We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only dined here but highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only dined here but highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have only dined here but on several occasions both at lunchtime and during the evenings. The food is divine, service first class, waiters and waitresses smart and polite. The location is in the shadow of the Lincoln Castle walls. Sit outside if it is sunny, you really feel on holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    248
    64
    23
    15
See reviews for
76
494
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed in the Castle Hotel on the 22nd July 2012 for one night. I must say it was one of my best hotel experiences. The staff were courteous, extremely helpful and provided a great service in every way. The meal and service we had in the Reform Restaurant was certainly one of the best meals I have had. The food was nice and warm and served in a very friendly fashion. I hope to repeat the experience soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

First, I am several months late in the review, but by looking at the recent reviews, I can see that the quality has not diminished in the least.

I had journeyed to Lincoln to attend a stone carving course offered by a local artist. I looked at several hotels and finally settled on the Castle given the mainly positive reviews at the time. I must say that what I found when checking in amazed me, espcially for the price.

The facility has been recently redone to a high standard, and you can tell it is run by people that really care about making sure you are able to enjoy yourself.

I had planned to try the restaurant on the first evening and then try other restaurants in the area, but honestly never made it anywhere else - deciding rather to stay and try a different dish each evening. They had a large group dinner one evening which had booked the restaurant, but even so, managed to put on a full dinner for me in the bar (which had come from "let me see what we can do for you" when I had enquired about what could be done to one of the women serving at the bar...)

Hotel is well located for the centre with just a short walk down the hill. The scenery is wonderfull along the way walking past the castle and cathedral (I highly recommend booking in for the roof tour at the cathedral - an incredible way to view the areas most people never get to see).

All in all, I felt extremely well cared for and was left not wanting anything further in the way of services. Extremely good value for money. I stay in hotels 2-3x per month, all either 4 or 5 star and this was the first where I felt that I wanted to leave positive feedback. I will be back for sure !!

Room Tip: I had one of the outside rooms - great if you want to be able to unload from the car directly into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeaselDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Amazing, I was welcomed by the owner a very attractive lady, she shares such passion for her Hotel, guests and stay. She was aware that I was due at 9.30pm, even escorted us to our room, nothing was too much trouble

We chatted about Trip Advisor and what excellent feedback customers had given apart from the odd one or two !!. Courtyard room fab, excellent decor and such lovely fit out, would definetly recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayHEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Recently renovated. Very modern design with lots of comfort and good value. Only downside is that there is a very steep hill down to the town centre. The upside is that it sits between the castle and the cathedral. Lovely choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: I thought that the adjoining restaurant was a bit on the pricey side. This is ok for businessmen but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 km away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,188 - ₹ 18,378
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing