We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Totally average if I'm honest. Me and partner paid £70 for our room thinking we'd bagged a bargain in some sort of boutique style hotel, in reality we got a pretty basic room with no hot water and the noise from the traffic and drunken students outside was pretty shocking (up until 4am might I add) They also took a £25 charge from my card without telling us beforehand, this was refunded 24hrs after we left, I was told (as I checked out) that this was in case they found any damage in the room after we left. The staff were however polite and friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a decent nights rest request a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potioncommotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    64
    43
    46
See reviews for
47
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Hants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Roscoe House is in a fantastic location, has beautiful rooms and very helpful staff...however we were in the first room on the left as you go in the front door so right at the front of the building on street level so we heard everyone and every car who passed on Rodney Street and Hardman Street in the middle of the night, who'd have thought there could be so many drunks on a Tuesday night! We also couldn't get any hot water in the shower in the morning although the staff did try and solve this and gave us complimentary breakfast to make up for it! I would stay again but not on the front.

Room Tip: Avoid front of building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony-Alton_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Tony-Alton_Hants,

Thank you for your recent review of Roscoe House.

I am delighted to hear that you were impressed by our restored Georgian bedrooms and friendly and helpful staff. I have noted your comments about noise at the front of the property. A handful of our guests have commented on this as being a Grade 2 Listed Georgian Building we are unable to install secondary glazing. However we encourage any guests who may be concerned about noise to request a room on a higher floor or at the back of the property. We always do our very best to accommodate guest requests.

I have shared your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Roscoe House when you next visit Liverpool.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at thePall Mall Aprtments that Roscoe House have & paid £55 for 3 of us in a two bedroomed apartment. The standard was superb, spotless & with everything you could need. Would without doubt return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear AndyMill,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments. We strive to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and service at all times. I have shared your positive feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here for a night whilst visiting my daughter at uni. The hotel is in a great location - handy for bars,cafes etc and a short walk into town. The hotel receptionist was very nice and my room was lovely. It was a single but had a double bed and a lovely big bathroom. The bed and furnishings were comfortable and the room was clean and fresh. The 24hr reception made me feel very safe as a lone woman traveller.
The only slight disappointment (and it is a small one that I think would be easily rectified) was the breakfast. It was delivered at the specified time to the room (which is always a luxury) but there was no serviette and the croissant wan't that fresh and was like it had come straight from the fridge - a minor thing really but it could easily be improved.
All in all - a very nice hotel, would recommend to friends and would definitely stay again (but probably skip brekkers)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear BMyl,

Thank you for your recent review of Roscoe House. Were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about breakfast and am presently addressing this so that we may improve our offering.

I have shared your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Roscoe House again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Having looked at various photos and read various reviews, we booked an executive room (the one with the grand piano). The room was really clean and the staff were fantastically helpful, even googling bars for us at reception based on vague names we gave them. The hotel is in a great location for getting to everywhere you want to go in Liverpool and pretty reasonably priced.

The room had glorious period features - big marble fireplace, huge windows, high ceilings and, of course, the grand piano. However, I was a little disappointed in some of the furnishings - a random ikea mirrored wardrobe opposite the bed (a little disconcerting) and ikea bedside tables / chest of drawers. Such amazing surroundings deserve better, antique (or antique style) furniture, and a roll-top bath in the bathroom. And the piano could do with tuning!

There was quite a lot of light spilling around the curtains / blinds which kept my husband awake, and, as the room was next to the front door, quite a bit of noise - but you expect that in the middle of the city. The king size bed was two singles attached together.

All in all, a good, very clean, friendly hotel in a lovely city and possibly the only chance you will ever have to have a grand piano in your bedroom!!!

Room Tip: Go for the executive room with the piano - it does look like the photo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Kate W,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Roscoe House and for noting the uniqueness of our offering. As you have pointed out we are one of very few places where you would have the opportunity to stay in a room with a grand piano.

I have noted your comments about tuning the piano and have made arrangements for it to be tuned. As the carpet in the room was recently cleaned in line with our ongoing cleaning and maintenance procedures it would appear that the piano had been moved and this knocked it out of tune. The issue which you raised about the curtains has also been addressed.

I have passed your kind comments onto our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Roscoe House again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#51 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,006 - ₹ 10,547
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing