We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Family Birthday meal

Our second visit, with a party of 12. Made to feel welcome. Food very good. Sorry too see so few... read more

Reviewed 26 June 2018
JEC53
,
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Re opened !!! At last

Well, the Hume Arms Torksey has finally reopened 4/5/18. Called in for lunch on Sat 5. Staff very... read more

Reviewed 5 May 2018
Neil G
,
Torksey, United Kingdom
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
12
5
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
5
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pub chicken supreme steak and ale pie haddock torksey
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

First ever visit after calling to see friends Very warm welcome,good food,beer and atmosphere.Deserves to be busier.Will call again

Thank MemphisGrizz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Riding through Torksey on Sunday I noticed the sign confirming that the pub had re-opened. Last evening we called in on our way home and were not disappointed.

Very friendly knowledgeable staff and the food was superb.

Portion size a little large for me but perfect for my partner who chose the Haddock. I opted for the chicken in a Leek and bacon sauce with a side of vegerables. The taste was fabulous and reminiscent of the Hume Arms' good old days, which were not that long ago....

Long may they do well, I shall be chasing the family for a get together there as soon as possible.

Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are all glad you had an enjoyable time with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We called in on our travels, it looked nice from the outside and had a huge car park which was excellent as we had a trailer. Good decor and very clean in the pub, restaurant and toilets. We were served by the Manager, Kim, who was friendly, attentive and very efficient. I had fish and my husband had liver, both dishes often over-cooked by chefs but these meals were superb. The cost for two courses each plus drinks was £25 which we felt was excellent value, we would certainly call again when in the neighbourhood.

Thank janeJ133LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable lunch with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Our second visit, with a party of 12. Made to feel welcome. Food very good. Sorry too see so few other customers for a Saturday night. Service good , trip down memory lane , as Mum , recently passed away used to be the cook there years ago. Birthday boy spent his youth at The Hume

Thank JEC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic meal for two this evening, very tasty meal (Lincolnshire sausage and mash and chicken supreme with bacon, plus sticky toffee pudding and Apple pie and blueberry with custard). Beautifully presented and very reasonably priced. Lovely vintage internal decor, spacious lawn and tables and loads of parking space. Kim the Manageress was very friendly and informative, also met Tom the Barman and the chef, all were very friendly, professional and helpful. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be visiting on a regular basis. 5 stars �

Thank Ghostdancer4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner at the reopened pub restaurant. A warm welcome from the manager who oversaw the bar and restaurant efficiently and with charm. We ordered the huge haddock, steak and ale pie and two portions of salmon linguine. All were very tasty and generous portions. We missed starters to make room for dessert - the apple and blackberry pie was good but the rocky road was disappointing and a small portion.

The venue has been decorated but lacks finishing touches at the moment. There is a large car park and seats outside for sunny weather.
We will come again, thank you.

Thank dianecA7664EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This place has been re-opened.
Hubby & I thought we’d give it a whirl. We dropped in far a swift beer when we were passing on a Friday a few weeks ago, found the staff very polite & helpful, good selection of ale too.
Today, Sunday 27th May, we booked a table and sampled. Once again the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice on the menu too. Sonia, a member of staff was very helpful and lovely too.
Hubby had the Chicken supreme, & I had the pork roast. Both dishes were really tasty, & freshly made. Then Hubby decided to sample the apple crumble & custard, delicious! he said.
So we’ll definitely be returning with friends!
Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome today (especially Sonia).
Wendy & Derek from Lincoln xx xx

Thank wendy_harvey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Heard it was opening on 4th of May so we called in. We were amazed, it was busy, mostly from the village but it took the new owners by surprise I think, if that was a soft start it came with a hammer blow. Decided to order a meal and was well impressed, it was not perfect but not far off and for accurate night they did stunningly well in my book. I will be going back for sure....

1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you
For your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Well, the Hume Arms Torksey has finally reopened 4/5/18.
Called in for lunch on Sat 5.
Staff very good although a couple still training but doing nicely.
The new owners have cleaned up and redecorated and the menu at lunch is very good for choice and the quality was really good at an excellent price.
Well presented tasty good sized hot portions served with a smile .
The beers we had, Ruddles and San Miguel were cold and fresh.
We wish them well, we will certainly be returning.
Thank you Kim. Keep the business going.

Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Owner at The Hume Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Called in at The Hume for lunch. My first impression was the restaurant looked very nice. We ordered our drinks plus 2 glasses of tap water. I ordered the mini haddock and chips without the mushy peas off the two course menu. When our drinks arrived there was only 1 glass of water. When the waitress fetched my meal it had the mushy peas on. She agreed I had asked for it without took the meal back to the kitchen. It came back on a clean plate, same fish that had been wiped to get the peas off and very few chips .I know this was a mini fish meal but it was so small that it was only suitable for very young children. Took a long time for the waitress to take our dessert order. The apple crumble was quite nice but there was very little custard on it which spoiled it for me. During our time in the restaurant 2 kitchen staff came in and out of the kitchen, they were scruffily dressed and did not fill me with confidence.
£7.95 for a 2 course meal should have been good value for money but this was not. Will not be returning .

1  Thank 800sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews