We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor room design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location in the newly developed Brayford Waterfront area close to many bars, restaurants (mainly chains) and good pubs. It is also within easy walking distance of the main attractions (castle, cathedral, bishop's palace and the old town), if you don't mind a fairly steep climb, and the main shopping areas. Reaching the car park, for which the hotel charge you £5 per day, is a bit strange because it initially appears as though you're driving down a pedestrianised area closed to vehicles.

The room was typical for a Holiday Inn (including a large flat screen TV, large bed and good sized bathroom) BUT for some reason there were no drawers, no shelves (apart from the top of the hanging space) and no cupboards so we had to use our suitcase to store clothing which could not be put on a hanger. Very bizarre and very inconvenient, I can only assume it is designed for business travellers who only stop for one night. We stayed for 4 days and managed but considering the cost per night it seemed ridiculous not to have anywhere to put clothing in the room.

No toiletries were provide apart from two soap dispensers - one by the sink and the other by the bath, the latter was combined soap/shampoo. This is more typical of hotels in a lower price bracket (e.g. Premier Inn or Travelodge) and, while I applaud it on ecological grounds, it is inconvenient when one of the dispenser is not kept stocked up and runs out.

The buffet breakfast was served in a very pleasant light restaurant which overlooked Brayford Pool (which was full of swans and river boats). The quality varied considerably, on the first day it was terrible with poor quality bacon, bland sausages and overcooked eggs - not something you expect for £14. On the second day it improved considerably and by the third day it was very good. I think it must depend on who is running the restaurant service on any particular day.

Wi-fi is availble but must be paid for, I can't understand why when so many other hotels now provide it free of charge.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel because there were too many other good places to eat and drink within a very short walk.

We found the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: On a nice sunny day it's pleasant to sit outside the Royal William IV and look over Brayford Wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

LichfieldBazboy,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking the time to provide feedback. I am sorry to see the accommodations were less than satisfactory, but pleased the staff was a highlight of your stay. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 706 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

4 of us ordered eggs benedict for our breakfast. 15 minutes after ordering, the waiter informed us that they didn't have the right ingredients but the chef would bring them in. 20 minutes later we were all served 1 egg on an rock hard muffin. Complained to manager who said he would give us a free lunch, when we ordered we were then told we would only get 25% off.
To cap it all the coffee we were given in our conference room was so weak we couldn't serve it to our customers. We had to go out to Costa coffee to get some decent drinks.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank holeinonelamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

holeinonelamer,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have just returned from our one night stay at the hotel and have had a fantastic time. We booked a family room overlooking the water which was lovely. The room was very clean and nice big double beds. All the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, my 9year daughter would like to thank Steve in the bar for being very friendly and supplying her with J20's! The breakfast was buffet style and absolutely beautiful, something to suit all of us - cereals, full-english, fruit, cakes etc etc! And a lovely cuppa! I would like to thank all the staff at the Holiday Inn for their excellent service. We will definitately be returning to your hotel. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room as children do tend to wake early when away so a drink would have been nice early morning, but not a big deal at all as we could have ordered room service. Thank-you again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 245Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us.
I will certainly pass on your thanks to the whole team, particularly Steve.
Just as a final note I would point out that there are tea and coffee making facilities available in the bedrooms, however since the refurbishment they have been moved from the worktops into the cupboards.
I look forward to catching up with you on your return when I promise I will treat you to a coffee in our new Starbucks we are getting.
Many thanks again
Scott Randall
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed here before - and know the location overlooking Brayford Wharfe is incredible. Unfortunately there are some worrying signs of penny pinching. We paid £95 for a king room with breakfast - that includes a £5 charge for car parking. No free wi fi in the rooms - you can buy it. No free pens any more. The free paper is a 20p I. Only 4 pots of milk - that is enough for one drink for 2 people.


In the past we have enjoyed the buffett breakfast - but this morning it was not a buffett instead the waitress delivered what we wanted - fresher perhaps but somehow we felt let down. View from the first floordining room is amaz

Heating in the room was cold - and the instructions were as useful as a chocolate teapot but receptionist did attendroom and sort it out.

Wash basin in bathroom very crazed and in need of replacement. Bed comfortable though.


Next time we visit Lincoln may try a different hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Glenberry,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit. I was disappointed your stay was not up to your previous experience, for this please accept my apologies. Regarding the car parking we have always charged the nominal fee for the secure parking, for our residents this has not changed for some years now and is subsidised in comparrison to the usual charges. Whilst you also mention the charges for wi-fi this does include a very secure network with a very good bandwith, unlike some of the other free offers that may be available.
I must apologise for there not being a pen in your room, I will investigate this as a brand standard they are and will always be available, as are additional tea making facilities. The newspaper you mention is actually the new Independant 'i' that has been detailed as a travellers choice by our brand, hence the new stock.
Finally regarding your breakfast we have been trialling the new plated order breakfast for the very reasons you mention to improve the freshness and relevance of all orders to the guests, so I will take your feedback to the team.
As mentioned I will take all of this feedback to the team in the hotel who I am sure will be as disappointed as I am that your stay was not up to your previous standards. I do hope we will though have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lincoln in the future and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel to prove your previous issues were indeed isolated or have been developed for the better.
Thank you once again for your comments
Scott Randall
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

All rounder with the best location in the city. 5 mins walk to the city, 15 to the train station.a credit to the Holiday Inn brand with a nice refurb close to completion, good food, friendly staff

1  Thank Chris7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Chris,
Thank you very much for your review, it is great to know the refurbishment has been noticed and appreciated by our guests and that we have delivered all that is expected.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
5.6 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,850 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: ₹ 6,559 - ₹ 16,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel, set in the centre of this contemporary city, contrasted by architectural treasures that reflect its rich history. When you're looking for a hotel in Lincoln for business travel or a weekend break, the Holiday Inn Lincoln is ideally located in the city centre on the Brayford Marina, near shopping, entertainment and major routes. At the Holiday Inn Lincoln, you'll be met with outstanding service, amenities and a spacious air-conditioned guest room with an en-suite bath and shower, ergonomic workspace, high-speed Internet for a fee, and a view of either the waterfront or Lincoln Cathedral and Lincoln Castle. We offer Full English Breakfast and dinner, the Sports Bar shows all sporting events on our large array of screens with a menu to compliment your dining experience and views of the Brayford Waterfront - 'Kids Stay and Eat Free'. Throughout the day, you can enjoy delicious fare. A sought after conference and meetings facility, the Holiday Inn Lincoln hotel offers 3 well-designed meeting rooms filled with natural light, accommodating up to 35 delegates, with a large, secure car park behind the hotel. Events: Christmas Market, Waddington Air Show, LLAMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing