We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel and have never had a problem with the place. Staff are very nice and polite, the room is cleaned daily and the breakfast is beautiful. Excellent location being 5 mins from the city centre

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank heskey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel - it's always good to hear positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    593
    227
    40
    34
See reviews for
289
559
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

It was my husbands 60th birthday and we had booked to go to the homes of John Lennon and Paul McCartney, so we decided it would be nice to stay in Liverpool the evening before. My husband said that every room in this hotel either had a view of the Mersey or Albert Dock, so we decided to book in. We arrived to find reception on the 2nd floor and were told to hurry up and check in and move the car as there were a lot of people checking in. We were then told that the best place to park the car was a 10 - 15 minute walk away. On arriving at the room my husband was very disappointed that we overlooked the entrance to the Beatle Museum and not The Mersey or Albert Dock as he had expected. He went to reception and asked if we could be moved but they said the hotel was full, which being a Tuesday night I find hard to believe. However, the room was clean although very small and we had an enjoyable night. Breakfast is served until 10.00 am, so by the time my husband had opened presents and cards etc, it was about 9.25 when we eventually went down for it. There was hardly anything left. A few dried up sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs and what was left of the pastries were on a plate. One of the drinks machines was out of hot water. They didn't seem to be bringing any fresh food out at all and on the dot of 10.00 everything had been cleared away. Our paperwork also stated that there was a safe in the room, but this is not the case, although you can leave valuables at reception. All in all a very mediocre stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Please accept my apologies if you felt check in was rushed as you had to move your car. Due to the parking restrictions outside the hotel I'm sure the hotel team were only being cautious as they wouldn't have wanted you to receive a parking ticket. You are more than welcome to leave your car in our drop off area whilst you check into the hotel and put your bags in your room. With regards to car parking there are two options of parking available. One is the pay and display on Albert Dock which is outside the hotel, the other is at the Echo Arena whcih I presume is where you parked - this is a short walk from the hotel but by far the cheaper parking option.
I would be grateful if you could let me know where you made the reservation as none of our rooms have safety deposit boxes in them and as far as I am aware none of our websites and booking confirmation letters state that we do. If another company is selling bedrooms on our behalf they should be passing on correct information to travellers and as such if you can let me know how you booked and can contact the company and have the relevant information changed.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have been going to Liverpool for the past eight years in a row. We usually stay at Atlantic Tower or Jurys but wanted to try holdiay inn for a change. After reading the reviews we hoped to get one of the rooms with a view of the dock but thought if not would maybe get a partial river view. How wrong we were!! On check in i saw the room was 233 and asked the fella at check where did it overlook and he said 'the wheel' i asked was there any chance of a dock view room but he said the hotel was full and other guests in groups had requested these rooms.So we went to the room to realize it was one of the dreaded rooms reviwed on here above the bealtes museum and nightclubs. The Beatles music was blaring up to our room. The room was narrow but big enough and quite dark as it was in the enclosed front courtyard. I rang down again to plead were there no other rooms at all cause the music was loud, but the fella said again the hotel was full and assured me the music would stop at 4.30pm. He said he could maybe move us on the last night. We decided to stay just the one night and checked out the next morning after getting next two nights stay in Jurys. I rang down again to reception to check we would just be charged for one night and told the lady then we wern,t happy and she did say the noise from the nightclubs were just at weekends but decided not to stay and find out!! we had breakfast the next morning to discover as well all other reviews were true about the inedible scrambled eggs etc. But there was good choice of cereal, toast etc and to be fair it does say continental breakfast and that was what we got. Couldn't honestly fault the hotel on cleanliness and comfort of bed but it is rather soulless and just wasnt for us. We did glimpse into the rooms being cleaned the next day which seemed to be awaiting new arrivals (yet we couldnt be moved rooms?) and they did look lovely with the dock views. We stay in different hotels 4 and 5 times a year and have never cut our stay short to move to another hotel, but were so glad to 'escape' on the morning of check out and get to Jurys to our lovely river view room.

Room Tip: Book this hotel only if you are guaranted a room on a high floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank statusquo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the hotel - we do use all comments to further improve on our service and quality standards.
As I am sure you can appreciate the majority of people making reservations all request our dock view bedrooms, we do try to accommodate as many of these requests as we can but unfortunately cannot guarantee everyone a dock view bedroom. I'm disheartened to hear that you checked out of the hotel early due to the noise from the Beatles Museum. The music is only played during the opening hours of the museum and we don't usually find this intrusive to guests, however I will pass your comments onto the Manager of the museum so they can ensure noise levels outside are kept to a minimum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for two nights, three days. Rooms very spacious but basic in facilities. For the visiting traveller this is an excellent place to stay, very close to all amenities with being located on the Albert Dock. The breakfast could be improved, as could being able to control air con in each room, as at present a visitor is unable to do this. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were kept clean and attended to on a daily basis. Although this hotel is right on the Albert Dock, the visitor will be able to get a comfortable nights' sleep. The security aspects of the hotel certainly give the traveller a sense of being well looked after, although these are no way intrusive. Very well done to all staff. The hotel in my opinion would warrant an extremely high rating, if the air con and breakfasts were improved.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Pleased to hear that you were pleased with the customer service levels provided by the team, they do strive to deliver the highest levels of customer service at all times. The hotel only has air conditioning in the public areas, windows in all bedrooms do open. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Greated by a friendly receptionist , checked into our room , found it clean and a large room for the price with a great view over the dock. Room was lovely , and for a chain had a real individual character about it . The location was great for both Albert dock and the city centre and a lovely bar to relax in.
The breakfast could of done with items being restocked but was nice and a good choice for the price . I was also pleasantly suprised at how quiet the room was at night compared to the hotels in the centre.
Our only complaint of the weekend was on arrival we found noodles in the kettle and one of the towels were dirty but the house keeper couldn't of been more apologetic and replaced them and offered us more tea and coffee. Will be staying here again. :)
Hotel also had vending machine for those midnight snacks

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trix_L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Please accept my apologies for your dirty kettle, this is not our usual standard. As you will see from the reviews on this site the hotel is usually praised for it's high levels of cleanliness. I trust housekeeping rectified the problem to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Address: Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#30 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,359 - ₹ 12,696
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing