We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike and Jan's Easter few days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Location is brilliant for getting into Lincoln by foot, right on the water front with lots of restaurants in close proximity. The room was very spacious, with all the usual ammenities, but we were on the ground floor so the views were limited. We rated the hotel experience as 4 blobs because: the heater (which looked new) in the room did not work and it took 3 requests (they were 'very busy') to get a portable electric heater, the confirmation we received of our booking stated we would be 'guaranteed views of the cathedral and castle' we were on the other side of the hotel! when we pointed this out to the receptionist she told us they were full, so we got what was left. It seems as though we were penalised for arriving early evening, instead of earlier in the day! So if you want those views check-in early.

Room Tip: Check-in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 690 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We got married last Saturday and wanted a romantic weekend away to celebrate. Having read previous reviews we found the car park easily (drive down what appears to be a pedestrianised area). The friendly receptionist informed us that we had been upgraded to an Executive King room - this put big smiles on our faces. The room was large and clean with a lovely view of the water and swans. Little touches such as bottled water, sippers & robes and a 4 finger kit-kat were delightful. The bathroom was on the small side but the shower was powerful. We both loved the extra large bed and found it really comfy (we always sleep well in Holiday Inn beds for some reason). No problems with noise from other guests and our cleaner / chamber maid was lovely. We ran into her a few times on our way in and out and she always took the time to say hello and offer advice on places to go / things to do. What a nice lady and an asset to the hotel! We went downstairs for breakfast on the first morning and had breakfast in bed on the second - not amazing but fine and plenty of it. The serving staff at breakfast were very friendly and on the ball. We did not eat an evening meal or lunch in the hotel as there are so many great restaurants on the doorstep. We also took advantage of the cinema (literally 30 seconds away) when a thunder storm hit. We were well aware of the £5 per night parking charge and feel this is fair. There was plenty of room too. Great location for shopping just a short walk away and if you don't fancy the steep hill up to the Cathedral just drive round or hop on the little bus that takes you up. We would recommend this hotel and hope to return again soon. Lastly, we were waiting in line to check out this morning when a rude, obnoxious idiot pushed in front of us. The receptionist handled him really well and made him wait his turn - nice one!

Room Tip: The executive king rooms have a lovely view of the water, swans and ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becglitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Recently returned from a 3 day Superbreak at the Lincoln Holiday Inn. We had a twin room on the front of the hotel with great views out across the water. Huge comfortable beds, decent bathroom -(water could have been set a bit hotter!), large flat screen TV and usual tea and coffee facilities. We ate breakfast in the hotel each day and this was good...wide choice of cooked, continental, breads, yougurts, fruits, cereals, and delicious mini danish pasteries/croissants etc. Did not need to use hotel restaurant otherwise as there are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance and several chains (Ask, Handmade Burger, Nandos etc ) almost next to the hotel. We walked up to the Cathedral Quarter twice..Yes, it is a steepish hill, but not a difficult walk...coming back down more tricky especially as it was raining! The walk is worth it! Lovely medieval street, with cathedral, castle and Roman remains at the top.
My one gripe with the Hotel, one mentioned elsewhere, was the charge for Wi-fi. When so many places now offer free Wi-Fi as standard, then the Holiday Inn charge does seem pretty steep. (Also it is not mentioned in the Wi-fi advertising in the room.)
Would I use Holiday Inn again...only if I got a good deal. Their advertised prices are very high for what they offer, compared, for example, with Premier Inns, though I recognise that people rarely pay the advertised price!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhrjh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in this hotel over the Easter holidays. Huge room with a view of the wharf, giant bed and powerful shower. It was really well situated for the city centre and right next door to the hotel is a Wetherspoons (Lloyds), a Harvester and a Nando's and various other restaurants.

The staff were brilliant and there is a car park for £5 a night right outside which we thought was excellent value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurathegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. Didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on that. Bed was very comfy with lovely pillows (am fed up of hotels with rock hard pillows). The room was adequate and clean, bathroom also good. The area is very nice, it is a bit of a distance to the cathedral quarter, but I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
1.0 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
752 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
537 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: ₹ 6,645 - ₹ 16,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing