We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean, quayside lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent, clean, quayside lovely”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A standard Holiday Inn with very lovely and helpful staff. Breakfast is average but as you would expect from Holiday Inn. The Quayside is a lovely new area with bars as restaurants - imagine it will be lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Lisa,
Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your recent visit, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall - Senior General Manager - North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    384
    158
    48
    34
See reviews for
125
417
40
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights midweek. Hotel is pretty standard for the price, however they must be closely associated with Ryanair in their business model. Despite having an inclusive B&B rate, it appeared that this was not a standard offering, which was questioned several times by reception. Had to pay £5.00 per night to park in their carpark, and WiFi was charged at the exorbitant rate of £4.95 per hour or £12.95 per day. Alternative was their pay per view films, which is probably why they keep their internet rates so high.

All in all, this is the type of hotel that you would expect to use in the 90's, with expensive extras (tel calls etc). These days the expectation is for free WiFi.

Finally the bathrooms are disappointing with very poor water pressure in the shower, and a worn, grazed all in one basin unit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Griffmil,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Not knowing the area of Lincoln that well, our stay at the Holiday Inn was influenced by all the positve comments on Trip Adviser. We were not to be disappointed. An Executive room had been booked and we were pleased with the facilities it offered, which indeed looked as though it had recently been refurbished.. A good size bed, adequate bathroom and sofa to chill out on, with complimentary wine, after a hectic day taking in the wonderful sights that Lincoln has to offer.
The hotel is in a great location being along side the vibrant waterfront, with an excellent choice of restaurants to pick from.
Staff at the Hotel are also worthy of comment, as they were courteous, efficient and always willing to help, if help was needed. It was the sort of service that is so sadly lacking in many other British hotels these days.
As can be expected, perfection is difficult to achieve and for us there were two irritants that prevent a 5 rating being given. The first is the car parking fee. Why on earth do they feel justified in charging £5 per day after guests have paid a lot to stay at the hotel in the first place? It is annoying not just to us, but from reading other comments, other guests also question this seemingly ludicrous policy.
The second point concerns Internet access. In the modern age this has become a basic facility and should be offered as part of the package. This was a consideration for us in booking the Executive Room as we had thought it was included as part of the deal. Unfortunately beware, as we were informed that on weekends you had to pay for wi-fi as this offer switches to a complimentary film. Business does not stop for weekends and e-mail access is very important, so I did ask if I could forego the film and retain the wi-fi, but apparently this level of flexibility is not permitted. The price for internet access in the Hotel is absolutely crazy.
Overall would recommend this Hotel, which could easily go from good to great, if only it would start to take heed of some of the minor issues being frequently raised by guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the Hotel have the benefit of overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripadviserTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location in the newly developed Brayford Waterfront area close to many bars, restaurants (mainly chains) and good pubs. It is also within easy walking distance of the main attractions (castle, cathedral, bishop's palace and the old town), if you don't mind a fairly steep climb, and the main shopping areas. Reaching the car park, for which the hotel charge you £5 per day, is a bit strange because it initially appears as though you're driving down a pedestrianised area closed to vehicles.

The room was typical for a Holiday Inn (including a large flat screen TV, large bed and good sized bathroom) BUT for some reason there were no drawers, no shelves (apart from the top of the hanging space) and no cupboards so we had to use our suitcase to store clothing which could not be put on a hanger. Very bizarre and very inconvenient, I can only assume it is designed for business travellers who only stop for one night. We stayed for 4 days and managed but considering the cost per night it seemed ridiculous not to have anywhere to put clothing in the room.

No toiletries were provide apart from two soap dispensers - one by the sink and the other by the bath, the latter was combined soap/shampoo. This is more typical of hotels in a lower price bracket (e.g. Premier Inn or Travelodge) and, while I applaud it on ecological grounds, it is inconvenient when one of the dispenser is not kept stocked up and runs out.

The buffet breakfast was served in a very pleasant light restaurant which overlooked Brayford Pool (which was full of swans and river boats). The quality varied considerably, on the first day it was terrible with poor quality bacon, bland sausages and overcooked eggs - not something you expect for £14. On the second day it improved considerably and by the third day it was very good. I think it must depend on who is running the restaurant service on any particular day.

Wi-fi is availble but must be paid for, I can't understand why when so many other hotels now provide it free of charge.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel because there were too many other good places to eat and drink within a very short walk.

We found the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: On a nice sunny day it's pleasant to sit outside the Royal William IV and look over Brayford Wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
LichfieldBazboy,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking the time to provide feedback. I am sorry to see the accommodations were less than satisfactory, but pleased the staff was a highlight of your stay. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

4 of us ordered eggs benedict for our breakfast. 15 minutes after ordering, the waiter informed us that they didn't have the right ingredients but the chef would bring them in. 20 minutes later we were all served 1 egg on an rock hard muffin. Complained to manager who said he would give us a free lunch, when we ordered we were then told we would only get 25% off.
To cap it all the coffee we were given in our conference room was so weak we couldn't serve it to our customers. We had to go out to Costa coffee to get some decent drinks.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank holeinonelamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
holeinonelamer,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
1.0 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
725 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
508 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Property: Holiday Inn Lincoln
Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,419 - ₹ 17,717
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing