We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out in Easter holidays ”

Doddington Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 518 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Awarded UK's Best On Farm Restaurant & cafe 2015 by FARMA. Converted farm buildings in the shadow of Doddingoton Hall house a beautiful Cafe and Restaurant. Cafe has order at counter service open daily from breakfast, lunch and tea. Waitress service restaurant open daily for lunch and on Friday and Saturday evenings. Both showcase home-grown produce including beef, game, vegetables and fruit from the Doddington Estate and walled Kitchen Garden. Reservations recommended in the restaurant. Access through Doddington Farm shop
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Walked around gardens-pretty spring flowers.will definitely return in the summer and walk the nature trail
Visited house-wonderful.everyone so friendly and knowledgeable
Great shops and plenty of choice-again great staff
Lunch in restaurant-main course and dessert-best meal I’ve had anywhere for a long time
High quality food-delicious-again friendly staff
Had a great day out and would heartily recommend

Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBirch, Owner at Doddington Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ellen,

We are thrilled that you had a great day out on the estate. There is always something new to see or do. Thank you for your kind words regarding your lunch in the restaurant. We will be sure to pass on the comments to our team of chefs. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon for another day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you enjoy pancakes, bacon and maple syrup, the best place to go is Doddington Cafe.
Being well-traveled people who have sampled breakfasts worldwide, we would like to compliment the chefs and staff at Doddington Cafe for most excellent pancakes, bacon and maple syrup - possibly the best in the world! Well-worth travelling for :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fahlea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBirch, Owner at Doddington Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the pancakes so much. They are definitely a firm favourite with our customers and we will be sure to pass on your kinds words to our team of chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the cafe for a light lunch. The quiche that we received was a disgrace. Advertised as mature cheddar and caramelised red onion. The quiche was light on the cheese and very heavy on the onion, as a result the product was too moist. The waitress who came to bus our table asked if everything was alright and I told her that it wasn’t, all she said was that she would mention it to the chef, . The restaurant is getting more popular and this drop in standards is very disappointing.

Thank tishwallinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBirch, Owner at Doddington Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Our quiche is one of our bestselling dishes and is made fresh daily here in our production kitchen. We are always happy to replace any dishes that aren’t satisfactory and had you let us know at the start or mid-way through your meal we would have done so for you. Having spoken the waitress that cleared your plates, we understand that you had eaten the majority of the quiche and so she thought you were just wanting to pass on your feedback. We apologise that you didn’t enjoy your visit on this occasion and if this was misunderstood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had booked a table on a Saturday - main cafe was busy but the restaurant area was quiet and well organised. Meal was a big step up from what we were expecting - and as good as anything we have had for a dinner out recently. Beef and red mullet v tasty and , with everything else around the Hall ..... a lovely lunch out with the family.

Thank fluffthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBirch, Owner at Doddington Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant meal at our restaurant. Our beef is our own grass-fed Lincoln Red beef from the Estate and is very popular whenever it is on the menu,

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and myself had lunch on Friday 23rd. March 2018 and was very happy with the food and drinks as we have been in the past but what we find very annoying are the paper knapkins which must be the cheapest and most useless I have ever experienced,why lower the tone of a very respectable establishment with such cheap goods is beyond our both comprehensions.

Thank sarawrcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBirch, Owner at Doddington Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your food. The napkins that we use are a premium one pull napkin system. This means that it enables customers to take one at a time and reduces any waste. We are by no means penny pinching on our napkins as you suggest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doddington Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Cherry Willingham, Lincoln
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Doddington Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing