keeping. The first day (which was a thursday) we left the room at 10am and returned at 830pm and no one had cleaned the room ! They appeared to have forgotten !! We then alerted the reception of this and they apologized. The second and third days the room was "cleaned" But to be honest the beds were made and not much else was done.Although i appreciate not much was to be cleaned after 2 days,things like a coffee spill on the table etc should have been wiped better The 4th day (sunday) we left the room at 930am and came back at 4pm and the room again had not been serviced. I went to the reception immediately and they did in fairness send someone .They said being a Sunday the housekeeping doesn't start till 12. And being Grand national weekend i guess they were full with capacity and were busier than ever so i would hope this isnt a normality. Finally on checking out i explained the above again and that it had tinted what was in whole a wonderful stay. The receptionist was very good in dealing with this and explaining things. He also offered to give the first nights stay free . It was this gesture and his professionalism ,the first girl who checked us in (who could not have been more helpful) the wonderful room, fantastic staff in general ,great outdoor bar(Vue bar)over looking the river AND a peaceful nights sleep even on a major sporting weekend I would recommend this hotel and give it the high rating i do. I hope they do re look at the house keeping as glitches like this i could see dealt with much more severe way by other reviewers,which would be unfortunate as this hotel has just about everything anyone could want for super value too. A special thanks to Mark Bayley in his help with the booking and service which was outstanding and actually the best i have ever received anywhere in the world i have stayed. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Choose an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordmarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Lordmarriott,

Thank you for your very kind review above.
I was very pleased to read of the positive interaction you had with the team in particular. It was great to see that the couple of areas of your stay which did not go exactly to plan were well handled by the team and to your satisfaction.
I will of course pick up on the housekeeping points which you raised, and follow through with the Housekeeping manager.
Mark made contact with me directly as soon as the review hit the Website, he was so pleased with your comments about him.
Thank you so much for giving my team such encouragement.
With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed overnight late March for business. Requested and got a non-smoking room, and when we arrived the hotel also altered our reservation and gave us a room with a view of the waterfront.

The room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom could have been a little bigger given the size of the bedroom, but this is a minor detail and they managed to fit everything in with well thought through bathroom design.

There was a little noise from the street below so if you are a very light sleeper I would suggest one of the higher floors, but I was able to sleep well.

Can't comment on the breakfast as we only had the one day in Liverpool so as we had the morning off we decided to venture outside the hotel for this. We asked the advice of the man on reception in the morning and he gave us two options for exploring and finding cafes. We opted to head down to the rennovated docks and I had the impression this wouldn't have been the receptionists favoured choice, but we were still pleased with the advice he gave us. It led to a lovely morning wandering around in the sunshine, with a very good breakfast at the Tate Gallery cafe.

All the staff were lovely and efficient, although if they wanted to appear slightly more professional they would have been better keeping their personal chatter with each other to a minimum when guests walk through the front door.

Lifts were easily accessed, although I note there are steps leading from the main door to reception. I'm not sure how guests in a wheelchair would fare trying to navigate their way in.

The hotel was located within easy access of the museums on the docks and for the centre of town. We had enough luggage and arrived late enough that I wouldn't have wanted to walk from the train station, but a taxi fare from there to the hotel is reasonably priced.

All in all, we had a good overnight stay at the Atlantic Tower, Liverpool, and will definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: For light sleepers choose as high a floor as possible. For good views ask for a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopazMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear TopazMine,

Many thanks for your kind review above which is well received. I am delighted that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, though I do note the comments about the personal chat, and will follow this up as appropriate.

Great to see you will return to the hotel in future, and hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, had a room on the 12th floor, lovely views across the city and the Mersey.
The 12th floor rooms do not appear to have been refurnished yet but the standard of housekeeping was very good, Staff were helpful and welcoming. We booked on room only basis and preferred to eat away from the hotel so i am unable to comment on the food.
There are 3 lifts which if you are trying to get from the 12th floor at breakfast time they are very busy so expect a wait.
Car parking is off site less than a minute away from the hotel costing £6 a night.
Only our last day we asked if we could have a late check out, we were able but it would have cost £10 an hour plus car parking charged pro rata so we decided not to bother and left at our allotted time and had our lunch elsewhere.
Room entry is via a swipe card which is very sensitive to static and if they are stored near mobile phones, credit cards etc they wipe themselves which was a bit annoying having arrived on the 12t floor to find they it doesn't work and having to go back down again.


The hotel is in a good location in the financial quarter across the road from the crown plaza and liver building. Within 5 min walk you can be in and around restaurants shops night lie and liverpool 1 without having to use your car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS7578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear JAS7578 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our excellent location and found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the housekeeping standards to be high.
I appreciate your comments regarding the lifts, particularly at the weekends. 3 lifts is more than enough for our size, but at weekend breakfast our guests do make the most of a lie in opportunity, which can lead to a bottleneck! We do try to encourage some of the weekend guests to come down early if they want to avoid the rush, and have signage to that effect, but as you can imagine, the opportunity for a lie in often takes precedence!

Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Best regards,.

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

recently stayed on a Sunday night as myself and my wife were going to the Echo arena for a concert, room was adequate and clean, location was good, but not quite on a par with Crown Plaza

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southportlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Southportlad ,

Thank you for the above review.
I am pleased that you found the hotel to be good, and that overall you gave us a rating of 4 out of 5. I was sorry to note that you felt that we were not quite on a par with the Crown Plaza. We do believe we are the best value four star hotel in the City, and our rates are very much aligned with that statement. We may not be as modern or as expansive as the Crowne plaza, but we do offer character, some great views and a passionate and enthusiastic team. We have also has some £4.5 million of investment in the hotel in the last few years, and have just completed a refurbishment of our 7th floor, with more work in the public areas planned.
Nonetheless, I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider returning to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,632 - ₹ 16,000
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing