We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
Nearby Hotels
US$ 165
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 138
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 119
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 137
US$ 100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 111
US$ 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 70
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Z Hotel Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$ 47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 173
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
653
670
245
45
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
670
245
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsecho arenaalbert dockscrambled egg and beansgreat locationhi expressexposed brickworkbeatles museumpay and displayconverted warehouseliver buildingbig wheelbreakfast was includedcity centrecar parkno air conditioningmulti storeyfire alarm
Filter
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It was my husbands 60th birthday and we had booked to go to the homes of John Lennon and Paul McCartney, so we decided it would be nice to stay in Liverpool the evening before. My husband said that every room in this hotel either had a view of the Mersey or Albert Dock, so we decided to book in. We arrived to find reception on the 2nd floor and were told to hurry up and check in and move the car as there were a lot of people checking in. We were then told that the best place to park the car was a 10 - 15 minute walk away. On arriving at the room my husband was very disappointed that we overlooked the entrance to the Beatle Museum and not The Mersey or Albert Dock as he had expected. He went to reception and asked if we could be moved but they said the hotel was full, which being a Tuesday night I find hard to believe. However, the room was clean although very small and we had an enjoyable night. Breakfast is served until 10.00 am, so by the time my husband had opened presents and cards etc, it was about 9.25 when we eventually went down for it. There was hardly anything left. A few dried up sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs and what was left of the pastries were on a plate. One of the drinks machines was out of hot water. They didn't seem to be bringing any fresh food out at all and on the dot of 10.00 everything had been cleared away. Our paperwork also stated that there was a safe in the room, but this is not the case, although you can leave valuables at reception. All in all a very mediocre stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Please accept my apologies if you felt check in was rushed as you had to move your car. Due to the parking restrictions outside the hotel I'm sure the hotel team were only being cautious as they wouldn't have wanted you to receive a parking ticket. You are more than welcome to leave your car in our drop off area whilst you check into the hotel and put your bags in your room. With regards to car parking there are two options of parking available. One is the pay and display on Albert Dock which is outside the hotel, the other is at the Echo Arena whcih I presume is where you parked - this is a short walk from the hotel but by far the cheaper parking option.
I would be grateful if you could let me know where you made the reservation as none of our rooms have safety deposit boxes in them and as far as I am aware none of our websites and booking confirmation letters state that we do. If another company is selling bedrooms on our behalf they should be passing on correct information to travellers and as such if you can let me know how you booked and can contact the company and have the relevant information changed.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have been going to Liverpool for the past eight years in a row. We usually stay at Atlantic Tower or Jurys but wanted to try holdiay inn for a change. After reading the reviews we hoped to get one of the rooms with a view of the dock but thought if not would maybe get a partial river view. How wrong we were!! On check in i saw the room was 233 and asked the fella at check where did it overlook and he said 'the wheel' i asked was there any chance of a dock view room but he said the hotel was full and other guests in groups had requested these rooms.So we went to the room to realize it was one of the dreaded rooms reviwed on here above the bealtes museum and nightclubs. The Beatles music was blaring up to our room. The room was narrow but big enough and quite dark as it was in the enclosed front courtyard. I rang down again to plead were there no other rooms at all cause the music was loud, but the fella said again the hotel was full and assured me the music would stop at 4.30pm. He said he could maybe move us on the last night. We decided to stay just the one night and checked out the next morning after getting next two nights stay in Jurys. I rang down again to reception to check we would just be charged for one night and told the lady then we wern,t happy and she did say the noise from the nightclubs were just at weekends but decided not to stay and find out!! we had breakfast the next morning to discover as well all other reviews were true about the inedible scrambled eggs etc. But there was good choice of cereal, toast etc and to be fair it does say continental breakfast and that was what we got. Couldn't honestly fault the hotel on cleanliness and comfort of bed but it is rather soulless and just wasnt for us. We did glimpse into the rooms being cleaned the next day which seemed to be awaiting new arrivals (yet we couldnt be moved rooms?) and they did look lovely with the dock views. We stay in different hotels 4 and 5 times a year and have never cut our stay short to move to another hotel, but were so glad to 'escape' on the morning of check out and get to Jurys to our lovely river view room.

Room Tip: Book this hotel only if you are guaranted a room on a high floor with a good view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank statusquo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the hotel - we do use all comments to further improve on our service and quality standards.
As I am sure you can appreciate the majority of people making reservations all request our dock view bedrooms, we do try to accommodate as many of these requests as we can but unfortunately cannot guarantee everyone a dock view bedroom. I'm disheartened to hear that you checked out of the hotel early due to the noise from the Beatles Museum. The music is only played during the opening hours of the museum and we don't usually find this intrusive to guests, however I will pass your comments onto the Manager of the museum so they can ensure noise levels outside are kept to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for two nights, three days. Rooms very spacious but basic in facilities. For the visiting traveller this is an excellent place to stay, very close to all amenities with being located on the Albert Dock. The breakfast could be improved, as could being able to control air con in each room, as at present a visitor is unable to do this. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were kept clean and attended to on a daily basis. Although this hotel is right on the Albert Dock, the visitor will be able to get a comfortable nights' sleep. The security aspects of the hotel certainly give the traveller a sense of being well looked after, although these are no way intrusive. Very well done to all staff. The hotel in my opinion would warrant an extremely high rating, if the air con and breakfasts were improved.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Pleased to hear that you were pleased with the customer service levels provided by the team, they do strive to deliver the highest levels of customer service at all times. The hotel only has air conditioning in the public areas, windows in all bedrooms do open. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Greated by a friendly receptionist , checked into our room , found it clean and a large room for the price with a great view over the dock. Room was lovely , and for a chain had a real individual character about it . The location was great for both Albert dock and the city centre and a lovely bar to relax in.
The breakfast could of done with items being restocked but was nice and a good choice for the price . I was also pleasantly suprised at how quiet the room was at night compared to the hotels in the centre.
Our only complaint of the weekend was on arrival we found noodles in the kettle and one of the towels were dirty but the house keeper couldn't of been more apologetic and replaced them and offered us more tea and coffee. Will be staying here again. :)
Hotel also had vending machine for those midnight snacks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trix_L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Please accept my apologies for your dirty kettle, this is not our usual standard. As you will see from the reviews on this site the hotel is usually praised for it's high levels of cleanliness. I trust housekeeping rectified the problem to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is located in one of the old warehouse buildings overlooking the Albert Dock in Liverpool. This means the rooms are large (by European not American standards) with wide corridors for a hotel in the basic range of Holiday Inn. It was a birthday treat for me to stay there and we had a room overlooking the Dock which was wonderful. The hotel even offers complimentary tooth paste and brush etc. on request although there was not the normal shower
hat /soap bar/ shoe shine / mending kit/ things you find in hotel bathrooms. There was free wireless for my computer and also a tv of course in the room. The place was clean with even a choice of soft or firm pillows! I would agree with other reviewers that the breakfast choice was not great. We had ourselves to blame perhaps because we did not go for breakfast until 9.00 am when the fruit had all gone and there were no bread rolls only white sliced bread and no jam only orange marmalade, and no baked beans only sausage and egg. Again it was a cheap place to stay for two people and the location is excellent for the centre of Liverpool. There was a good touch of luxury there for a basic range hotel. We had a very quiet sleep here.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the dock is both quiet and also an excellent view from the window
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arfonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate all feedback. In terms of items such as sewing kits, shoe shines and other items mentioned, we do not provide these in bedrooms but they are part of our Forgot Someting programme and are therefore available at reception. Your comments regarding the helpfulness of the team will certainly be passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews