We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here overnight on Business, so when I heard that it was a 2* Hotel I was expecting the worst. However, this is really a very nice little Hotel and , it is located in a quiet road and you can see the Castle walls and the Cathedral. We parked in the Car Park opposite, for £ 2.20 from 6pm to 8am, which was pretty reasonable. The rooms are very good, plenty of space and en suite facilities, with that said the bathroom was a little grubby and could do with a paint, but that is very much a minor point. The Bar on a Wednesday night was quiet, but was very pleasant and comfortable, and with the Football on it was a nice way to spend the evening. We ate in the Bar and the food was excellent, I would go as far as to say it is one of the best Bar meals I have had. The breakfast serving was a little slow, but I was in no rush so that was not a problem, the food once again was very good. The staff behind the bar, serving the food in the bar and at breakfast, and at reception were all very friendly and polite. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Lincoln

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    124
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
148
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked this 2 star hotel through late rooms.com at a £20 saving. It was exactly around the area of Lincoln where we wanted to be, near the top and 5 min walk to the Cathedral and 2 min walk the the Cloud Bar which we like :-)
Car parking was across the road in public car park however the receptionist who was very friendly informed us about times etc and that any parking costs would be 50% refunded by the hotel. The night porter even had keys to go and put new Sunday am ticket on car for us so we could have our lay in !! Overal a great place, dosnt feel like a 2 star quality of place, staff and breakfast we've had worse 3 stars. Highly reccomend if you fancy a night in Lincoln :-))

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Haven't stayed here but visited the bar. Unbelievably busy and so very loud. Everyone shouting to be heard even standing next to each other. Why the music is on so loud I don't know as its just a deafening experience being there. That said its a great meeting place and extremely popular. Nice clean and trendy atmosphere.
The one thing that lets the place down is the seriousness of the bar staff, not a smile betrween them! The door men were polite and obviously got lots of text mates as when they came indoors were both engrossed in their mobiles.
Always worth a visit and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a training course with work, the hotel is situated in a quiet street only 10 minute walk into the town. Great view of the cathedral. The hotel was very pleasant, quite busy considering the location. Rooms are spacious all with en-suite facilities. Nice decor and comfy bed. There is a kettle and tea, coffee etc and also freeview Tv. Overall nice hotel and would recommend for a get away weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chy-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel. Very close to the cathederal and old part of the city. I visited in December, when the city was gearing up for its Christmas market and when I went into the hotel bar for dinner, the place was buzzing - clearly a lot of locals call in on their way home. Some people may find it too noisy but I quite liked the hustle and bustle, especially as I was on my own. The food was very good and my room was lovely. I would go there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayesutton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,754 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
881 reviews
8.5 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: 38 Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,843 - ₹ 8,861
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Lincoln’s Cathedral Quarter, The Tower Hotel is a 3 AA star Hotel and is ideally located for exploring the historical city; either on foot or as a base for visiting the surrounding villages, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing