We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to beat!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Allerton Road Bar and Restaurant
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“hard to beat!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

i have been using this resteraunt since the summer and as a person who eats out on a regular basis i find it hard to beat, from the food to the value for money to the exellant customer service!! The cocktails are the best i have ever had(believe me i know my cocktails!) The staff are friendly(a special mention to Kerry and Kimberley who have got to know what we drink without having to tell them!!) and attentive, with the chef accomodating all your needs foodwise and will not hesitate to change your requirments to suit. I would highly reccomend!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolMandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Went here on the Wednesday between christmas and new year and was very dissapointed. Been here many times before and have always been pleased but our latest visit was a real let down. Waited 10 minutes for a menu, then waited 40 mins for our starters. A lady who I think might of been the owner apologised and offered us a free drink, she said the wait was due to having a table of 8 order just before ours. Now I'm sorry but a restaurant on this busy strech of allerton road should be able to cope with this. Staters were good but thye mains were really dissapointing. Will not return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callum l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and Great service”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I visited with my family a party of six in total including two Children. The service was fantastic from the moment we arrived. The choice of food was great from Pasta dishes to Steaks. I chose fillet steak which was incredible. It was very child friendly and we all felt very relaxed, All the food was home made. The Chef who is Canadian came out to chat with us and was so accommodating. He has been at the Restaurant for over six years. We had a wonderful evening and all enjoyed our food the wine and service was incredible and we will be returning very soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings for allerton road Venue”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Mixed feelings regarding this establishment. The area is overrun with restaurants and cafes and therefore I'd imagine to secure a good return a new venture needs something to attract returning diners, unfortunately I just don't think it stands out enough. Visited on 2 occasions and used KGB vouchers. What I feel let's it down is the obvious cheap interior fittings and furnishings and a rather "scruffy" appearance. The whole place could do with a good cleaner and crisp fresh linen on tables. The first impressions of the place is the dirty looking stair carpet which hasn't been professionally fitted. The tables are squashed in (however this isn't unusual in many places) The service was satisfactory but on both occasions although quiet I felt if it had been busier they wouldn't have coped. Possibly they were expected to multi task and therefore appeared a little stressed?! Who knows! Very polite and therefore maybe management decision to have them working the bar, the tables and the telephone?
Visited both on a Sunday afternoon and early week night and therefore different menu selection aswell as a la carte. Presentation matters and the Sunday roast menu was a scruffy looking piece of paper which had seen better days. Might not bother some people but the price list isn't cheap. The actual meals were nicely presented and tasty, no complaints, especially using the KGB voucher. However what is letting this establishment down is the feeling that management are charging higher prices for lower than average surroundings. This won't attract evening diners to return as competition is on their very doorstep! The place had a cafe and early evening bar atmosphere but not the choice for a special occasion or event. Don't bother getting dressed up to dine here, you would seriously feel over dressed!! So come on management - spend some cash on fixtures and fittings, smarten up the waiting on staff ( hard to identify) and either reduce the prices or bring everything up to the next level.......

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Early evening great for family get together”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Took family for birthday meal. Five of us and didn't break the bank. The food was lovely and we all found something that suited (carnivores and veggie). Desserts were fab too. Although all the family were grown ups, as we went early evening there were some children there, so I assume they found something on the menu too. The big tables are in booths so there is plenty of room with no one knocking into the back of your chair. Could be difficult with a wheelchair. Parking on Allerton Road in the evening is ok, but it does get boisterous and very busy later in the evenings due to there being lots of bars and restaurants which pavement seating (since the smoking ban). Not suitable for children later on.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allerton Road Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing