We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good, quiet accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennyson Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tennyson Court
Ranked #34 of 53 Lincoln B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
northampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, quiet accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in 3c in March for £240 which we thought was very reasonable. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed although the shower was a little hit and miss but it was no big deal. It took about 10 - 15 minutes to walk to the centre but you either have this kind of distance and get peace and quiet or you pay more for central accommodation and it would be more expensive and probably noisier. There was also free secure parking. We would recommend this place and use it again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_TennysonCourt, Owner at Tennyson Court, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you, we get lots of reviews like this on the comments form we leave in the cottages, but very few people ever bother to do the same on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
29
30
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Having stayed in the retreat twice before at £147 per night its fair to say the standards are slipping fast, we got there and asked for a later checkout and this was no problem at all the owner said take your time, we thought this was very nice. Got to our cottage last year and we had complimentary champagne in the fridge waiting but this year none at all, the sugar bowl had not been re-filled and we even had to empty the dish washer ourselves from the last tenants. We noticed a group of young girls who were obviously friends or family with the owner as we saw them having dinner in his house as we were on our way out for the night, we came home around 11.30 expecting a quiet nights sleep before seeing family and friends the next day, the group of girls from the owners house came back to their cottage at near to 1.30ish and they kept us up all night partying and playing music till 8 am next morning......we got ready the next morning and didn't even take advantage of the later checkout. We left our contact details and a letter explaining what had happened and after leaving an email as well we still have not received an apology or anything from the owner...In my eyes I find this very cowardly and gutless of the owner not even to make an apology or offer some sort of refund when you have paid £147 for one night in a "Retreat" to be kept awake all night by the owners friends or family, you would think a business would want to keep their existing customers.....stay away there's no contact made if anything goes wrong....We would not normally make comments like this lightly but feel very disappointed with the lack of common decency from the owner...Shaun

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_TennysonCourt, Owner at Tennyson Court, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
THIS REVIEW IS NOT TRUE

There was no one in the next door cottage until 7am in the morning, I know because I was in Lincoln with them.

Very sorry the sugar had run out, but more was available, all they had to do was ring reception, which is open 24/7. I have also added it to the cleaners check list so it should not happen again. We try to ensure that the cleaners hand wash all the posts and clear out the dishwasher, but sometimes this is not possible if the dishwasher has been set to run by the previous guests and has not completed its cycle when the cleaner leaves.

The complimentary champagne was a special offer last year, it is now available as a optional extra, when this customer placed their reservation this was made very clear.

No refund has been offered as the guests could not have been kept awake by the next door cottage guests from 1.30am in the morning as they simply were not in the cottage, the next door cottage was empty until 7am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Me and a few friends stayed here one weekend in December before Christmas and we couldn't get over how good it was for the money! The location is a little further away from the main Lincoln town but if you dont mind paying 4 pounds for a taxi or a 10 minute walk into town then its all good! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Lincoln for a couple of nights,the facilities are great, lots of room. The beds were comfy and clean! The only downside is the welcome... there isn't one really... Getting the key for the rooms was a little wierd as you are directed by a piece of paper!! Also when ringing to ask questions beforehand the person on the other end was not very friendly but sufficiently answered our questions nonetheless.

In sum, we Will be visiting here again and think everyone should give this place a chance. It's great value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Friendly and helpful, arrived a little late which wasn't a problem. Lovely looking accomodation around a courtyard with parking.

We had 3c, the bedroom was very nice, wooden floors and furniture. Bathroom was a modern tiled wetroom, shower was ok not great. Downstairs there was a kitchen with cooker, kettle, tea, coffee, etc. There was also a sofa and tv with cable tv.

All in all very good, especially considering the price, would definately return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

First class location, a quality development that is obviously maintained well.

Great communication, clean and stylish room I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful cathedral city of Lincoln.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
1.2 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.4 km away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#7 of 53 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 km away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#47 of 53 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson Court

Property: Tennyson Court
Address: 3 Tennyson Street, Lincoln LN1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 10,295
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering / Bed and Breakfast in Lincoln, Lincolnshire. Set in a 19th-century cobbled courtyard, Tennyson Court was a Victorian racecourse stable. Old beams & wood floors define the classic charm of old England. The building has been elegantly converted, while retaining all the character of the 19th century. Self Catering Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire have 1 double bedroom; 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms; toilets(s), shower, lounge, kitchen (with dishwasher & washer dryer). Linen and Towels included. Free CableTV, Payphone and FREE Wireless Broadband Internet Access. B&B (Bed & Breakfast) Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire consist of a double bedroom plus 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms, shower, WC(s) and lounge. Cable TV & Telephone. Continental breakfast included. Secure courtyard parking inside automatic security gates ensure total privacy in an area of the city popular with residents and noted for its quiet Victorian charm and close proximity to the Cathedral, Castle and City centre. (10 min. walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tennyson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing