We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location but cleanliness issues” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #27 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but cleanliness issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here recently in family room. First room offered was filthy. Second room was not much better. The whole hotel needs a thorough clean. Everything you touch feels sticky. I tried to get clean cutlery and crockery for breakfast three times and in the end gave up. The beds were clean but the cushions and throws were marked with chocolate. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast would have been fab if it werent for hygiene/cleanliness issues. Certainly not four star standard.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
I appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.
We pride our selves on providing excellent customer service and hence are always pleased to receive constructive feedback from our guests to ensure that high standards are retained. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you were caused due to any hygiene/cleanliness issues during your stay. I can assure you that I have noted the points, which you raised and that these have been acted upon accordingly.
I truly hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from using the hotel facilities again. Once again thank you for your time and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    746
    242
    77
    42
See reviews for
421
783
70
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Excellent stay in this hotel during the week. Hotel is close to city centre, 10mins walk in. Woman on Reception was very helpful and well mannered when checking in. Room was comfortable and warm with skysports 1, 2 and 3 free on tv. Leisure centre is very nice. Jacuzzi and steam room especially. Breakfast was great, huge choice and hot. SpeciChecking out was fine and "frank" kept our bags safe when we checked out (when to anfield tour) and also arranged taxi. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre.

I truly appreciate your comments regarding our helpful reception staff and can assure you this has been shared with all of our employees including Frank our Doorman. As you mentioned our hotel is well situated for exploring the city. The Crowne Plaza is ideally situated in close proximity to a host of major attractions in Liverpool. I am also pleased you had the opportunity to make full use of our Leisure Facilities and enjoyed our full English Breakfast Buffet.

Once again thank you for your time and I hope to see you soon

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My impression of the hotel was fine up until this: I had promised to take my daughter swimming before dinner, as we saw the pool was open. She is six years old, and is learning to swim. However, as we entered the pool area, we were informed by the staff that no children were allowed before 4PM. At first I thought she was joking, as I'm not used to that kind of eighteenth-century attitudes towards children. But she wasn't, and I had to explain my crying daughter that she was unwanted in the pool, which by the way was nearly empty. As if we would have disturbed anyone, practising to swim! Neither did I see any signs or notes saying that children were unwanted at specific hours.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank HSorlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear HSorlie,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for any confusion surrounding our pool hours. We are also deeply sorry you and your daughter were not able to enjoy our facilities during that time of your stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. During you next visit, please speak with the Front Desk to verify the pool hours for our hotel guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27746165
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night after a day at the races. We prebooked and prepaid so check in was easy. Car Park was £10 overnight (we stayed > 24 hours), and although some of the spaces were a bit narrow, if you drive past the reception and round the side there are more available that appear to be wider (this may be an illusion brought on by several Range Rovers being parked out front!). Room was spacious and had good facilities. Hotel restaurant was a bit limited and quite pricey, but that is probably to be expected of a city centre hotel. We decided to eat out. Used the excellent pool, sauna, steam room the following morning, and although I didn't have £1 for a locker the guy on the leisure club reception offered to loan me one! Breakfast was fantastic. Huge choice of hot and cold food, juices, tea, coffee, etc. Very good quality too. Went for a nice walk along Princes Dock and past the Liver building (opposite), before a smooth checkout. Overall can't fault the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about our hotel and location as we recognize the advantages it presents us with.

We are always monitoring our hotel and guest feedback to ensure we offer the best value for money and I appreciate your comments regarding our hotel restaurant and prices. I am glad to hear you had the opportunity to use our excellent Leisure facilities and found our staff helpful too. We offer a large selection of hot and cold breakfast items that will suit everyone’s taste and I am pleased to read you agree.

Once again thank you for your time and kind words. We are proud to hear you would like to stay with us again and cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I've stayed in the CP LIverpool a few times, both for leisure and business. The hotel is well situated on the waterfront and very handy for visiting the city centre. The rooms are not spacious, but adequate. the beds are fairly comfortable, but the pillows are either rock hard or totally flat. Service has always been good and remains so. However, I think the hotel needs a bit of a "spring clean". The decor is looking dated and tired. With the many new hotels that have opened up over the past two years in Liverpool it's about time the CP got itself back in shape.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolBluenose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaLiverpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
I value the time you have taken to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel well situated as it is in close proximity to a number of major attractions in Liverpool. Our location allows us to have numerous bedrooms that capture the beautiful views of The River Mersey and Docks.
In regards to your comments concerning the pillows, we do have alternative feather pillows which are provided upon request. Here at the Crowne Plaza Liverpool we operate a 24 hour reception team who are more than willing and capable to assist all of our guests during their stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us as we fully understand the importance of a restful nights sleep.
We are always monitoring our hotel and guest feedback to ensure that high standards are retained. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding the décor and I would like to assure you that all comments are taken on board.
Once again thank you for your time and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre very soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Staybridge Suites
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Malmaison Liverpool
#33 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre
Address: St. Nicholas Place | Princes Dock, Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,701 - ₹ 21,906
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Liverpool is located in the heart of this vibrant city with fantastic views of the river and the iconic Royal Liver building. You will find comfort and luxury at one of the most central and desirable locations in Liverpool.The Crowne Plaza Hotel is near Anfield, home of Liverpool FC, The Beatles Museum, Liverpool 1 and a 10 minute riverside walk from the Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. Enjoy modern dining in The Plaza Brasserie or your favorite drink in 'The Lounge', our bright and airy atrium is ideal for relaxing or informal meetings with wireless internet access. From the best breakfast in town , to feasting on fabulous food in the evening, our team look forward to welcoming you.Our spacious air conditioned bedrooms most with river views and free internet access, provide you with outstanding comfort. Why not treat yourself to the benefits of a Club room. Eygtian cotton linen on a king sized bed, stunning river views, and exclusive membership to our club lounge, provide you with guaranteed luxury.Our unique meeting and event facilities accommodate up to 500 people and with the convenience of our own secure and well lit on site car park.We can help you put fun in your day in our Leisure club enjoy a swim in our large pool, the bubbles of the spa, or energise in our fully equipped gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing