We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just about average”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I don't know much about the nuances of hotels in Liverpool, so when I needed a hotel for a business trip I chose the Holiday Inn on the basis that the brand normally delivers comfortable if unspectacular hotels.

The staff were friendly and my room was clean, those are the good points. However, the hotel felt tired throughout, my bed far too soft and the entire forth floor stank of cigarette smoke. The included breakfast was fair value, but the espresso I had was poor in the extreme.

This was probably a good hotel once, but it needs some TLC from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear 'MisterOs'
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our teams and the standards of cleanliness you experienced.

With regards to the conditions of the hotel, we do have an ongoing maintenance program in place to update the hotel but will use your comments to request additional funds.
.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Liverpool in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    510
    177
    54
    27
See reviews for
158
457
92
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great hotel in great location. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Only negative this visit is the change of menu in Limes bar and the really quite poor food which is overpriced. Warm bacon and Brie ciabatta was microwaved so the bread was rock hard . Jacket potatoes small and only just warm. We waited so long for food we had no time to send back for fresh. We will not eat in the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanKing, General Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Debbie
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Needless to say, I am pleased to learn that our team made you feel very welcome, once again, during your time at our hotel.
With regards to your constructive feedback on the quality of food you received at lunchtime I have spent time reviewing your concerns with my Head Chef, who wishes to be associated with my apologies to you. I have also instigated immediate retraining so that we may return to the levels of service I am confident we can consistently achieve.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Liverpool in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I chose this hotel as it was so close to Lime Street station. I arrived an hour before check in time and had to leave to attend an event before I could check it. I also needed to get changed before leaving the hotel, the staff were very helpful and gave me access to changing rooms in the gym to get ready. My luggage was stored securely until I could check in much later in the day.
My room was on the 9th floor was large quiet and clean. I had been allocated a smoking room which concerned me as I am a non smoker, but the room did not smell of cigarettes. Checking out was a quick and easy process, the staff offered to store my luggage if I required which was a nice touch.

My only minor complaint would be that the TV picture in the room was terrible. I would have preferred a 'snow free' picture.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GB_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear 'GB_Dave',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences from the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see you had such a great stay at the hotel and that our team went out of their way to make sure you had a stress free day.

We truly value customer service and get great pride in receiving a positive review.

I have informed our Maintenance Manager of the issues with TV reception and he is arranging for it to be resolved.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Liverpool in the near future.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times and they are always friendly, helpful, and willing to assist with whatever you need.

The hotel itself couldn't be nearer to Lime Street Station and from there you can explore the whole of the city. The actual area it sits in isn't the best bit of Liverpool; Lime Street itself is pretty rough, despite considerable investment in the station and surrounds, but it's a great base for the city. Just around the corner are some of the city's (and UK's) best museums, all of which provide free entry.

I found that I'd been upgraded on arrival to a small suite with a small living room area as well as the bedroom as this was a nice touch. Good views over the Anglican Cathedral and the Welsh Mountains when the weather is clear too.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the new plaza in front of the station and this is great for people-watching over your coffee.

Pretty much what you'd expect for a Holiday Inn overall, but they do go the extra mile generally. A small quibble on the bill was sorted out efficiently and settled.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear ' David W',

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm glad to see that you are a regular guest to the hotel and have found that our team goes the extra mile to ensure you have a pleasurable stay.

I have shared your feedback with the team who take great pride in receiving positive reviews.

We hope to welcome you back for many happy visits in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Came up to stay here 2 weeks ago for the weekend. Hotel was great , nice and clean and restaurant superb with wonderfull views. They couldn't do enough for us even moving us around hotel to accomadate the 5 of us

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJay2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear 'BigJay2909',

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences for the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre.

I'm thrilled to see you rated your stay a 5 out of 5 and had such a great weekend with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Johns Precinct, Liverpool L1 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#28 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,450 - ₹ 16,868
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre is located in the heart of city, directly opposite Liverpool Lime Street train station and 8 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has excellent access to both premier football teams, Liverpool FC at Anfield and Everton FC at Goodison and to Aintree, home of The Grand National. There is no better base from which to explore the numerous theatres, bars and restaurants within this vibrant city. All 139 guest bedrooms are fully air-conditioned, have High Speed Internet access and views of the city and its fabulous architecture. The public areas provide free Wi-Fi. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with 7 flexible function rooms that can accommodate up to 400 delegates. The Arena & Convention Centre Liverpool is just over 1 mile from the hotel and is easily walkable, as is the fabulous Liverpool ONE, the newly opened shopping quarter. For guests looking to relax after a busy day, the Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre offers a selection of menu options in the Lime Lounge Restaurant & Bar with fabulous views over St George s Hall and Plateau. As an added bonus all Kids Stay & Eat Free with their parents. Discounted pay car parking is available to our guests at the adjacent Euro Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing