We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't take the risk, its just NOT worth it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennyson Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tennyson Court
Ranked #34 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
526 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Don't take the risk, its just NOT worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were concerned after reading all the other negative Trip Advisor comments about this place. We traveled from the USA to visit family in Lincoln. After I called "Andrew" with our concerns about the comments re: squeeky uncomfortable beds and dirty floors he assured us if we did not like it we could check out and he would refund us all our money. We did not like it - we spent one night and could not sleep on the poor mattress with the bed sqeeking each time we turned over; the stone floors and carpet up the stairs are grimy dirty, and the bathroom is tiny. To make matters worse I got locked inside the unit when the key would not work from the inside and I had to climb out of the window to get out. When Andrew arrived he had the same problem getting key to work from the inside of the unit and told me the previous guests must have made a new key. I am writing to the health and safety people in Lincoln about that. Very scary. Andrew then charged us 2 nights for our one night 18 hour stay as we checked out 85 minutes late waiting for the pouring rain to stop before we loaded our suitcases, AND increased our room rate for both nights too - we are fighting that with our Visa company. Our gut told us not to stay at Tennyson court, but Andrews reassurances caused us to change our mind, that was our mistake. Don't make the same one we did. We ended up moving and staying at the new Holiday Inn for £13 a night less and got free hot breakfast and parking every day included. Ignore any assurances you get from Andrew, its just not worth the risk.

Room Tip: parking is very tight too and the automated gate was a tight squeeze for our rental car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_TennysonCourt, Owner at Tennyson Court, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
This review is simply not true.

Some people just like to complain, we bent over backwards to ensure the cottage was spotless. they complained about everything and anything for example you can get a Ford transist van through the gates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    10
    10
    17
See reviews for
27
29
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The information on the website is very deceptive. We stayed for one night and barely slept, creaky beds, an extractor fan that wouldn't stop and an angry man who was outside at 2am, shouting and swearing about the poor condition of his rooms . We couldn't access wi-fi, TV channels were restricted (many adult channels available). It is very impersonal not having anyone available face to face.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy123448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Whilst it is true that this accommodation is not the most expensive, my husband and I were extremely disappointed with some very important aspects of the accommodation. There were several loose spindles on our staircase and with a 2 year old and a 3 year old these posed significant safety risks. Also, the apartment was filthy. We are not clean freaks, but I had to scrape dried on cereal off the kitchen chairs before our children could sit on them on the first morning. This was not very pleasant. Also, the newly refurbished shower room was pretty to look at but only allowed a cold shower, and I mean icy cold, not luke warm. We assumed there was some sort of fault with it and called the owner on our first morning for assistance and he said that was just the way it was and that if we fiddled with the pressure guage we might be able to get it a little warmer. We could not. There was no other means of washing, and it was just too cold to put the children in. We ended up having to take them elsewhere to bath them. The microwave did not work and the dishes in the kitchen were very dirty and I needed to wash everything before we used them. On the plus side the accommodation was warm and the tv worked, but over all we were extremely disappointed and ended up leaving a letter of complaint when we left, to which we have not yet had a response. Another major safety concern was that the main door did not unlock smoothly and it took us 5-10 mins each morning to wiggle the lock to open the door. This is presumably a serious fire hazzard and we were extremely uncomfortable about how difficult it was to get out and were relieved that we did not need to get out in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

My husband and I stayed in 3d on saturday evening . . .the accomodation was warm, cosy and spotless! We shall definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Myself and my husband should have gone to lincoln xmas market but with the shocking weather it was all cancelled.We couldn`t even get off my street never mind make it to lincoln as the roads was so bad,We had no option but to inform tennyson court that we couldn`t make our reservation.They didn`t offer us to go at a later date or any sort of refund i know it is there policy not to refund at such late notice but given the unfortunate weather conditions i thought they would have at least offered 50% back or a reservation for later date.I will go to lincoln xmas market next year and WILL NOT BOOK TENNYSON COURT.I think they took advantage of a bad situation.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrisndawnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_TennysonCourt, Owner at Tennyson Court, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
If you cancel a hotel reservation on the day, you have to pay the full amount. I really don't see what they have to complain about, Tennyson Court was open other guests arrived. It was thier choice not to take up their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.3 km away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#18 of 52 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#6 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.8 km away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
7.1 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#3 of 3 in North Hykeham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson Court

Property: Tennyson Court
Address: 3 Tennyson Street, Lincoln LN1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,796 - ₹ 9,341
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering / Bed and Breakfast in Lincoln, Lincolnshire. Set in a 19th-century cobbled courtyard, Tennyson Court was a Victorian racecourse stable. Old beams & wood floors define the classic charm of old England. The building has been elegantly converted, while retaining all the character of the 19th century. Self Catering Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire have 1 double bedroom; 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms; toilets(s), shower, lounge, kitchen (with dishwasher & washer dryer). Linen and Towels included. Free CableTV, Payphone and FREE Wireless Broadband Internet Access. B&B (Bed & Breakfast) Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire consist of a double bedroom plus 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms, shower, WC(s) and lounge. Cable TV & Telephone. Continental breakfast included. Secure courtyard parking inside automatic security gates ensure total privacy in an area of the city popular with residents and noted for its quiet Victorian charm and close proximity to the Cathedral, Castle and City centre. (10 min. walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Tennyson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing