We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ReneF”

Lincoln Guided Tours
Ranked #5 of 10 Tours in Lincoln
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Green Badge Guides will take you on a walking tour through Lincoln's historic Cathedral Quarter. An excellent introduction to our city.Scheduled Tours operate Easter and May weekends, daily in July/August and weekends June/September/October, starting at 11am and take 90 minutes. Meet at the Visitor Information Centre on Castle Hill. Tours are £4 for adults and free for accompanied children under 12. Group and Coach tours operate throughout the year.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ReneF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Visited the magnificent cathedral and learned a lot of history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank renef804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating, friendly, great introduction to Lincoln's history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Parents, nine year old daughter plus labradoodle joined a gentle, guided stroll with David. He is of 1932 vintage - clearly a fine year. We started outside the tourist information centre (between cathedral and castle) promptly at 11am. David went out of his way to include our child, so we all enjoyed the colourful history. We stuck to the core of Lincoln, so the amount of climbing was modest. There were grisly tales of public hangings, apparently the source of several phrases familiar to all of us today. We saw the exterior and interior of the cathedral. David showed us a mulberry bush in the cathedral close, and picked some berries - first time we had tasted them.

The breadth and depth of local history & architecture, and of the guides' knowledge, apparently allow a variety of walks and subjects. Our walk cost £4 per adult, children free. Money very well spent. Delighted, and the sun shone!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank trepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolni, Manager at Lincoln Guided Tours, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour it is much appreciated. We hope that Dave's tour enhanced your visit to our city and you will return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Tour guide was very interesting and informative and gave an insight into details that would otherwise be missed. Well worth the £4 paid.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrsTNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolni, Manager at Lincoln Guided Tours, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We hope you had a memorable visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best way to get close to the Historic City of Lincoln”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have used this guiding organisation in Lincoln a few times within the last 18 months. I organise parties of about 10/15 friends from a Battlefield Society and we have seen the sites of Lincoln including the Cathedral, the Castle, the Stonebow, The Lawn, The Collection Museum and many others. We have walked its medieval streets, viewed its Roman Heritage and marvelled at its industrial past.
These walk and talk tours are a little bit different in that they are led by experienced guides. We are always taken around by Brian, a native of the city all of his life, a former city police officer and somebody who is rammed full of titbits of detail, ancedotes, witty banter and who is keen to share his knowledge.
Your tour can be tailored to your needs and interests, we last came and enjoyed an afternoon looking at the medieval Jewish aspect of Lincolns heritage and we are planning to look at the city from the water on our next visit.
This is a local organisation with local guides who can access local contacts and networks to ensure your visit is a great success.
Each year , when I plan our calendar of events I am always asked to arrange another trip to Lincoln.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank archer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolni, Manager at Lincoln Guided Tours, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Always a pleasure to take your group around. I am looking forward to arranging your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing