We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Recently returned from a 3 day Superbreak at the Lincoln Holiday Inn. We had a twin room on the front of the hotel with great views out across the water. Huge comfortable beds, decent bathroom -(water could have been set a bit hotter!), large flat screen TV and usual tea and coffee facilities. We ate breakfast in the hotel each day and this was good...wide choice of cooked, continental, breads, yougurts, fruits, cereals, and delicious mini danish pasteries/croissants etc. Did not need to use hotel restaurant otherwise as there are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance and several chains (Ask, Handmade Burger, Nandos etc ) almost next to the hotel. We walked up to the Cathedral Quarter twice..Yes, it is a steepish hill, but not a difficult walk...coming back down more tricky especially as it was raining! The walk is worth it! Lovely medieval street, with cathedral, castle and Roman remains at the top.
My one gripe with the Hotel, one mentioned elsewhere, was the charge for Wi-fi. When so many places now offer free Wi-Fi as standard, then the Holiday Inn charge does seem pretty steep. (Also it is not mentioned in the Wi-fi advertising in the room.)
Would I use Holiday Inn again...only if I got a good deal. Their advertised prices are very high for what they offer, compared, for example, with Premier Inns, though I recognise that people rarely pay the advertised price!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhrjh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    361
    151
    48
    34
See reviews for
123
386
40
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in this hotel over the Easter holidays. Huge room with a view of the wharf, giant bed and powerful shower. It was really well situated for the city centre and right next door to the hotel is a Wetherspoons (Lloyds), a Harvester and a Nando's and various other restaurants.

The staff were brilliant and there is a car park for £5 a night right outside which we thought was excellent value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurathegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. Didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on that. Bed was very comfy with lovely pillows (am fed up of hotels with rock hard pillows). The room was adequate and clean, bathroom also good. The area is very nice, it is a bit of a distance to the cathedral quarter, but I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Not bad but not great. We spent three nights here and a mediocre experience it was. The location is good in that it's on the Wharf with restaurants nearby. It's also in easy walking distance of the High Street and main shops. However, it is a distance to the Cathedral and all uphill. The hotel is a little tired and unimpressive. There's nothing special about it and I've stayed in better Holiday Inn Express establishments (and got a free breakfast). The room was adequate but heating was basic (you had to plug it in and switch it on). There were no complimentary toiletries apart from a wall mounted dispenser. The bathroom had no heating and was very cold. It was quiet tho'. We had a back room looking into a car park. Wi-fi is expensive and impractical for the leisure visitor. The bar lacked atmosphere and people. Breakfast was good and staff generally were pleasant and helpful. It wasn't their fault that the hotel was disappointing. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to the historic town of Lincoln, as you mention the walk up Steep Hill is certainly not for the faint hearted!
I was a little disappointed to hear the bedrooms did not meet with your satisfaction, we have actually just completed a full refurbishment in all of the bedrooms, to comply with the Holiday Inn standard. That did actually include replacement of the multi function heating and air conditioning units, so I will certainly look into why it was a basic switch on and off unit.
It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and the team looked after you well.
Thank you once again for your comments, they are certainly useful to us to improve our services for future guests.
Kind regards, Scott Randall - Senior General Manager - North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A standard Holiday Inn with very lovely and helpful staff. Breakfast is average but as you would expect from Holiday Inn. The Quayside is a lovely new area with bars as restaurants - imagine it will be lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Lisa,
Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your recent visit, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall - Senior General Manager - North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,057 - ₹ 12,888
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing